MMI Navigation question

d1s

Registered User
Joined
Aug 26, 2015
Messages
27
Reaction score
1
Hi
Just got a 55 plate A6, it has the MMI 2G High with navigation as an option, but there is no navigation cd drive in the boot compartment. Does this mean I cannot use the navigation, or can I use the CD Drive in the glove box?
Thanks
 

dentsy

Loving my new to me Bi turbo
Joined
May 20, 2007
Messages
818
Reaction score
68
Cd drive in the front is a 6 disc i assume mate like mine ?

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
 

niedzial1983

Registered User
Joined
Aug 4, 2015
Messages
337
Reaction score
136
If its mmi 2g high you should have 6cd changer in the glove box and dvd navigation unit inside left hand side boot compartment
ddbe6a68bc53231de7c403076641a125.jpg


2006 Audi A6 3.0TDI quattro sline le mans | Daytona Grey Pearl
 

dentsy

Loving my new to me Bi turbo
Joined
May 20, 2007
Messages
818
Reaction score
68
Yes mines a 2g high and i have whats just been said above

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
 

B5NUT

Well-Known Member
VCDS Map User
Joined
Feb 6, 2010
Messages
5,560
Reaction score
1,582
Not all A6's had nav it was an option, like everything on an Audi.
 

d1s

Registered User
Joined
Aug 26, 2015
Messages
27
Reaction score
1
I have the colour screen and I have the 6 cd changer in the glove box.
When I press the NAV button it shows 'Navigation is not installed'
There is no drive in the boot.
I suppose my A6 doesn't have it then
 

B5NUT

Well-Known Member
VCDS Map User
Joined
Feb 6, 2010
Messages
5,560
Reaction score
1,582
No, you need to buy a retrofit kit, your looking at around £300-£400.
 

Mollygoogle

Registered User
Joined
Aug 21, 2012
Messages
310
Reaction score
17
I would imagine that when he says "with navigation as an option" he means that there is a NAV button on the dash, i.e. it as an selection option on the dash controls rather than it being available as an option from Audi
 

Mads

Registered User
Joined
Oct 24, 2019
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
I am aware this thread is a few years old, and this might not be completely relevant, but has anyone taken out the navigation unit in the boot before or know what type of cables go into the back of it? I am thinking of possibily fitting one of these Bluetooth devices into it if the cabling is there...
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20191029_140331_com.android.chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20191029_140331_com.android.chrome.jpg
    489 KB · Views: 108
  • Screenshot_20191029_215754_com.android.chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20191029_215754_com.android.chrome.jpg
    205.1 KB · Views: 84
  • Screenshot_20191029_215734_com.android.chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20191029_215734_com.android.chrome.jpg
    450 KB · Views: 100

B5NUT

Well-Known Member
VCDS Map User
Joined
Feb 6, 2010
Messages
5,560
Reaction score
1,582
That won't work, as the A6 uses a fibre optic BUS system, and that cable is for an RNS-E.

Only options would be the MOST bus AMI (fibre optic version) or Dension gateway 500. There are no cheap solutions for the A6 MMI system
 

Mads

Registered User
Joined
Oct 24, 2019
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
I should've mentioned I have an A5 2.7TDI, if it makes any difference at all
 

B5NUT

Well-Known Member
VCDS Map User
Joined
Feb 6, 2010
Messages
5,560
Reaction score
1,582
This is an A6 thread, so best post in the A5 section where people will give you the advice for your car.
 

B5NUT

Well-Known Member
VCDS Map User
Joined
Feb 6, 2010
Messages
5,560
Reaction score
1,582
Personal choice, but the question was posted over 3 years ago, so the decision was most likely made a long time ago.
 
Top