People with ipod or MP3 aux-in lead to headunit - where do you run the cable?

Meza

Registered User
Joined
Jul 22, 2007
Messages
99
Reaction score
0
I've just got an aux in lead to run my mp3 player into my Symphony head unit on the CD changer connection.

Where do people run this wire to in the cabin? I'd like to get it out either in the ashtray or the little coin tray underneath - can this be done, will I need to cut or drill any dash to make it through?

Wondered where other people had run their wires to. I need to be able to reach the mp3 player, so can't go into the glovebox.

ta,
Meza
 

abdus

Top Gear
VCDS Map User
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Messages
1,826
Reaction score
1
I have my Dension Ipod link in the glovebox. Remove headunit to install wires and look for any little hole/space through you might find and pass the wire through there. Very discreet and out of view in the glovebox.

I wanted it the same as you want it- within reach but looked a bit messy for my liking.

Nothing cut or drilled :)
 

joe6886

Registered User
Joined
Sep 28, 2006
Messages
241
Reaction score
3
I have mine in the little compartment that is under the heater panel, cut a bit out the back and threaded it through. Nice and discreet and easy to get to.
 

bouncer--daz

A dog is for life....not just for friday nights!
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
537
Reaction score
0

Hotscar

Four Wheel Drifting
Joined
Sep 13, 2005
Messages
562
Reaction score
1
abdus said:
I have my Dension Ipod link in the glovebox. Remove headunit to install wires and look for any little hole/space through you might find and pass the wire through there. Very discreet and out of view in the glovebox.

I wanted it the same as you want it- within reach but looked a bit messy for my liking.

Nothing cut or drilled :)
I quite like the sound of that, have you got any pictures?
 

Hotscar

Four Wheel Drifting
Joined
Sep 13, 2005
Messages
562
Reaction score
1

abdus

Top Gear
VCDS Map User
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Messages
1,826
Reaction score
1
Hotscar said:
I quite like the sound of that, have you got any pictures?

it's hidden, you won't see anything in the pics...:p

no, actually I can get you some pics of where I passed the cable though. :)
 

bouncer--daz

A dog is for life....not just for friday nights!
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
537
Reaction score
0
So do you guys just plug ur ipod in and leave it loose in the track or have in a holder... like a phone holder for example?
 

S3 Dave

Now running on Heavy Oil
Joined
Jul 1, 2007
Messages
432
Reaction score
3
I've just got an FM transmitter for the pod, saves all the hassle and can put it anywhere then even outside in the summer!!
 

bouncer--daz

A dog is for life....not just for friday nights!
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
537
Reaction score
0
I have one of those aswell... but the sound quality was poor in comparison too using a cable:sadlike: . thats why ive switched over. Ive just bought a new facia and head unit so the whole lot is coming out and I will have a play around with ideas for where to run the cable.:think:
 
Top