1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

My minor modding thread

<tuffty/> Jul 29, 2009

  1. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,168
    5,505
    113
    Limited by roller speed running the car in 5th... would need to run in 4th and would need extra straps if grip was an issue... I am not chasing numbers though so I am happy with it as it is...

    I have ye olde ARP2000's in my rods...

    Turn the engine over with injectors unplugged first... allow the oil to circulate

    <tuffty/>
     
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. Stuart B

    Stuart B Well-Known Member

    3,448
    743
    113
    I am preparing a compression test as part of that initial run up in-case something is too tight, too loose etc also paranoid about the "first fire" turbo - I have the oil for when the turbo is fitted but visualise it'll just run straight through into the sump, I assume it must sit in a shelf or whatever.
     
  4. desertstorm

    desertstorm Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    7,262
    3,608
    113
    Just read through the last 10 pages with all the Ignitron setup and tweaking. Thanks for sharing all of this.
    Looks like this is where I will be going. Really like all the protection measures, I already have 5v output sensors on the oil pressure and fuel pressure that I can wire in to the ECU so don't need to be looking at the gauges so much. Easily switchable maps,Push to pass :), Anti lag , Fast wideband , knock protection and great logging. Nefmoto works quite well logging on the ME7.5 but having a laptop on the passenger seat hurling the car around a track is not the best. Rather get the laptop out after you come off the track and see whats going on. The various screens to modify the maps look quite ordered and the self learning corrections facilty with long and short trims as on the ME7.5 must really help to get a good baseline.
    Don't quite understand why you never mounted the EGT sensor in the manifold to get more sensible EGT values. Is there a problem mounting a sensor bosss on the Nortech Manifold. Could you mount one on the collector?.
     
  5. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,168
    5,505
    113
    Put in the downpipe for convenience more than anything... Mines not a nortech mani but no real reason why it couldn't go there..

    As for sensible readings.. It all relative... EGT protection is mapped to suit location of probe

    <tuffty/>
     
  6. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,168
    5,505
    113
    Just when I thought I had finished spending money on anything other than servicing and replacing worn out things some barsteward goes and posts a how-to on retro fitting a MFSW from a later car to the 8L (https://www.audi-sport.net/xf/threads/8l-mfsw-conversion.380385/)

    Soooooo.... went and bought a wheel :)
    [​IMG]

    First job was to sort the wheel module wiring out... I bought a plug as per the guide and started to de-pin it to sort out only the wires I needed
    20181106-96dpi-IMG_20181106_172806.jpg 20181106-96dpi-IMG_20181106_174810.jpg

    More on that later...

    Then moved on to the airbag wiring... the bag I got was from an 8V so single stage... the 8L and 8V are quite different plug wise
    8L...
    20181106-96dpi-IMG_20181106_175937.jpg

    ...and the 8V..
    20181106-96dpi-IMG_20181106_180040.jpg
    The guide called for de-pinning the plugs which I did do but to be honest I could have got away with just cutting the cables as ended up soldering the wires anyway...
    20181106-96dpi-IMG_20181106_191803.jpg

    ...and then sorted the switch gear wiring plug...
    20181107-96dpi-IMG_20181107_181919.jpg

    With that done I finished the loom from the wheel module to the RNS-E
    20181108-96dpi-IMG_20181108_174940.jpg

    Removed the old wheel...
    20181106-96dpi-IMG_20181106_124106.jpg
    ...and fitted the the new one and the looms...
    20181109-96dpi-IMG_20181109_131201.jpg

    ...and once connected all up and the RNS-E coded I went to test it worked... VCDS reported no codes for the airbag system so that was a good start plus the bag hadn't gone off once I reconnected the battery... the horn worked too so that side of things was ok...

    However... there was no illumination on the switches and they simply did not work... checked the wiring and all looked ok... it was only after a quick PM discussion with @warren9022 that I realised what an actual total plum I had been...
    20181109-96dpi-IMG_20181109_155409.jpg

    It was only after I sent him this pictured that he noticed I had the red/brown power wires in the wrong way... however... this is how the plug was supplied and while I did de-pin one half of the plug I stupidly left the power ones in assuming they were correct... I guess while the plug part number was correct this particular one was from a module other than the wheel one... lesson learnt... double check all wiring, assume nothing!

