1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Pioneer AppRadio with full Android mirroring and controls

leshkin Dec 5, 2014

  1. leshkin

    leshkin Hold my beer... VCDS Map User

    3,032
    1,887
    113
    Shame about your experience with DS Techs. I dealt with Mem, who helped me out a bit. Result on the 8500! Hope it works out for you after all this agro :)

    After my experiences with Autoleads, I would not touch their wiring harnesses with a bargepole TBH. Connects2 are much better quality and seem to work better with Audi's weird audio systems.

    Anyway, your's is a half-amped system. The non Bose systems might be Blaupunkt (open to be corrected here), which is what I had on my previous 2004 A4 S-Line (non-Bose). The Connects2 harness with the Active Plus box worked out really well on my current 8P S3. It allows you to adjust the signal per speaker/channel and really reduce the hissing and removes any popping sounds you sometimes get with Audi amped speakers and aftermarket HUs.

    These keys should work for you - http://www.dynamicsounds.co.uk/auto...a3-a4-a6-a8-tt-radio-removal-keys-2-sets.html

    As far as radio is concerned, if my memory serves me right, you might have a two aerial connections, one is a fakra and one is ISO. They look like this:

    Fakra:
    fakra.jpg

    ISO:
    ISO_male.jpg

    So what you will probably need to do is have a dual fakra adapter with an extra converter cable to convert the car's male ISO/DIN connector to a fakra and plug both, fakra and converted ISO, into the dual fakra adapter, then the single ISO into the HU. (not sure if that makes sense, but the end result should look like this).

    The second aerial adapter should look like this:
    ISO_DIN_female_TO_Fakra_female.jpg
    I've Googled ("Female Fakra To Female ISO") and found one on eBay.

    Like you I had no end of problems with the aerial setup on the A4 and the 8L S3 before that. It seems that the strange combination of ISO and a fakra plugs on these cars is not addressed by any one adapter that I saw, which is a shame :(
     
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. Paul_TDi

    Paul_TDi Registered User

    369
    38
    28
    The 8500 is the silver lining to make this whole mess better.

    I've only had basic systems in the past so the auto leads served fine before.

    There the keys that ds sold me and I bought but they sent me these very cheap looking keys without the auto leads stamp on them. I got them to work and was able to remove them, just not as easily as it should of been, which was just another nail in the coffin.

    Ah ha! See I was talking to car audio direct in detail about the antenna and the conclusion was they said the fakra antenna is made redundant basically, so I was going to keep the iso adaptor ds sold me. On those videos you link to they specify that they make there own adaptors as no one else does, shame there in US.
     
  4. Wickedweasal

    Wickedweasal Registered User

    19
    2
    3
    Can anyone advise if you can still ground the parking brake cable? In the manual it is showing the positive of the handbrake. Or can I run the cable to another location?. Don't really fancy pulling the handbrake surround apart.
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2014
  5. leshkin

    leshkin Hold my beer... VCDS Map User

    3,032
    1,887
    113
    Yes, my green parking wire is clamped directly to the ground wire coming from the stereo harness.

    US models require a relay or a manual switch hack due to extra legislation there, but this is not the case for international versions.
     
  6. Wickedweasal

    Wickedweasal Registered User

    19
    2
    3
    Thanks leshkin, I just grounded it to the stereo chassis for now. On a side note after refitting the glovebox I have an airbag light showing where the handbrake warning light and speedo is. If I turn the ignition on it comes on then disappears and comes back on again. I can turn the passenger airbag on and off via the glovebox and the airbag off warning light seems to work. I just don't remember seeing the light on the dash before, is it normal ?
     
  7. leshkin

    leshkin Hold my beer... VCDS Map User

    3,032
    1,887
    113
    No problem, happy to help

    You probably have a bad connection to the airbag switch after removing the glove box. Try taking it out again and make sure that the plug to the airbag switch us sitting correctly and that the wiring is not damaged.
     
  8. Wickedweasal

    Wickedweasal Registered User

    19
    2
    3
    Is that the yellow switch on the right side of the glovebox?. I have removed the glovebox checked all the switches and cables all seems fine to me but cannot get rid of the airbag light.
     
  9. leshkin

    leshkin Hold my beer... VCDS Map User

    3,032
    1,887
    113
    There should be a plug connecting the airbag switch. If that is not connected properly, it will light the airbag light. If you have VCDS, you could scan it and see what is triggering the light if switch wiring seems fine.
     
  10. Wickedweasal

    Wickedweasal Registered User

    19
    2
    3
    Checked that and all seems fine, cleaned the contacts but has not changed. I will see if I can get a garage to scan it for me and hopefully fix the problem.

