1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Lane assist / OBDEleven B9 S-Line with pre-sense

Mr Olympik Apr 28, 2020

  1. Mr Olympik

    Mr Olympik Registered User

    131
    26
    28
    Hi All,

    Has anyone tried to activate the lane assist feature on an S-Line with pre-sense using OBDEleven? I've read some people had issues but never followed up if they managed to resolve it.

    It cost's 100 credits or only £12.99 on OBDEleven but there's no point throwing money away if it's not going to work.

    On a side note, really annoyed with OBDEleven's pay to play strategy, especially considering that their scanner costs several times more than regular OBD scanners.
     
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. Adam sielski

    Adam sielski Registered User

    60
    4
    8
    Hey,

    I haven’t done it via the credits, how ever I did it via the coding (saving the credits).

    Now you may think it’s a ball ache to do but it actually isn’t. There is a post On This forum that has a pretty good guide to do it. I’ll see if I can find it for you.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Mr Olympik likes this.
  4. Adam sielski

    Adam sielski Registered User

    60
    4
    8
  5. Adam sielski

    Adam sielski Registered User

    60
    4
    8
    If you do decide to do it this way; ignore the byte part as that is if your using a vagcom. The obs eleven will give you “activate” or “on” options

    I believe there is a step in there now which is irrelevant now and I didn’t have to do it.

    Ouw also, be aware with the lane assist it’s meant to be toggled off and on via a stalk, if you have a that stalk your laughing. If you don’t; then lane assist will be on ALLL the time.
    This is due to having to code the switch as active ( due to not having a stalk to turn on and off )


    And trouble give me a shout
     
  6. Mr Olympik

    Mr Olympik Registered User

    131
    26
    28
    Thanks, Adam!

    I'm just apprehensive to code my car without being able to save a backup as I don't want to brick it :)
     
  7. Adam sielski

    Adam sielski Registered User

    60
    4
    8
    You can do exactly that with OBDeleven.

    Like stated in the last post I did. If you have the lane assist switch then your laughing. But if you use the credits it will turn lane assist on 24/7.

    Small things like dashboard lights get annoying for me and I found that in my a4 b9 the lane assist light is on the cluster so that’s on all the time.

    Also the credit way is exactly the same thing that you would do if you were to code things.

    Any question hit me up I’ll be happy to help, hell even walk you through it.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Mr Olympik likes this.
  8. Mr Olympik

    Mr Olympik Registered User

    131
    26
    28
    Brilliant, so just follow the first post exactly as he wrote it?

    also, do I need OBDEleven pro to do this? I've had it since last year but never had a proper play with it. What's the feature called to code? and is the backup function somewhere there as well?
     
  9. Adam sielski

    Adam sielski Registered User

    60
    4
    8
    Sorry for the late reply;

    Yes the pro feature allows you to “long Code” or opened all the features of the application. Depending on what platform your using it on how ever depends on the features I.e (iOS, Android)

    I may be wrong but I think that iOS doesn’t support full features just yet but I would have to check as I use a android tablet

    As for the post I placed in my replay; the first post in the link should be updated with all other suggestions by contributing members of that forum.

    The back up feature I can’t remember where it is found but I’ll fire up the app for you now and check.

    What I could do for you also it make a step by step walk through for you and what you would see. But that depends on what platform of the app your using.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  10. Mr Olympik

    Mr Olympik Registered User

    131
    26
    28
    I have read a big part of that forum, wish there would be a definitive guide with all the updates needed :)
    I've had a play with the app and seem to feel confident with what needs to be done, I've seen screenshots of how to backup but the function isn't available on my android, maybe its because I'm not connected to the car and sat in my house.

    Regarding OBDEleven, begs the question again... why is it so expensive if you have to pay for every bonus feature?!
     
  11. Mr Olympik

    Mr Olympik Registered User

    131
    26
    28
    Wish me luck :D

    [​IMG]



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. Adam sielski

    Adam sielski Registered User

    60
    4
    8
    I believe you will have to be connected to your car for the backup feature.

    As for the expensive bonus feature things I believe it’s to fund the work they put in. But saying that some people like to pay for say the Lane assist feature activation with credits as they like the convenience of just letting the app do it for them.

    Each to their own tbh, I like to know how the car works and see what things I can do before having to pay for them and then if it’s out of my capabilities then I will pay for it to be done.

    Glad you feel confident enough to do it. I got it working on my A4 B9 but I found that one the EFP wouldn’t stay activated. Wether that’s something that I was doing wrong I don’t know but I will be revisiting it again soon


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  14. Mr Olympik

    Mr Olympik Registered User

    131
    26
    28
    So the issue I'm having is the adaptations, I changed the coding no problem... but when trying to change:
    5F - Information Electronics

    Car_Function_Adaptations_Gen2>menu_display_Lane_De parture_Warning = Set Value to “Activated”

    Car_Function_Adaptations_Gen2>menu_display_Lane_De parture_Warning_over_threshold_high = Set Value to “Activated”

    I get (31) function not available...