    Once I swapped them over this happened!..
    20181109-96dpi-IMG_20181109_164633.jpg

    Everything seemed to be working :D

    With that done I tidied up the wiring
    20181110-96dpi-IMG_20181110_125146.jpg

    ...then cable tied it securely under the dash
    20181110-96dpi-IMG_20181110_130334.jpg

    And while we are on a roll with retro fit projects for the RNS-E... I have also acquired an OE bluetooth module/mic
    20181110-96dpi-IMG_20181110_121147.jpg

    Turns out that my RNS-E is already SDS ready too which is a bonus so once the mic is wired in I should get full voice control :)


    When will it end LOL

    <tuffty/>
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2018
    jojo, ch1z64, ADs3 and 2 others like this.
  7. warren9022

    warren9022 Active Member

    466
    216
    43
    Barsteward.....:whistle2:
     
    <tuffty/> likes this.
  8. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,168
    5,505
    113
    I hold you entirely responsible lol... feel free to call me whatever you like when you fit a GT35 ;)

    <tuffty/>
     
  9. Stuart B

    Stuart B Well-Known Member

    3,448
    743
    113
    amazing... :)
     
  10. warren9022

    warren9022 Active Member

    466
    216
    43
    Full respray first and then I may look at power and call you all the names under the sun for bankrupting me....:chuncky:
     
    <tuffty/> likes this.
  11. S3AMJ

    S3AMJ OEM+

    1,870
    602
    113
    Well documented as always mate. I’m hopeless at taken pictures when I come to do these things


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    <tuffty/> likes this.
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. IPG

    IPG Well-Known Member

    1,841
    778
    113
    hey @<tuffty/> does the SWC and head unit talk via canbus? ta
     
  14. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,168
    5,505
    113
    Via the wheel module on the convenience CAN line I believe

    <tuffty/>
     
  15. IPG

    IPG Well-Known Member

    1,841
    778
    113
    Hmmm

    K

    Just trying to figure out how this may work with aftermarket HU

    I’m thinking one f those connects2 canbus adaptors and steering wheel jumper harness
     
  16. ch1z64

    ch1z64 C'mon you's bhoy's in Green Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    4,065
    869
    113
    Now not sure if it can be done on your model 8L but the Auto folding mirrors with door switch
     
  17. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,168
    5,505
    113
    It was an option I believe but rare as rocking horse shizzle...

    <tuffty/>
     
  18. ch1z64

    ch1z64 C'mon you's bhoy's in Green Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    4,065
    869
    113
    I did it on my 8p and have 2 spare Modules if you get the mirrors just give me a PM
     
    <tuffty/> likes this.
  19. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,168
    5,505
    113
    Bit more retro fitting done... this time an OE bluetooth module...
    20181110-96dpi-IMG_20181110_121147.jpg

    Fitted the unit in the same place as @S3AMJ ...
    20181115-96dpi-IMG_20181115_124652.jpg

    Managed to buy a mic from eBay that had the cable... most seemed to be just the mic on its own... Pulled down the light cluster to fit it into... hot glued it into place...
    20181115-96dpi-IMG_20181115_114820.jpg

    Cut a notch out to allow the cable to pass through
    20181115-96dpi-IMG_20181115_114831.jpg

    20181115-96dpi-IMG_20181115_114928.jpg

    ...and ran the mic cable down the A pillar to the centre console...
    20181115-96dpi-IMG_20181115_122343.jpg

    The Bluetooth units wiring plug splits into two parts... not sure what the other part of the loom does but I don't have anything to connect it too so removed it... I had to re-pin one wire to use for the k-line comms
    20181116-96dpi-IMG_20181116_085200.jpg

    Next up was to wire it into the RNS-E loom so it could be used for SDS functionality...
    20181116-96dpi-IMG_20181116_131538.jpg

    After a bit of recoding everything seems to be working :)
    20181116-96dpi-IMG_20181116_202041.jpg

    I changed the soft code on the RNS-E
    Module 56 (radio) -> Coding (07)
    0
    5 - Model - Audi A6 (< 2004)
    1 - Diagnostics for front speakers - inactiv
    0 - Sound characteristics - linear
    7 - Telephone/telematics - Base plate diagnostic capable with comfort control
    5 - Options I - AUX in
    7 - Options II - CD-Changer and Multifunction Steering Wheel

