Need some help with my spring detail.

Lavis89

Reaction score
Website
www.facebook.com
I'm a bit new to the whole detailing thing, this year i started with some G3 (by hand) then polished with autoglym super resin polish then waxed over that with dodo juice hard candy and got some alright results. I got a Dodo juice DA polisher for Christmas though so looking at going a bit more "balls out" when it comes to my start of the year detail this year. Pretty sure my parents are expecting me to do their cars afterwards as well...
The car is a a3 8l with dolphin grey metallic paint, 1 side of the car + the front bumper has had a recent and very good paint job so the paint is pretty flawless, the rest is showing its age with chips here and there, so not wanting to spend £100s on products, can only polish a **** so much ;)

anyone got any recommendations for procedure/products? this is my rough plan so far

Wash (2 bucket)
Decontaminate/Clay
Polish (DA friendly compounds anyone?)
Glaze
Seal/Wax

Some people have said to wax over sealant, others have said its one or the other, any opinions on this?

I'm as new to the detailing as you are, but from what I've read those that use a sealant and then top with a wax do it for aesthetic purposes. I asked the guys at AutoFinesse about their Desire wax and Tough Coat sealant and they advised that purely from a protection point of view there is no benefit to using both as they both offer similar levels of durability. However, Desire over Tough Coat will provide a beautiful finish from an aesthetic viewpoint. At the moment, the wife's car has just Desire but when my new A3 arrives, it will be receiving the Desire and Tough Coat treatment.

Wash with a wax stripper (G3 detox)

Clay

Wash again, dry

I have used the meguires compounds and had good results: started with - http://www.cleanyourcar.co.uk/car-polish-compounds/meguiars-105-ultra-cut-compound-8oz/prod_822.html