1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

PFL to FL Dynamic Taillights conversion guide

larbel Jun 27, 2017

  1. 2literweedeater

    2literweedeater Registered User

    4
    0
    1
    I just performed the swap. I bought facelift twilights to find out pin 6 is missing so they are not dynamic. Regardless I installed them but I am getting messages that I have a left turn signal out and a right brake light out. All is installed correctly. Is there some type of coding I need to do with vag com??
     
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. Colibri84

    Colibri84 Registered User

    5
    0
    1
    Hi Danny, I have the same problem with running engine. Tried everything until I found this post. How did you solve it? By coding or put a 12v stabilizer between it? All help is appreciated. Thank you
     
  4. Mariussthlm

    Mariussthlm Registered User

    11
    0
    1
    Hi . Did you manage to fix this some how?
    I am about to swap 2017 FL halogen to FL Led and am worried about this also. Will try to do swap them in a week or two. Waiting for connectors. Thanks in advance!
     
  5. Colibri84

    Colibri84 Registered User

    5
    0
    1

    Hi, yes I was able to got it working. No coding or stabilizer was needed for me but I came from PFL LED and not hologen.
    Connect on the inside connectors the blinker wires all together so they need to be synchronized as well like taillight. I'm happy with this upgrade.
     
  6. Mariussthlm

    Mariussthlm Registered User

    11
    0
    1
    Does anyone made from Fl halogen to Fl LED ? Anything different from this thread? Coding or any adopters needed ?
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2020
  7. LT5PLA

    LT5PLA Registered User

    12
    0
    1
    so had the tailight indicator sweeping initially but they have gone out of sync and are now just blinking as my pfl led tailights did on my s3 8v sedan.

    from what I'm reading I need to connect one of the inner wires to the outer wires.. is it pin 6 and pin 3 that need to be joined?
     
  8. Damien 336

    Damien 336 Registered User

    28
    0
    1
    Yeah it's different
     
  9. michelhaudia38v

    michelhaudia38v Registered User

    60
    14
    8
    Yes,

    i don't remember the exact PIN numbers but initially I did the swap from pfl led to fl dynamic led and they functioned well as long as the car was was not running. If the car was running it went out of sync You have to connect the indicator signal of the inner lights to the 6th(?) pin of the outer ones .
    then they sweep like supposed to. Its also mentioned in this thread. I did no coding at all
     
  10. donboge

    donboge Registered User

    2
    0
    1
    Hello, I want to buy these dynamic lights , what kind of adapter I need LED pre-facelift , or I need simple just adapter that it will convert my old LED to dynamic. ....confused I checked on BKS r70 dollars , and adapter ?o_O it cost 50 dollars to make. These people are not clearly thinking for sure. Whats inside I9 8 core ?Thank you in advance.
    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/NEU-LED-...115725?hash=item46994486cd:g:DjwAAOSwP39c3rif
     
  11. m rol

    m rol Registered User

    211
    26
    28
    https://nl.aliexpress.com/item/33003769468.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.47954c4dhXgU97
    These you will need.

    1 Cable goes to fusebox 12v always on.
    That cable is rooted to all taillights. (if you have towbar or the towbar cable preparation behind the left storage area you can use these cables, make sure its properly fused.)

    The middle turn signal wires coming from car are not used. There is a wire from the side cluster turn signal rooted to the middle. (the prefacelift have 4 wires coming from bcm to each turnsignal lamp. Facelift only uses 2. cousing lamp out error.)

    There are a couple adaptations to be made but you have to ask Djalix for them.
     
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. donboge

    donboge Registered User

    2
    0
    1
    Thank for fast respond. Only these 35 dollar and that's it ? So how come BKS 470 dollar? Or they added some empty box to it too look expensive?
     
  14. m rol

    m rol Registered User

    211
    26
    28
    And you need Djalix to do the coding....
    No need for expencive box...
    12v you need to get dynamic part working.
    Djalix you need because without proper coding the Dynamic taillights wil run out off sync with engine running.