    Changed the instruments adaption channel 62 value to 7 which is the sum of 1 + 2 + 4
    Module 17 (Instrument cluster) -> Adaptation -> Function 10 -> Channel 62
    +01 - Radio
    +02 - Telefon
    +04 - Navigation
    +08 - Telematics

    As the 8L didn't come with bluetooth you will need to enter the module number directly in the box at the bottom (77) to code it... more info can be found on this here..
    http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki/index.php/Audi_A3_(8P)_Telephone_Preparation

    0?xxxxx: Brand
    0 = Audi
    1 = Seat

    0x?xxxx: Functions
    0 = Basic (for RNS-E basic/Radio)
    1 = Comfort (for RNS-E high/RNS-Low)

    0xx?xxx: Steering Wheel
    0 = No Multi-Function OR Standard Steering Wheel (Old Style without Menu Thumb Wheels)
    1 = Modular Steering Wheel (New Style with Menu Thumb Wheels)

    0xxx?xx: Installation List
    1 = Diagnostics via CAN
    2 = Multi-Function Steering Wheel, Diagnostics via CAN
    3 = Head Unit (e.g. RNS-E), Diagnostics via CAN
    4 = Multi-Function Steering Wheel, Head Unit (e.g. RNS-E), Diagnostics via CAN
    5 = Diagnostics via K-Line
    6 = Multi-Function Steering Wheel, Diagnostics via K-Line
    7 = Head Unit (e.g. RNS-E), Diagnostics via K-Line
    8 = Multi-Function Steering Wheel, Head Unit (e.g. RNS-E), Diagnostics via K-Line

    0xxxx?x: Language (Voice Control)
    0 = Voice Control OFF OR via external Device (e.g. RNS-E)
    1 = German
    2 = English (UK)
    3 = French
    4 = Italian
    5 = Spanish
    6 = Czech
    7 = English (US)
    8 = French (CA)
    9 = Speaker dependent (Voice Commands inactive, Acoustic Name Selection active)

    0xxxxx?: Language (Display)
    0 = No Display
    1 = German
    2 = English (UK)
    3 = French
    4 = Italian
    5 = Spanish
    6 = Czech
    7 = English (US)
    8 = French (CA)


    I used the following code for mine...

    0 = Brand - Audi
    1 = Functions - Comfort (for RNS-E high/RNS-Low)
    1 = Steering Wheel - Modular Steering Wheel (New Style with Menu Thumb Wheels)
    8 = Multi-Function Steering Wheel, Head Unit (e.g. RNS-E), Diagnostics via K-Line
    0 = Voice Control OFF OR via external Device (e.g. RNS-E)
    2 = Language (Display) - English (UK)

    I now need to check the the adaption channels to make sure they are set ok plus I want to change the pass key to prevent randoms connecting to the unit

    Happy days :)

    Next on the list of retro fitting will be to install a color MFA (the russian built one) into a modified facelift A6 C5 instrument cluster :)

    <tuffty/>
     
    warren9022, hydro s3 and S3AMJ like this.
  20. ch1z64

    ch1z64 C'mon you's bhoy's in Green Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    4,065
    869
    113
    Excellent bit off work mate .
     
  21. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,168
    5,505
    113
    Thanks dude but I am literally following a few others who have already done this... :)

    Then there are the 8P'ists that are wondering what the fuss is about as they have had this from day one lol

    <tuffty/>
     
  22. ch1z64

    ch1z64 C'mon you's bhoy's in Green Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    4,065
    869
    113
    I am one off the 8p but I do appreciate some one trying to bring there later model to and earlier model .
     
    S3AMJ, hydro s3 and <tuffty/> like this.
  23. S3AMJ

    S3AMJ OEM+

    1,870
    602
    113
    The Audi S3 8L is truly the most mod-able car in history.... you think of the amount of retro fitting that been done between all our cars and yet still looks OEM. There really isn’t any other car that allows you to do it. That’s before you even get to the engine. I saw one today on the A40 coming into London and I just thought.... they really do stand out from the crowd. Hopefully one day all our money spent will even itself out haha


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    superkarl and <tuffty/> like this.
  24. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,168
    5,505
    113
    Its possible I have ballsed up the coding on the BT unit... I no longer seem to be able to connect to it any more :(

    It all works fine and the mode button on the wheel brings up the phones contacts to scroll through which is nice... I even made a call using SDS :)

    I wanted to double check the code I had put in was the one I had written out in my post but seems I can't currently... I guess this means I will have a go at getting a CAN comms line in and see if I can at least connect to the units that way using a hex-can lead

