1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Karls 3.0 TDI build thread

desertstorm Dec 7, 2013

  1. Tyla1073

    Tyla1073 Registered User

    9
    2
    3
    Only other thing is 50w seems a bit bright to me considering that there is 4 bulbs, maybe some of the other members can confirm?
     
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. Gusty

    Gusty Registered User

    20
    5
    3
    Think 50w is what Karl used in his write up
     
  4. Tyla1073

    Tyla1073 Registered User

    9
    2
    3
    Cool, go for it.
     
  5. desertstorm

    desertstorm Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    7,411
    3,704
    113
    They aren't too bright, they are positively tame compared to the factory fit DRL's on some cars which are more like dipped headlights.But they are a good deal brighter than the standard OE halogen bulbs.

    Karl.
     
  6. desertstorm

    desertstorm Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    7,411
    3,704
    113
    Well haven't done much with the car in a while, still have the HID lights to fit when the nice weather arrives.
    Whilst looking at some interior car pictures the other day I noticed one with the same seats as mine but the gearstick trim looked a lot better than what mine has.
    The seats in mine aren't original, the gearstick is and doesn't match the seats.
    Had a look around and the correct item from the dealers is £135, more than I wanted to pay.
    Having a surf around found one on German Ebay brand new for just over £100 all in.

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/200958080626?

    Looks and feels a lot nicer and matches the seats perfectly.And only a 10 minute job to change it.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Karl.
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2017
    ruairi83 likes this.
  7. kanecullen89

    kanecullen89 Registered User

    589
    170
    43
    Wow this looks so bare. I'm much prefer that look above mine which has hundreds of buttons making it look cluttered!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 25, 2017
  8. desertstorm

    desertstorm Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    7,411
    3,704
    113
    I have all the same buttons as the newer model cars just they are located on the dash. Which seems a better place to me as you can look at them and still have some peripheral vision out of the car.
    Where they are all located on the newer cars you have to take your eyes off the road for longer. The buttons are more prone to being damaged having things dropped / spilt on them and they collect dust / dirt easier.

    Karl.
     
    evans1089 and kanecullen89 like this.
  9. Slackworth

    Slackworth Registered User

    417
    82
    28
    Hi Karl,

    How did the ABS module switch go as I'm on a 1AS as well currently. Read a forum thread on someone who swapped theirs over. All fine until they hit over 10mph then the dash lit up like a Christmas tree but they didn't say if they had recoded to the VIN. I'm on a 3.0 TDI the same as you so be interesting to know if it works.
     
  10. desertstorm

    desertstorm Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    7,411
    3,704
    113
    I changed it over quite a few weeks ago on a Saturday and changed it back again on the Sunday.
    I had a similar issue to what you describe. Got to about 10mph and it was Christmas time.
    I am not 100% sure that the module I bought was a good one though.
    When I initially connected the module to the car I got a fault code
    01794 - Control Module - Incorrect Chassis (VIN) Number ,I altered the codeing of the module to the same as the existing module and the car seemed to accept the new module, I never got that code again.

    [​IMG]

    You can see the module I bought has blue and white plugs in, these I believe came from a replacement new module. I bought this from a breakers on Ebay, they must have had 50 ABS modules for sale and every one had just had the pipes cut through. I put this to the seller and he refunded me the money. So it didn't cost me anything. I got to bleed the brakes twice and flush through the fluid with high temp 5.1 so have a very nice strong pedal but still on the original ABS module.
    The fault code I was getting was
    G201 Brake Pressure sensor error, which apparently is a common failure code for the ESP8 modules.
    There is a test that you have to run on a new unit for it to do basic settings. It involves using VCDS to put the car into a learning mode then driving a certain test pattern and using the brake pedal as well.
    I can't find the link to the information I had now.
    I don't think I will bother trying this again.
    Karl.
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2017
    umbrella likes this.
  11. Slackworth

    Slackworth Registered User

    417
    82
    28
    That's a shame...I wonder if there's other components that need to be changed as well. Think I'll give it a miss though...
     
