1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Non Bose - Bose Upgrade

Thomas R Jan 18, 2017

  1. Thomas R

    Thomas R Registered User

    45
    3
    8
    All,

    I'm wanting to upgrade my non-Bose sound system for a OEM Bose system. Is this a straight speaker, amp and sub swap with adaptations with VCDS?

    I read an article yesterday that said moving from non-Bose to an upgraded system would require a second amplifier?

    Whilst on the topic, does anyone know how many speakers are in the Avant and what combinations make up the total?

    Thanks
     
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. martin1984

    martin1984 Registered User

    2,156
    2,481
    113
    All i now is the normal is half amp and bose full as in two so guess you would need the second 1

    Sent from my SM-A300FU using Tapatalk
     
  4. OliNix

    OliNix Registered User

    382
    124
    43
    There are two different nose systems and it requires a wiring harness as well. I am not sure which car come with it and which don't, it depends on the country and region.

    The Bose system takes in low level (preout) signal from the head unit (RNSE/Symphony) which is sent to the boot, which is where the Bose amp and sub is and then from there it sends the signal out to all of the door speakers at a high level (speaker output)

    So I don't think it is as plug and play as you imagine. The Bose system isn't really that great either.

    For the hassle and cost of retrofitting Bose I would fit an aftermarket processor/amp like the Audison 8.9bit with some good components and it will sound 10x better than Bose. The Bose system has limited bass, poor highs and mediocre mids. I have a Bose system (it came with the car) and I have added a second sub to get better punchier lows, but the highs are still non existent.

    If I was doing a standard install to something else (Bose/aftermarket) I would do what I have said. Unless the full Bose system cost me no more than about £150! But this is just my two cents.

    Hope I have been helpful, just ask if you want to know anything else ;)
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2017
    Baka likes this.
  5. mr.raw

    mr.raw Registered User

    272
    15
    18
    Personally i would go aftermarket as it would destroy the BOSE factory set up and as others have said it does not have to cost much.
     
  6. I'm Just Rob.

    I'm Just Rob. Moderating or something, Staff Member Moderator Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    16,207
    7,197
    113
    well just a trow a spanner in the works chaps, I have an avant with the full bose and I found it to be very good , but like a lot of things it depend on what your musical preferences are etc and how you like the sound reproduced.
    I recently swapped out my double din concert2+ head unit ( as I wanted BT non oem) for a new pioneer head unit , and the setup is even better now , when I play back a DVD in the carpark whilst waiting for the wife the sound quality is excellent , well it all is, I certainly have no issues with the bose speakers , but personal choice really, i'm not really one of those bods that has the base so loud I can here it coming a mile off..lol....
    IMG_20161120_113229 (2).jpg
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2017
  7. Shaun Osborne

    Shaun Osborne Registered User

    221
    23
    18
    Rob you know we have had our discussion on my single to double din retrofit! Well can you advise me on what extra is needed to do a full bose system retrofit? Like wiring kits etc
     
  8. I'm Just Rob.

    I'm Just Rob. Moderating or something, Staff Member Moderator Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    16,207
    7,197
    113
    Will pm you Shaun in a bit when my brain is functioning normally....its been a long day so far and i'm still working.:sadlike:
     
  9. Shaun Osborne

    Shaun Osborne Registered User

    221
    23
    18
    Oh god I'm sorry mate, just take your time I'm not in rush. Hope all is good.
     
  10. jay1601

    jay1601 Registered User

    1,416
    117
    63
    Mine came with a full Bose from factory, personally I find very little difference between Bose and non Bose systems both bass is non existent

    I have kept the Bose amp powering the speakers and have added a aftermarket sub and amp to get the bass levels I require
     
  11. Shaun Osborne

    Shaun Osborne Registered User

    221
    23
    18
    What's required to add extra sub and amp? Do you still have the standard sub hooked up?
     
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. jay1601

    jay1601 Registered User

    1,416
    117
    63
    Took out the standard sub and used that space to run after market amp with a high to lower converter and made a sub box which sits inside the spare wheel to take no boot space up

    the small silver amp is the standard Bose amp, can just about see the top of the after market amp which sits in the place where the standard sub box use to be
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Shaun Osborne

    Shaun Osborne Registered User

    221
    23
    18
    Looks spot on, and sounds easy.. for you lol.. all that just went straight over my head. I wouldn't know where to begin.
     
  15. Rob Avant

    Rob Avant Registered User

    283
    271
    63
    I definitely wouldn’t bother fitting the Bose system, it’s worth remembering most of the secondhand systems out there will be 10+ years old. As already mentioned an aftermarket solution will sound infinitely better and will be more up to date with features... It’s the age old question of how much money do you want to throw at it?
    I’ve spent way too much on audio upgrades over the years but all well worth it (in my opinion) my wife would probably say otherwise!
     
    I'm Just Rob. likes this.

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information