    <tuffty/>
     
  25. S3AMJ

    S3AMJ OEM+

    1,870
    602
    113
    Hmmm that’s strange, mate... you tried unplugging the battery for 10mins, re-connecting and trying to connect to it again? It’s a long shot but saves the hassle of running a CAN comms line, etc. Just incase it’s confused itself, sometimes the simple things work


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  26. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,168
    5,505
    113
    Hello-IT.jpg

    <tuffty/>
     
    S3AMJ likes this.
  27. warren9022

    warren9022 Active Member

    466
    216
    43
    My unit always takes 3 or 4 tries to connect, how many attempts did you make?
     
  28. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,168
    5,505
    113
    A couple and gave up... will give it another go later :)

    <tuffty/>
     
    warren9022 likes this.
  29. S3AMJ

    S3AMJ OEM+

    1,870
    602
    113
    3 or 4 times? Is that to pair warren or once it’s paired. Mine connects the second I turn on my ignition, what phones are you guys using? I’ve got an iPhone 8


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  30. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,168
    5,505
    113
    Mine pairs fine... its VCDS that has the issues :)

    <tuffty/>
     
  31. warren9022

    warren9022 Active Member

    466
    216
    43
    I think @<tuffty/> is talking about connecting to it with VCDS. My Bluetooth connects straight away.
     
  32. S3AMJ

    S3AMJ OEM+

    1,870
    602
    113
    Ah my bad guys! I thought you where talking about the Bluetooth module. Ignore me


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  33. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  34. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,168
    5,505
    113
    Since I coded the BT unit I have been unable to talk to it and I stupidly coded it incorrectly so I had no voice control over the RNS-E... so as I was building a bench test harness for the cluster to use when I fit a color MFA I added extras on to the harness to allow me to code the CAN based modules used in the retro fit I have just done...
    IMG_20181208_104319.jpg

    I added the wheel module plug and the BT unit plug but to make it all work I also added a CAN Gateway module... the harness needs a CAN based VCDS lead to work but I have a KII-USB which is K-Line only so borrowed one to test it out... it works great...
    bt coding newPNG.PNG

    Module recoded and now I have fully functional voice control on the RNS-E and phone integration... happy days :)

    I have been driving around with the drivers half of the dash missing so felt good to put the car back together..
    20181208-96dpi-IMG_9841-HDR.jpg

    Next little task in preparation for the color MFA swap was to try cleaning up the haze on the donor cluster binnacle... it was looking a little rough..
    IMG_20181208_120324.jpg

    Out with the ultrafina...
    IMG_20181208_120429.jpg

    Didn't get all the really deep ones out but... clarity is vastly improved :)
    IMG_20181208_121241.jpg

    A few more passes and left it that...
    IMG_20181208_123631.jpg

    Looking forward to sorting that out when the MFA arrives :)

    Lastly a sneaky peak at yet another little project in the pipeline.... iPod++!

    I have had an iPod Gen 5 (iPod Video) since they came out in 2005... a few years ago I bought a broken one so I could change the HDD out for flash storage... this gave me a 256gb MegaPod.... thats been my primary music source for the past couple of years but decided to treat myself to an upgrade so bagged a 160gb iPod classic (7th Gen) and this will become iPod++ with 800gb (760gb/780gb usable) of flash storage! :D
    IMG_20181207_145335.jpg

    IMG_20181207_145412.jpg

    Just waiting on the iFlash adaptor to arrive which will be populated with 4 x 200gb micro SD cards and look completely standard!... bit of a theme with me :)

    <tuffty/>
     
    S3AMJ likes this.
  35. S3AMJ

    S3AMJ OEM+

    1,870
    602
    113
    Night and day difference on the cluster binnacle! I too need to do this at some point.

    That’s some serious storage on an iPod..... you must have every music track known to man to warrant that space haha, can you partition it so you can store other file formats?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  36. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,168
    5,505
    113
    I have a lot of trancey podcasts on my ipod, 2hrs odd long so tends to take up space... track wise on the megaPod I only have 4ooo odd and due to using a 30gb logic board will only support 20k track total... but with the gen 7 it will support 50k tracks and the iPod has been taken to 1tb storage but is very slow to update...

