My Grille Project

mattpanton

Reaction score
Over the last week or so I've been busy making myself a custom grille for my A4, here are a few pics of the project as it went on....

Started off with an OEM grille, £20 from Ebay, bargin!

start.jpg

FIrst job was to carefully remove the chrome parts...

chromeoff.jpg

After about 2 hours in a sandblaster (chrome plating is tough old stuff!) it looked like this...

sand.jpg

Next job was to rub down and primer them...

primer.jpg

And then paint in satin black...

black.jpg

Then it was time to rebuild it...

comp.jpg

And fit it...

fitted.jpg

I'm pretty happy with the results considering i'm a total novice at spraying! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Only problem I can think of is stone chips will show up rather badly!

What you guys think?

Nicely done, but I would have left the rings chrome like Soupie says.

Good finish though...

Thanks for the comments, I did wonder about leaving the rings, I can always take the ones off the original grille and try it, there easy enough to remove. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Looks great, you should try it with the rings, imo it will look better. If not then you can always go back to black. You know what they say don't you, once you go black you never go back......

Yeah could you bung the silver rings on please and take a pic?

As i think the rings will look better and will fit in with the light coloured lights.

I think i will do my surround anthracite when i get my wheels done.

I am just deciding whether to get the mirrors done of not.

Yeah will try the chrome rings tomorrow and get some pics up then /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Didn't get a chance to try the swap tonight, will sort it tomorrow hopefully /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif