1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

my s3 project build

hydro s3 Sep 27, 2017

  1. ADs3

    ADs3 Active Member Silver Supporter

    403
    129
    43
    Mine were looking manky & I came across these on ebay..........listed for a3 8l/a4 B5 etc replacement & being led I thought it'd be a nice lil upgrade. Load of sh#te!, once I'd gotten the originals out I soon realised these come with a 2 pin plug where as ours or at least mine were the type (from memory) where the bulb is held by the two contacts and that then pushes in making the connection, not sure what the correct term for those is but it was definitely a no go.
    I might just give the originals a good clean out & get some led's to replace the original bulbs
     
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. hydro s3

    hydro s3 S3 amk

    1,363
    410
    83
    Yes the new ones I got have a 2 pin on the back of them. I haven't got round to trying to fit them but doesn't seem much point going to the hassle of doing it if the connector on the back is different.
    I'll just try and get an original lense and as you say get led bulbs for them.
     
  4. S3AMJ

    S3AMJ OEM+

    2,198
    786
    113
    Be sure to clean the connectors up to a shiny metal look. I found that the LED bulbs are a little sensitive when the contacts are even the slightest bit corroded


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    hydro s3 likes this.
  5. hydro s3

    hydro s3 S3 amk

    1,363
    410
    83
    Just noticed to night getting out of the car that my after run pump isn't working. Is there a fuse I should check 1st or is it a case of when they fo it's just get a replacement?
     
  6. desertstorm

    desertstorm Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    7,414
    3,710
    113
    After run pump is powered from the radiator fan controller I think. It's usually the pumps them selves that go duff. I found with mine if you gave it a knock when it should be running it would kick into life. Suspect the brushes wear to the point that they are just touching. No point in buying a second hand one, OE ones are pretty expensive I got a new Bosch Item from Autodoc
    https://www.autodoc.co.uk/bosch/663444
     
  7. hydro s3

    hydro s3 S3 amk

    1,363
    410
    83
    @desertstorm thanks. Where is the radiator fan controller located because come to think of it I haven't heared my fans coming on either for a while. It's not using coolant though and the car doesn't over heat. Just want to get this sorted so no damage is done to the turbo with the pump not working.
     
  8. desertstorm

    desertstorm Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    7,414
    3,710
    113
    If the fans haven't been kicking in check the fuses in the black fuse box on top of the battery. The radiator fuses are in there. Look for melted connections or blown wire link fuse.
     
    hydro s3 likes this.
  9. hydro s3

    hydro s3 S3 amk

    1,363
    410
    83
    What spark plugs are best for running 360bhp? BKR8EIX or BKR7EIX
    I'm thinking the BKR7 ones would do fine but just wanted some opinions before I go and buy a set.
     
  10. hydro s3

    hydro s3 S3 amk

    1,363
    410
    83
    Got around to fitting my rns-e headunit that I have had since October 2018 lol.
    I changed from a single din to the double so obviously had to get a double din console and the heater controls that and I got from stuffy.
    Just to get the rns-e wired by someone that knows what they are at. A previous owner has been at the wiring and wired up a Nokia box so not sure what I need to take out and leave in so I'll leave that job for a professional.
    A before picture. 20200222_122326.jpg A during picture. 20200222_142734.jpg All done picture 20200222_165554.jpg I like it and wise I'd done it ages ago.
    Next step get it wired and coded in.
     
    Asim1 likes this.
  11. Tj 0785

    Tj 0785 Registered User Bronze Supporter Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    3,877
    1,185
    113
    I think they freshen up the inside nicely mfsw next?
     
    hydro s3 likes this.
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. danny_dj3

    danny_dj3 Registered User

    230
    118
    43
    sorry, but that second pic has been the stuff of my nightmares.

    good finish tho, been pecking a mate who has the same head unit in his car to sell it me cheap ;)
     
    hydro s3 likes this.
  14. Tj 0785

    Tj 0785 Registered User Bronze Supporter Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    3,877
    1,185
    113
    They are good they aren’t a straight fit tho a little bit of work involved but well worth it
     
  15. tcg

    tcg Registered User

    939
    464
    63
    Top job mate...that's serious dismantling...if you can do that, I'm sure you can sort the wiring. My install has all the wires labelled in it...go on, you know you can :thumbs up:
     
  16. S3AMJ

    S3AMJ OEM+

    2,198
    786
    113
    Good effort mate.... was wondering when you were gonna fit it. It’s really odd seeing a standard interior since I fitted mine.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  17. hydro s3

    hydro s3 S3 amk

    1,363
    410
    83
    @Tj 0785 not bothered about the steering wheel upgrade I like the wheel I have.
    @danny_dj3 there not that expensive on ebay. I got very lucky with the one i got thanks to @S3AMJ spotted a kit that came out of a 8l with all the wiring and bluetooth module and headunit for £300. Just took me a while to finally install it.
    @tcg no way I could do wiring I'm fine dismantling stuff and getting it back together.
     
  18. hydro s3

    hydro s3 S3 amk

    1,363
    410
    83
    So car is starting to test my patients last week was driving along and the brakes decided to stop working pedal all the way to floor before a tiny bit of braking happened. Turned out the drivers side brake line had split and fluid was flowing right out. 20200304_141357.jpg
    Got that sorted and took the car out that night and all the coolant then decided it didn't want to stay in the car no more and it turned out ro be a hose from the radiator had came of the connector so filled it all back up and now the climate controls are only blowing warn air even when it is set at low or the air con is on which I've been told could be my thermostat being faulty.
    The fans only come on now when the air con is turned on aswell.
    Gave it a scan with the colour mfa and got these codes 20200312_114016.jpg
    The top one is for the n249 which has been deleted so from ross tech website is says could be a faulty d/v or faulty n249 valve.
    The second one is for camshaft position sensor which also said about low oil pressure.
    It's going into a garage in the morning to get the coolant system looked and get a oil pressure test and compression test done. I'll see what these numbers come back and say and go from there.
     
  19. tcg

    tcg Registered User

    939
    464
    63
    Ah mate!...that sucks,when mine did it,it c00ked the oil and fried the turbo seals and fins (it was the original one).

    Fingers crossed.
     
  20. ADs3

    ADs3 Active Member Silver Supporter

    403
    129
    43
    Looks like the brake line has worn through by coming into contact with something, possibly the wheel/tyre/strut There's evident wear marks along the protective outer coating.......installer error?. That was a accident waiting to happen, you was lucky to stop!........I'd buy a lottery ticket if I was you mate
     
  21. hydro s3

    hydro s3 S3 amk

    1,363
    410
    83
    @ADs3 think it was rubbing along the back of the brake disc. It had came of the clip and had dropped down. Something I will keep an eye on.
    Just left the car down to the garage and hes going to give it all a look over and sort the fault codes out. Will know later this afternoon what all is needed.
     
  22. hydro s3

    hydro s3 S3 amk

    1,363
    410
    83
    Got the car back from the garage this morning as he is closing today because of the virus. All he did in the 2 weeks it was there was fix the coolant leak,didn't go near the coded as he said he didn't know where to start with the fault finding. So I've now got a car on the drive that I cant use or get into another garage for at least another month maybe two.
    Would anyone know where I should start with the code 16396?
     
  23. S3AMJ

    S3AMJ OEM+

    2,198
    786
    113
    I had that code a while back when on the original ECU. All I did was removed the solenoid switch off the VVT clean the contacts and WD40 where the pin comes out. Ever since then I’ve not had a problem


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    HOGG likes this.
  24. hydro s3

    hydro s3 S3 amk

    1,363
    410
    83
    @S3AMJ cheers mate I will give that a go and clear the code and hopefully the code will stay away.
     
  25. hydro s3

    hydro s3 S3 amk

    1,363
    410
    83
    Cleaned up the connector and then cleared the code and after about 50 miles did another scan and has not came back on. Cheers @S3AMJ for the tip.
    I have a question about catch can set ups. I have had mine venting to atmosphere for over 2 years now but recently I've been seeing people on fb saying that it should not vent to atmosphere on a 1.8t as it releases unmetered pressure not putting it back into the tip.
    Am I doing this wrong?
    Should i get a new hockey puck and plumb it back into the tip? Thoughts please.
     