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. Gusty

    Gusty Registered User

    20
    5
    3
    Just did my lights and very happy with them. Quick question Tyla, having used the same b and q casters that you used did you find any issue with the light on the drivers side? My light is sitting high and the back torx screw is nowhere near being able to screw in.
     
  14. Gusty

    Gusty Registered User

    20
    5
    3
    That's the lights finished. Thanks for your right up Karl, was a1! As said previously having an issue with my drivers side light not sitting flush but ill look at it better tomorrow.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. desertstorm

    desertstorm Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    7,411
    3,704
    113
  16. KudoWarrior

    KudoWarrior Registered User

    289
    56
    28
    Been following you build thread ever since I was set on buying an Audi (You've got some great upgrades done) and now that I've got one any suggestions on what kind of mods you'd suggest?

    2012 A4 2.0 TDI Quattro BE (New shape and in Black)

    Just some simple things I've done:
    - Interior lights - Halogen out=LED in
    - Brake calipers painted - Red with s-line stickers

    Plan on getting (probably in this order):
    - Interior light pack added in (puddles/warnings/footwells/glovebox and if possible vanitys. Some may or may not be possible without causing damage.
    - Electric folding mirrors
    - egr deletion (After 1 year warranty is over)
    - Remapping (After 1 year warranty is over also not sure what to go for)

    Anything else you'd suggest?
     
  17. desertstorm

    desertstorm Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    7,411
    3,704
    113
    You will be able to add the interior lights in without issue. The electric folding mirrors will be more complicated and a lot more expensive.
    Remap and EGR delete should be done at the same time, If you are anywhere near Manchester I would recommend @Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev. who mapped mine. He is a forum sponsor and really knows his stuff.

    Karl.
     
  18. KudoWarrior

    KudoWarrior Registered User

    289
    56
    28
    You think even the vanity lights would be easy to install? Can't get my head around how the wiring would be done without damaging the upholstery.

    Remapping and deletion will be done together for sure.

    I'm in London but frequent Brum so may have a side visit to Manchester when I decide to do it, cheers mate.
     
  19. Meemo

    Meemo Registered User

    1,257
    843
    113
    Good stuff, really practical mods and I like the vag com touches straight from the get go.
    Watching this one, full of great ideas and tips :)
     
  20. desertstorm

    desertstorm Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    7,411
    3,704
    113
    Haven't posted anything for a while. Still have the HID headlight conversion to do at some point. When I find a spare day with some nice weather will have a go at that.
    Fitted an exhaust manifold pressure gauge yesterday. Will hopefully help out with the engine tuning when remapping for the hybrid turbo.

    [​IMG]

    Karl
     
  21. Ro55

    Ro55 Active Member VCDS Map User

    870
    128
    43
    Nice to meet you today Karl,your a top man! :anbet: very pleased! oh and that thing is an animal ;)
     
  22. Gazwould

    Gazwould Registered User

    7,736
    3,127
    113
    Thought you would take this route , what figures do you anticipate the hybrid will yield ?
     
  23. desertstorm

    desertstorm Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    7,411
    3,704
    113
    Hopefully 350-360bhp and something like 750Nm, Maybe a bit more with the water/methanol.
     
  24. NotNormal

    NotNormal Active Member VCDS Map User

    380
    81
    28
    Which hybrid are you looking at getting ?
     
  25. Meemo

    Meemo Registered User

    1,257
    843
    113
    well that escalated quickly, meth!
    I spied a few b8s yesterday, B8 friends!
     
  26. desertstorm

    desertstorm Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    7,411
    3,704
    113
    I have had a water meth system on the car for a while, only use it at track days and when I go racing.
    Karls 3.0 TDI build thread
    I bought a second hand GTB2260VK standard turbo off German Ebay and it's with Adam at TDI Turbos in Poole to modify. After much reading and speaking to some very experienced people off the TDI forum it seems the biggest issue with the GTB2260 on a 3.0TDI is the size of the turbine, it's just too small to flow the exhaust gas which is one of the reasons I have fitted the EMP gauge.
    The standard size turbine exducer on a GTB2260 is 45mm, the largest one you can fit is 49mm so thats whats going in along with a 66mm extended tip billet compressor wheel.
    So effectively it will be something like a GTB2566vk.
     
    evans1089 and Ro55 like this.
  27. desertstorm

    desertstorm Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    7,411
    3,704
    113
    Had a parcel arrived today.