    EDIT: in the time it took me to post this it started to accept the adaptations... I did switch the car on and off though.
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2020
  15. Mr Olympik

    Mr Olympik Registered User

    131
    26
    28
    Great success. Thanks Adam!

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    NB: I just fired up the OBDEleven app on the iPhone and it seems to have all the functionality of an android. Plus it has a search feature in all of the menus! Looks a little more user friendly to me.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  16. Adam sielski

    Adam sielski Registered User

    60
    4
    8
    Nice! I’m glad it all worked for you!

    Ps...so jealous about the VC


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  17. Mr Olympik

    Mr Olympik Registered User

    131
    26
    28
    Yeah, took it for a quick spin, worked really well when it saw the lanes :)

    The auto high beam assist is nice too.

    Have you done any other coding worth looking into?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  18. Adam sielski

    Adam sielski Registered User

    60
    4
    8
    I haven't done much coding. Tbh the first major tinkering was the lane assist. Because the EFP wasn't activating even though it would - then it would deactivate I turned it all back to normal.

    I generally use the OBDeleven to do dpf regens. I also use carista alongside ODBeleven as with carista is a monthly subscription but you can activate things as much as you want.

    I've activated the needle sweep which is a nice touch and trouble shooted the heated mirrors shorting to ground.

    I know a few people that have installed he VC and coded it to work but not on OBDeleven.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  19. Adam sielski

    Adam sielski Registered User

    60
    4
    8
    so you inspired me to give it another shot. The process from what I noticed only takes a good ten minutes to complete.

    I did find that; the first coding part required for my engine to be off but ignition on.
    Also again, I couldn't turn on the EFP so unused the long coding feature - under long coding by choosing bit12 then checking bit 7.
    This infact activated the EFP.

    The second part "adaptations" (for me) engine had to be on to make any of the saved changes stick. I also had to turn the car off and turn it back on after waiting a few mins, with openig the door to turn things off.

    The results? Well....it's working! I don't have the colour console screen even though my17 b9 is only three years old. It has the square screen and instead of green lines appear it goes from gray to white.

    Works pretty well, kicking in at 40mph and finds the lines quite well. The self steering isn't too intrusive as most people would find. I do wish that the feature to toggle on and off through the mmi worked but beggers can't be choosers.


    I'm thinking about making a visual tutorial for this method so then people that are not to sure how to do it can see what to look for.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Mr Olympik likes this.
  20. Mr Olympik

    Mr Olympik Registered User

    131
    26
    28
    Did you use Android or IOS?
     
  21. Adam sielski

    Adam sielski Registered User

    60
    4
    8
    I used the Android version


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  22. Alrakis

    Alrakis Registered User

    1
    0
    1
    I enabled Lane Assist using credits about two years ago, and it was a 2 step process. If I want to disable it again, should I start with Step 2 or Step 1?
     
  23. Mr Olympik

    Mr Olympik Registered User

    131
    26
    28
    I would start with step 2 and work in reverse.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Alrakis likes this.
  24. monkeyhanger

    monkeyhanger Registered User

    267
    92
    28
    I had a go myself with the long coding and adaptations. I have done all the changes required for lane assist but most of the later steps were already set to what it should be. I haven't been out to try it yet.

    I also did needle sweep, single chirp on locking (so I don't have to look back at the car and see wing mirrors folding) air recirc memory and fully automatic electric handbrake. They all work.

    I tried to turn the soundaktor off but the module wasn't listed so I'm guessing I don't have one. I already had high beam assist.
     
  25. GenerationGav

    GenerationGav Registered User

    191
    40
    28
    I believe step 2 is enough unless you've got actually issues or care about your settings being original. It means settings in your MMI will still be there, but Lane Assist will be completely disabled.
    Step 2 basically mimicks the button on the end of the stalk completely disabling the Lane Assist function.
     
  26. Mr Olympik

    Mr Olympik Registered User

    131
    26
    28
    What guide did you follow for the handbrake? Mine wasn't very good and didn't work.
     
  27. monkeyhanger

    monkeyhanger Registered User

    267
    92
    28
    Apologies for the lateness of my reply- the last 10 days have been a bit of a blur doing out a daughters bedroom.

    I followed the Austrian wiki page guide. I remembered to pop the bomnet before coding! You don't even have to put it in P. You just press on/off button at end of journey, the car puts itself in P and winds on the rear brakes and lights the handbrake button up.
     
