New guy needs help and advice before purchase please?

boddhi

Reaction score
Hi Everyone.

I'm going to be purchasing an A4 in the next few weeks, once I have sold my Volvo V40 but I am a little undecided as to which engine would be best for me.

I can afford up to about £2500 and think I will be able to purchase a nice, but high mileage 98/99 for that money. What are your thoughts regarding the 1.8T versus the 2.4 V6? I know that the 1.8T is more upgradeable but I'm thinking that the 2.4 V6 chucks out 193? ish bhp so should be enough for me?

Also, in your honest opinions, do you think I will be able to find a decent car for £2500 or should I just wait until I have a lot more to spend? Obviously I don't want to be shelling out on lots of repairs soon after buying it!

Any help or advice would be great. I'm new to Audi's so to hear from people who know what they're talking about would be great.

Thanks
Boddhi

hi there the the 2.4 v6 pushes out about 170bhp, its the 2.8 v6 that runs 193bhp

but there 2 1.8t model 150bhp or the quattro sport model which is about 180bhp

hope this helps

Thanks.

I meant the 2.8 to be honest. Would I be right in thinking that with the 2.8 the chances of engine problems would be less as there is no turbo to go wrong or are the turbos so reliable it's not really an issue?

I am beginning to think that 193 bhp would easily be enough for me but maybe because the turbo frightens me a bit! Cost wise that is.

for the money you will save in fuel driving a 1.8t you could get it remapped to 200+
and the turbos are cheap and easy to replace. trying paying for a V6 engine out job for anything relating to the engine bay

i cant see the 2.8 being good on fuel at all, and the 20vt wont be far behind on performance

id get the 20vt. ought to be miles easier to work on too