    TDI turbos have done a great job with the work and it looks like new.
    They have spent a lot of time setting it up on the flow bench to hopefully get the best response from the turbo.
    Here are some before and after pictures.

    Before

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    After

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Looking forward to getting it fitted and mapped. Hopefully should be somewhere around 350-360bhp and 750Nm .

    @Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev. hope you have some time available in the next few weeks.

    Karl.
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2017
    Gaz170 and Kalashnikov like this.
  28. NotNormal

    NotNormal Active Member VCDS Map User

    380
    81
    28
    Looking forward to the results Karl.
     
  29. MarkMcK

    MarkMcK Registered User

    1
    0
    1
    Impressive list of mods Karl and a great write-up of then too. I'm on the hunt for a B8 3.0TDI to replace my aging Toledo TDi (2002 with 207k miles) Plenty for me to consider should I manage to get my hands on one at the right price
     
  30. desertstorm

    desertstorm Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    7,411
    3,704
    113
    Nice day today so got around to fitting the HID headlights I have had for a while.
    These are what the dipped beam looks like as standard,

    [​IMG]

    Fortunately taking the headlights of the car is a 5 minute job as the bumper doesn't need removal.

    Into the oven for 5-6 minutes at 110 degrees C to loosen up the sealant that is used, you won't get it apart without heating it.

    [​IMG]

    To remove the reflector in front of the bulb you need to undo a screw, but that is located behind a plastic bracket. 2 minutes with a dremel and a small burr, and I removed a small piece of the bracket to allow me to get the screw out.

    [​IMG]

    The original bulb fitting in the car is slightly rotated, that is no good for the replacement projector as it need to be horizontal. Thus need to remove the locating tag on the washer so you can set the projector level.

    [​IMG]

    30 seconds of filing

    [​IMG]

    The HID projector has a solenoid that pulls down the shield when you want main beam. There are 2 wires from this that need to be connected to the main beam. So wired them through the inside of the light and soldered the wires to the back of the main beam bulb.

    [​IMG]

    Connected to the car and checked all worked OK and the beam was correct. I had marked the original beam pattern on the garage door. So was setting the new lights to the same position. Also checking everything worked before I reattached the front.

    [​IMG]

    Dipped beam before I started

    [​IMG]

    Main beam before I started, not really much different.

    [​IMG]

    After there is a lot more light , I have gone for 4300K bulbs so look like OE and give the most amount of light. Also match the LED DRL's perfectly.

    [​IMG]

    A little video switching between dipped and main, Been out and tried it in the dark and beam pattern is perfect, The main beam is like a searchlight now compared to what it was before. And I was using the best bulbs I could before Osram Night Breaker Plus in dipped and main.

    [​IMG]

    The finished light looks quite good I think, almost OE.

    [​IMG]

    These could be fitted to almost any reflector headlight to give a proper HID headlight with a decent beam pattern with a good sharp cut off.

    Karl.
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2017
    8163264, ruairi83, Gaz170 and 2 others like this.
  31. desertstorm

    desertstorm Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    7,411
    3,704
    113
    Hope you find one they are great cars, you will notice a good deal of difference between the Toledo and one of these.

    Karl.
     
  32. kanecullen89

    kanecullen89 Registered User

    589
    170
    43
    Would you consider doing the light mod for other people for some $$. I'd be really interested but my skill level is really not there
     
  33. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  34. desertstorm

    desertstorm Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    7,411
    3,704
    113
    It's not that hard to do this the problem is the time it takes. It's all quite fiddly. I would recommend you have a dremel or similar as they are very useful for trimming the shrouds, and removing the small amount of plastic from the bracket to get that screw out.
    Unfortunately I have lots of other stuff to be doing, I have had this kit a few months already so doing other cars isn't really an option.Thats why I take some pictures and try and describe what I have done.

