New member looking for an Audi A3 or A4 avant

Theador

Reaction score
hello all. Newbie here. I've not had an Audi for a few years now after switching to the BMWdark side.

Anyway I'm looking to get an Audi again as our second car.
I'm currently looking at either an A3 3.2 Quattro or an A4 Avant 3.0 Quattro. I'm only looking to spend around £4k, slightly less if possible. My second car at the moment is a tuned up Volvo 850R, so I want something with a bit of spirit behind it to replace this. I'm happy to spend a little money later to coax a bit more power out of the car turns out to be a good one. So far it looks like a Miltek cat back and a remap is about as far as you can go on power before spending big bucks.

Any advice or experience with either of these cars, or others I should be looking at would be much appreciated. I need to get a dog in it now and again and a bike.

Hi and welcome to the forum.
I have a 3.2, but both of the cars you are looking at are good depending on what you want.
Up to now, I have never had to do anything other than change the oil, (every 6k miles), and service it two weeks ago. It's been brilliant and just what I was wanting in a car. I bought it with Weitec Coil overs, Powerflow exhaust and a K&N fitted and I find it quite quick, although, it does require some working the gears to get the best of it.
It's not an S3 and I wouldn't treat it as such. Drag starts are a no, nearly ****** my clutch trying, so no more of that.
Where I find it very good, is pulling from 50-60 mph and it will shift if you get the hang of it.
Now that I have it looking the way I want it, I find myself thinking about a remap. Best I can hope for is just under 300bhp, which for me, is plenty.
I probably will do that at some stage, as the miles are still low enough not to worry too much about the consequences of blowing it up...!