    S3AMJ likes this.
  26. mid lid

    mid lid Registered User

    17
    6
    3
    If you have removed the suction jet valve thing and the vacuum connection to the inlet manifold when you fitted the catch can then its fine.

    if the air was metered as they describe there would be a massive boost leak
     
  27. desertstorm

    desertstorm Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    7,414
    3,710
    113
    What goes to the catch can is from the crankcase and is blow by past the rings from the combustion process. The ECU is not expecting to see this back. It's normally recycled back into the engine to be burnt rather than vented into the atmosphere as this is more enviromentaly friendly.
     
  28. hydro s3

    hydro s3 S3 amk

    1,363
    410
    83
    Cheers lads I did think it was right but when a few fb people are saying its wrong it just got me thinking.
    So I knew if I posted up here I'd get a more accurate answer. One less thing to worry about changing.
    Another question my heaters only seem to blow hot air even when it is set at low and If I turn the air-con the motor kicks in but still the same hot air.
    Not sure if it was doing it before I changed to the double din console surround. So not sure could I have not put it back together properly and bent something or is that just quintessential
     
  29. hydro s3

    hydro s3 S3 amk

    1,363
    410
    83
    Can anyone help me and tell me where the interior temperature sensor is located?
     
  30. S3AMJ

    S3AMJ OEM+

    2,198
    786
    113
    I’m gonna hazard a guess mate and say it’s on the climate control... the little vented thing top middle. Above the display.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  31. hydro s3

    hydro s3 S3 amk

    1,363
    410
    83
    I found this part on ebay and they say it fits my year of car.
    I'm trying to find out why my heaters are only blowing hot air. I've tried 2 different climate units and it's still the same hot air coming out Screenshot_20200418-134641_eBay.jpg
     
  32. hydro s3

    hydro s3 S3 amk

    1,363
    410
    83
    Is this the intake interior temperature sensor? If it is how does it affect the heater controls? 20200425_222430.jpg
     
  33. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  34. HOGG

    HOGG Registered User

    851
    284
    63
    The interior sensor is behind the little slots on the actual interior controls

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
     
  35. hydro s3

    hydro s3 S3 amk

    1,363
    410
    83
    @HOGG I have code 00787 coming up on my colour mfa which says this Screenshot_20200428-150028_Gallery.jpg when I've looked online I have found it saying it's this sensor which seems to be the one in front of the throttle body. Screenshot_20200426-143030_eBay.jpg I've tried two different climate controls in the car and neither are stopping the problem with only hot air coming threw the vents.
     
  36. HOGG

    HOGG Registered User

    851
    284
    63
    It'll be the flaps maybe. Take the glovebox off and see if they move with different heat setting

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
     
    hydro s3 likes this.
  37. hydro s3

    hydro s3 S3 amk

    1,363
    410
    83
    Decided to give the exhaust tips a wee clean up today. A before picture. 20200502_160421.jpg An after picture 20200502_163109.jpg came up good and only took about 15 minutes. 20200502_164512.jpg
     
    Asim1 likes this.
  38. Asim1

    Asim1 Registered User

    446
    149
    43
  39. Tj 0785

    Tj 0785 Registered User Bronze Supporter Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    3,877
    1,185
    113
  40. S3AMJ

    S3AMJ OEM+

    2,198
    786
    113
    Looks very clean, I forgot you had twin exit exhausts..... what did you use to clean them up with. Mines in desperate need of cleaning along with the rest of the car haha


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  41. danny_dj3

    danny_dj3 Registered User

    230
    118
    43
    i used autosol for polishing up exhausts and engine casings on the bikes, should work fine.
     
    S3AMJ likes this.
  42. hydro s3

    hydro s3 S3 amk

    1,363
    410
    83
    Used this. Only takes a wee bit and only took about 15 mins to do them both. Also did the chrome side mirror caps which brought them up like new aswell 15885928125796670283776187785401.jpg
     
    Asim1, HOGG and S3AMJ like this.
  43. hydro s3

    hydro s3 S3 amk

    1,363
    410
    83
    This is the evap canister isnt it?
    Could anyone tell me where I can get these connectors? What they are called or what size I need?
    Mine are lose and I've tried to push them back in but they wont click back in. 20200517_133140.jpg
     

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information