  28. muffindell

    muffindell Registered User

    18
    0
    1
    Yeah I tried the credit way and all I got when it was completed was a error on the dashboard saying I needed to visit the workshop ; I undid stage 2 and then stage one (after paying yet again) dash message vanished, all was well! I have successfully enabled auto headlight dip, bleep on lock, needle check and Scandinavian rear drls though, so some consolation
     
  29. monkeyhanger

    monkeyhanger Registered User

    267
    92
    28
    Buying credits and paying is an expensive way of going about mods. Get Pro (one time purchase of £21) if you don't already have it and long code...

    Or wait a week or 2 and build up your free credits (6 a day).

    I've added quite a bit of stuff, including lane assist. Can't say I've seen or felt lane assist intervene, but maybe I need to do the tweak above for having pre-sense? Pretty much for all of my stage 2 long code changes, the settings were already what they needed to be post-change.

    Can anyone advise what exactly presence is supposed to warn for? I assumed it was like the warnings for active cruise control (that I don't have but have had on 3 previous VWs) like the car in front jumps on the brakes, your car warns you to do the same when it realises the gap between you and the car in front is reduced.

    In reality, for my 4 warnings, they have all triggered when a cyclist or pedestrian has encroached on the field of view for the car and the car probably thinks I'm going to hit them.
     
  30. MOA4B9

    MOA4B9 Registered User

    264
    72
    28
    Lane assist nudges you to middle of the lane when you start drifting towards the lane markings. You should feel the steering wheel turning by itself but if you continue drifting and go over the like then the steering wheel will vibrate. You will know if active lane assist is activates and the will be a symbol in the speedometer dial - either orange or green. Active lane assist only kicks above 40mph.
     
  31. monkeyhanger

    monkeyhanger Registered User

    267
    92
    28

    I'll keep an eye out for the symbol. I set it up without the suggested Audi Pre-sense tweak so not sure if it is set up right in my case. My trip to Leeds and back to Newcastle last Thurs to pick up the puppy gave no pings or buzzes/vibrations - naybe my driving was that good? I do indicate, so I assume that's the difference between unintentional drift and intentional lane change if you don't do swervy lane changes as far as the system is concerned?
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2020
  32. MOA4B9

    MOA4B9 Registered User

    264
    72
    28
    If you indicate then it will not engage. The symbol for the lane assist is always there, at speeds below 40mph it's orange (or it cannot detect lines) and turns green above 40mph
     
  33. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  34. REB154

    REB154 Registered User

    137
    89
    28
    @monkeyhanger

    Do you have the URL please?

    Thank you.
     
  35. monkeyhanger

    monkeyhanger Registered User

    267
    92
    28
    Screenshot_20200813-134659_Chrome.jpg
     
    REB154 likes this.
  36. Mr Olympik

    Mr Olympik Registered User

    131
    26
    28
    I misread that as Australian. I used that site as well but could get the auto parking brake to work.
     
  37. monkeyhanger

    monkeyhanger Registered User

    267
    92
    28
    You just made me think of that film "Dumb and Dumber" :-

    Lloyd: where are you from?
    Woman: Austria.
    Lloyd: well g'day mate!

    My parking brake works fine after following instructions - did you pop the bonnet if your car is 2019/2020?

    I don't even have to select "P". I just finish the parking manouvre in whatever gear i'm in and press the stop-start button to turn off the ignition. The car selects P and puts the parking brake on automatically.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2020
  38. Mr Olympik

    Mr Olympik Registered User

    131
    26
    28
    G'day :)

    Hmm, I'll have to have another go at some point.

    Mine's MY2016 so doesn't need the bonnet opening. Cheers
     
  39. Mr Olympik

    Mr Olympik Registered User

    131
    26
    28
    Is this it?

    upload_2020-8-14_11-17-22.png
     
  40. monkeyhanger

    monkeyhanger Registered User

    267
    92
    28
    I just did this:-

    Brakes (03) / Adaptation / Automatic Parking Brake -> Change "Not Activated" to "Activated"
    (Security code: 40168 is used)

    Some people report it not working for them on the OBD11 forum
     
  41. Mr Olympik

    Mr Olympik Registered User

    131
    26
    28
    Yeah, says it's not installed on MY17 and cannot activate...
     
  42. monkeyhanger

    monkeyhanger Registered User

    267
    92
    28
    Have you tried doing it via the apps that cost credits (from your free 6 a day)? Maybe there's a specific way to do it with your MY, or an additional step required to get ODB 11 to recognise the handbrake system as being auto capable first before activating auto handbrake? Maybe the appp accounts for your MY and does it slightly differently as a result?
     
  43. Miguel Jorge

    Miguel Jorge New Member

    1
    0
    1
    Hello,
    Great job!
    Have you been able to use lane assist and auto high beam without the dedicated buttons?
    Is it possible to use also acc without the acc button?
     

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information