    800gb (4x 200gb cards) is the most cost effective way as the cards are around half the price of the 256gb cards

    You can potentially run Rockbox on the ipod which supports flac and other formats so if going down that route then the extra storage comes in handy

    <tuffty/>
     
  37. S3AMJ

    S3AMJ OEM+

    1,870
    602
    113
    Smart way of doing it, I’ve often wondered what the max capacity of an iPod is. I have a lot of films, music, etc. No iPod though... this could be a good way for me to do it. I travel a lot with work, all over Europe. I couldn’t justify getting the largest capacity iPhone... this would be a much cheaper way of doing it. Plugging it into the car as and when would be a bonus. Is the HDD soldered in the iPod Gen 7?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  38. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,168
    5,505
    113
    Easier to just point you to my blog where I did the original work..

    iPod refurb
    https://www.tuffty.co.uk/blog/2015/08/17/ipod-video-refurbishment/

    ...and megaPod
    https://www.tuffty.co.uk/blog/2015/08/17/ipod-video-flash-memory-modding/

    Guides and links are there too...

    This is the unit I will be fitting to the iPod++
    https://www.iflash.xyz/store/iflash-quad/

    Advantages of using this mod over the HDD are better storage capacity, longer battery life, iPod is lighter and also if fitted correctly you haven't the worry of HDD damage should you accidentally drop it..

    You don't have to go mad on storage tbh... iFlash do a single SD card version which is the replacement for the unit I used originally... this will give you a usable 256gb on any iPod you choose to use...

    Note that the Gen 5 iPods need to be Gen 5.5 (later 30gb and 80gb models) as the logic boards in the early ones (like my 60gb Gen 5) won't support the larger capacity...

    Gen 5/5.5 also suffer from failed logic board issues... the symptoms are loss of sound from the headphone socket and the multiplug... this requires a replacement logic board which are pretty thin on the ground and relatively expensive... this is why I went for the 7th gen classic in the end (better compatibility than the 6th gen classic btw) as the 160gb 7th gen was not much more to buy than a second hand logic board... I have a spare just in case for the megapod but if my original 60gb Gen 5 fails thats pretty much unrepairable these days...

    As a thing the iPod is brilliant... plugs into my RNS-E and I have all my music available and can just unplug and go with it too... without using all the battery life on the phone :)

    <tuffty/>
     
    S3AMJ likes this.
  39. S3AMJ

    S3AMJ OEM+

    1,870
    602
    113
    Thanks for the info mate, I’m going to look into this :)

    Any reason why you couldn’t use a iPad mini Gen 1? Doing the same capacity increase mods. I’m just thinking it’s still portable but with a bigger screen size for my travelling needs, i.e. watching videos, listening to music, etc. But then I may as well look into a small WinOS, Linux tablet I guess?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  40. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,168
    5,505
    113
    Doubt it mate... all newer Apple hardware has soldered storage... the iPod classics (Gen 5, 5.5, 6 and 7) were all hdd storage allowing this type of mod to be done with varying degrees of ease... internals of iPads are pretty much unserviceable as they are deemed disposable devices

    <tuffty/>
     
  41. S3AMJ

    S3AMJ OEM+

    1,870
    602
    113
    Yeah that was what I was wondering, apple have smartened up to it making it more difficult. The logic boards in the new MacBooks are basically impossible to manipulate now. Even to the point if they fail, not even apple can fix them.... they have to fit a brand new logic board. As you already know, my soldering skills aren’t capably to this extent.

    Majority of my music, etc isn’t in iTunes. So I could probably get away with a cheap WinOS small tablet which will be far easier to upgrade.

    I like the concept of your IPod++ though!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  42. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,168
    5,505
    113
    You don't need iTunes to manage music on the iPod and you can just add all you external music into the iTunes library and deal wit it there

    Thats all I do... I had loads of CD's back in the day so ripped those and added to iTunes... plus I buy music from amazon and google play... just a case of dragging the mp3's over and jobs done

    <tuffty/>
     
  43. S3AMJ

    S3AMJ OEM+

    1,870
    602
    113
    Yeah that’s true, I’ve changed my phone via iTunes to store MP3’s before.

    Slightly different but still on topic. The linx vision 8 tablet you’ve got, max external storage.... is it 128gb or can it be more, internal is 32gb isn’t it?

    I may buy one 2nd hand now they have discontinued. You can store a lot of music on there, films, etc. Plus using it similarly how you are with VCDS.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2018

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information