    Thanks for the suggestions
     
  11. Paul_TDi

    Paul_TDi Registered User

    369
    38
    28
    So when you order a twin fakra diversity antenna adaptor. Turns up in time for you to realize a dual socket is useless when you want to plug in 2 single fakra plugs.

    ARGH!
     
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. leshkin

    leshkin Hold my beer... VCDS Map User

    3,032
    1,887
    113
    Ah man, nightmare. I did link the correct one in the previous post, but I guess you didn't see it :(
     
  14. Paul_TDi

    Paul_TDi Registered User

    369
    38
    28
    I did see, although I didn't spot the importance on the differences of plugs.

    I decided to go one with a "better looking" adaptor box as I read some information on cheaper ones not having the "diversity" technology that the OEM head unit does to enable best use of the 2 antennas. So there I was being clever and messed up!

    Never mind it was wishful thinking I would have everything in my hands and fitted before xmas.

    EDIT- Just noticed the one I plan to buy on ebay is a Connects2 one with a square box advertised with diversity ability, yet the Dynamic Sounds one you link to is the same Connects2 code but different item. They annoyed me last time sending a different make removal keys to what I ordered. So I'll be buying exactly what you linked but the seller on eBay I have used does send Connects2 equipment. Just suspicious of DS now. Only ordered my new leads through them because they were cheaper.
     
  15. leshkin

    leshkin Hold my beer... VCDS Map User

    3,032
    1,887
    113
    Yeah, this whole business with adapters never filled me with confidence. I must've been extremely lucky with the latest set I bought for the S3 - everything just worked. The old 8L S3 was a nightmare - it was a 2003, so everyone tried to sell me 8P adapters.

    Hopefully you get your adapter sorted soon.
     
  16. Untamed

    Untamed Registered User

    67
    11
    8
    Heya I love the write up. It's convinced me to upgrade my head unit. Was wondering on the wiring I would need if I got the pioneer AVH-X8600BT same as you plus the sat nav to go with it. I drive an audi a3 2005 s-line also the phone I will be using is a samsung s5. I have a ordinary steering wheel with no function controls
     
  17. leshkin

    leshkin Hold my beer... VCDS Map User

    3,032
    1,887
    113
    Yay, we have another convert :)

    You will absolutely need Samsung's original MHL adapter to ensure that this works. Their FAQ explains what is needed between the phone and HU: http://www.samsung.com/uk/support/skp/faq/1043483

    Note on power - I find that available current from the HU USB ports (1 amp) is not enough when you have satnav and music streaming going. My LG discharges about 15% per hour, which sucks on a long journey. I'm going to wire up an internal (behind the dash) switched 12v plug and use a good car charger to have a good charge rate that is equivalent to a wall socket.

    Car harness wise you should be good with an ISO version of my harness - you just won't use the remote feature. I'll try to dig up a kit that should be suitable for you.

    Edit: As per @Ash187 in another thread - http://www.dynamicsounds.co.uk/audi...stereo-fascia-steering-stalk-fitting-kit.html

    Also, you should be very comfortable with rooting your phone as that is a must-have for this.
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2014
  18. Untamed

    Untamed Registered User

    67
    11
    8
    thanks a lot. I will get on and order the things I need
     
  19. Untamed

    Untamed Registered User

    67
    11
    8
    All set up now and installed the sat nav and a reversing camera. Just getting the phone connection and apps sorted now. Thanks again for the post
     
    leshkin likes this.
  20. FaisalFazeli

    FaisalFazeli @S333FSL VCDS Map User

    163
    49
    28
    Ive got this head unit too, but i do not like using the Apple Maps itself, i rather use google maps as it finds locations easier then Apple maps, Is there a way to Mirror an iPhone to this headunit? As Google maps is not compatible as one of the applications on the carplay, I do not want to sell my iphone and get an Android to be able to do this so was wondering if there is a way of mirror link an iPhone to this headunit..

    Also is there a guide to fitting reverse camera? And what one would you guys suggest? as there are wireless and wired reverse cameras and would want one to fit the number plate light area instead of the boot handle.. links would be appreciated.

    thanks in advance
     
  21. leshkin

    leshkin Hold my beer... VCDS Map User

    3,032
    1,887
    113
    I think that you can mirror the iPhone screen, but not the touch inputs.

    There are plenty of guides on how to fit the camera, but specifics would depend on your car model. Just search on the forum and you will find plenty of information on this.
     
    FaisalFazeli likes this.

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information