    Right side:
    Green goes to facelift outside taillights, black to origional harnas.
    Small black goes to inner lights.

    [​IMG]
    Left side
    The purple wire is the 12v always on to fusebox.
    [​IMG]
    The wires inside the hatch(the taped black): plug n play. (inside turnsignal wire seems incorrect if you compare car harnass to connector, but it gets signal from outside turnsignals, So dont change this!)
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2020
  15. Adam Evans

    Adam Evans Registered User

    52
    6
    8
  16. m rol

    m rol Registered User

    211
    26
    28
  17. Adam Evans

    Adam Evans Registered User

    52
    6
    8
    I dont think so no, they are not the dynamic lights.
     
  18. m rol

    m rol Registered User

    211
    26
    28
    Just buy the led connectors and tweak with vcds.
    Repin the connector (pinout on page1)
    For vcds: print your admap and get one from 13-16.
    Should be easy..
     
  19. imparator1992

    imparator1992 Registered User

    4
    0
    1
    Hi sorry for my bad english hahaha. I have an question. I have use the wiring of aliexpress yo install FL with dynamic led into an PF led. In the beginning it was working well, but now after an half year i get some syncing problems after the engine is running. I have already tryed to use a voltage stabilizator, but this is not working. Can anyone help me? With vcds coding or something else
     
  20. imparator1992

    imparator1992 Registered User

    4
    0
    1
    For everyone who has the syncing problem i have found the problem and you can use vcds or obdeleven to make the dynamic light well. Go to central elevtronics and then to adaptions. Here you can find leuchte16blk hla60 and leuchte19hrc31. Change the lasstype to 43 algemein led. After this the syncing was well for me.
     
  21. pop80_uk

    pop80_uk Registered User

    115
    24
    18
    Ok, im getting some fantastic help and guidance on this thanks to m rol and others, and I think I have everything I need to do the install now (I will take pictures and write up and guide when I am confident I have everything in place and its correct)

    I have a 2015 S3 Sportback with LED clusters and want to move to the dynamic rear clusters

    I have purchased
    > 4 x Genuine Audi Sportback Dynamic rear cluster s

    > This adapter loom: (attached some pictures of it)
    https://go.skimresources.com/?id=19...cddc0e85ba25bb&xjsf=other_click__auxclick [2]

    > And from what I can tell from above post the coding is: (and this is the only coding needed?)

    Central electronics and then to adaptions. >>> leuchte16blk hla60 and leuchte19hrc31. Change the lasstype to 43 algemein led

    So I think I have everything in place to fit. I am assuming all the clusters need a permanent 12v feed and there are some pin alterations / additions. This is what I just have to get firm in my mind as to where they should go?

    It would also be useful to get other installers takes on where they drew their permanent 12v feed from

    Thanks in advance and stay safe
     

    Attached Files:

  22. imparator1992

    imparator1992 Registered User

    4
    0
    1
    Hii, yes i think you have everything what is needed. For the 12v I have used some place in the fuse box ( I have checked the manuel and it is normally for cabrio, but i haven't cabrio). In the picture you can see the 12v which i have used. It is on left up. The purple cable comes from the dynamic taillight.

    Stay safe and good luck with installing.








     

    Attached Files:

  23. pop80_uk

    pop80_uk Registered User

    115
    24
    18
    Thanks :)

    Did you use a fuse tap?

    Was this the only bit of coding you did? and yours are working fine?

    Central electronics and then to adaptions. >>> leuchte16blk hla60 and leuchte19hrc31. Change the lasstype to 43 algemein led

    What A3 / S3 were you installing onto? and were you going from LED > Dynamic OR Halogen > Dynamic?

    Thanks
     
  24. imparator1992

    imparator1992 Registered User

    4
    0
    1
    I havent use a fuse tap but something like a "climb" I have uploaded a picture of it. It fits perfectly to the place in the fuse box which I have used. It is also possible to use an fuse tap, but then you should find a fuse with continue 12v.

