New to VCDS a little advice please.

Matt268uk

A3 Sportback
VCDS Map User
Reaction score
Hi Everyone.

Well being new to VCDS i'm after a little advice please. Being quite used to Lexia 3, then impa/ediabas, Vcds is all new to me. So i have already connected my car and reset the service indicator but then went through some of the other settings shown on select on the opening screen of vcds. This is a couple of screen shots of what i was then shown. Capture

then this one Capture 1 on the first picture i never had the nerve to click "do it" as i didn't want to make any changes unknowingly then on the second was unsure of the numbering next to each item.

I wonder if anyone could shed any light on this for me, as i say i'm just learning this new software.
Thanks in advance. Matt.

Well i was just looking through everything. After reading through Ross-Techs site, when i click on any of the box's after hitting select, i was thinking i'd see a window that had a button called long coding helper, instead i was greeted with a window that gave me options to do it, but do what i ask myself ? i didn't want to risk changing anything so closed it. Also wasn't sure about the pic in my second screen shot. even after reading all i can find on RT's site that made no sense to me.

You shouldn't change any part of the code if you're not 100% certain of the components fitted to your car.

The second image shows different portions of the single code that configures your car's options. If you don't already have an option fitted, DO NOT enable a feature.

In your example:

Capture

Capture 1

The first 4 digits in the first image are represented in the second image as ????xxx! you would add (+) the features of each fitted option to create a 4 digit code, then write it down.

The next is a single digit, it's sets the country code and is represented as xxxx?xx