    Mine are working fine now, no problems. For my this was only the coding.

    I have installed this in an audi a3 8v 2014 sportback: from LED to dynamic LED.

    Your welcome


     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 8, 2020
  25. bent98

    bent98 Registered User

    2
    0
    1
    Can someone please comment on installing these on a Prefacelift car? The comment was made that the FL light trim is different than the stock ones (see below). These are $30 each so $120 for all 4 is pricey. Has anyone had luck installing leaving their stock trim?


    **** Also the FL taillights' plastic trims are different, you can still use the PFL ones but it's not a perfect fit, I ordered FL ones for my Sedan since they're only like $30 total or so, here're the part numbers for Sedan:
    8V5 945 253 B
    8V5 945 254 B
    8V5 945 255 B
    8V5 945 256 B
     
  26. larbel

    larbel Registered User

    975
    720
    93
    .... I said $30 TOTAL...
     
  27. bent98

    bent98 Registered User

    2
    0
    1
    Yes you did, but I cant find any places in the US that charges that. Each part number is $30 each for me.

    Where can I get all 4 for $30 shipped to the US?
     
  28. Mark de Vries

    Mark de Vries Registered User

    1
    0
    1
    My englisch isn't so good but I'm trying. did you also have a connection wire between the inner and outer light (from pin6 to pin 3)? My aliexpress cable isn't supplied with that connection wire, but when I was installing I placed that extra wire. I haven't connect it yet, but the question is, is it necessary or can the sync trick also bin done by coding the above?

    I hope you understand what I mean.

    gr. Mark
     
  29. m rol

    m rol Registered User

    211
    26
    28
    You have 12v permanent coming from fusebox to outher taillight, from there to inner taillights and continue to outher .

    For turn signal: only the outher turnsignal wires are used. These feed the inner too. And synchronise inner and outher. The inner taillight will throw a light out error so you need to adress this.
    The car running and taillights out of sync are due to pwm problem.
     
  30. Broglen

    Broglen Registered User

    7
    0
    1
    Hello!
    I'm getting a little bit confused, if i order the kit from Aliexpress, do i need to order anything else. The kits from Aliexpress are basically the same thing that you guys were talking about in the first page?

    Do i need anything else besides this aliexpress kit?

    Thanks!
     
  31. Clod

    Clod 2017 Audi NA A3 S-line

    32
    2
    8
    I have a set of taillights and modules for sale if you have a sedan. But yes, if you have a facelift and want to be fully plug and play you will need additional modules and coding instructions. The modules make the power instead if running a wire from the battery.
     
  32. Broglen

    Broglen Registered User

    7
    0
    1

    Thanks i have a sportback and i have the tail lights, just want to try to do it the cheaper way than paying 300£
     
  33. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  34. Broglen

    Broglen Registered User

    7
    0
    1
    Is coding really needed tho? I heard you can do it in Obd11 easily
     
  35. Broglen

    Broglen Registered User

    7
    0
    1
    Is coding really needed tho? I heard you can do it in Obd11 easily
     
  36. michelhaudia38v

    michelhaudia38v Registered User

    60
    14
    8
    M rol’s advice is correct and the best option for you. I made my wiring diagram myself but you must have some knowledge of electrics


    Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk
     
    Broglen likes this.
  37. michelhaudia38v

    michelhaudia38v Registered User

    60
    14
    8
    Deleted double post
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2020
  38. Broglen

    Broglen Registered User

    7
    0
    1
     

    Attached Files:

  39. Sean partridge

    Sean partridge New Member

    25
    4
    3
    Perfect just what I was looking for. Does anyone know the part number.bers for a sportback.
     
  40. conor coad

    conor coad New Member

    7
    0
    1
    I’m having the same issue what will I need to do to sort this dynamic?
     
  41. gsrsilver

    gsrsilver Registered User

    73
    51
    18
  42. Broglen

    Broglen Registered User

    7
    0
    1
    Could anything possibly go wrong with the installation / cabling to fuse box?
     

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information