    These were the lights I used.The shrouds require a small amount of trimming to fit.
    http://www.aliexpress.com/store/pro...-Projector-Headlight/1045972_32288038892.html

    The ballasts I used were these, Seem to work fine with no CAN bus light issues. They have an extra power connection that needs wiring, unlike normal ballasts.

    http://www.aliexpress.com/item/35W-...Ballast-X35-Can-bus-Eliminate/2040736516.html

    Karl.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2015
  35. adamss24

    adamss24 Registered User

    4,547
    420
    83
    Did you manage to fit the turbo Karl ? I am interested to see what you make of the hybrid- i am thinking to build one of them gtb2260vk with a AMG style turbine and 65mm compressor and try it on myself, however i have a gtb2260vklr with a 65mm 11 blade/GTX style compressor i need to test first... So far i am pretty happy with my current Gtb2260vk with Titanium compressor 10 Blades GTX style...the turbo surges a little on my allroad v6 tdi but nothing major really ! I tend to downshift a gear when i need to pass someone quickly...
     
  36. desertstorm

    desertstorm Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    7,411
    3,704
    113
    Hello Chris, Not fitted yet, Rick who will be mapping it is pretty busy at the moment. Hopefully won't have any issues with surge as I have 20% more capacity than you so more flow.
    I would have thought the VKLR would build boost quicker than the VK so you may run into more surge issues.

    Karl.
     
  37. umbrella

    umbrella Registered User

    10
    3
    3
    Hey Karl, Loving this thread. been lurking around for a good few months following your updates. Great updates. You really have made a great diesel even better. Looking forward to your update on the turbo upgrade and how that will play with the gearbox. everything I have read suggests that the auto boxes on the 3.0 tdi cant handle the power so that's a shame wonder how the manual will hold up.. See how your mod goes..

    Anyawy's I am a proud owner of a 2010 3.0 tdi quottro saloon. Loving these 3 litre engines. Beat the pants off most petrol powered cars all day long:yahoo:

    Have been meaning to post some pics and do some upgrades but never had the chance. Well one of them was a brake upgrade. Never got round to it and now seems I need to do my brakes LOL brakes seem to judder when breaking especially from 50-70 or high speed. braking Thought it may have been a wheel balance issue due to prior pot hole issue. So got them balanced. No joy. Then did full alignment. That didn't solve the judder issue either. So its the brakes I think. I did know the pads needed replacing soon but didn't expect the judder..so need to get the brakes done now ASAP :wtf:my own fault for not staying on top of it!

    So my question to you is:
    You got your brakes upgraded. Confused on your post on that part. Did you get the full s5 setup? discs calipers and pads? as you added a few links to ebay which are different parts..or did you get some separate parts? and addon Budget willing I think i have these options and looking for some advice:

    1. get the standard setup: 320 *30mm front discs and 300 *12mm back discs with pads all round
    2. get the uprated 345 * 30 vented front and 330 * 22mm vented rear (will these fit using the standard caliper and carriers?
    3. get a full s5 brake setup. The discs and calipers with carriers and then pads separate. What would be guestimate of cost on this?

    Looking for the best option but at reasonable price. Not a huge budget at the moment however much i want the best setup :frown new: option 2 would be ideal..sorry for the long post just need the best advice and you seem to be the 'DON' in this area :racer:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 25, 2017
  38. desertstorm

    desertstorm Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    7,411
    3,704
    113
    I got lucky coming across a complete set up that was very close to me at the right price, the parts are very heavy so if it has to be posted it's not cheap.
    With your existing set up I would say that if you changed to some red stuff pads on the front this would get rid of the brake judder. I had the same issues with my car before I upgraded the brakes, Normal brake pad compounds just don't seem to cope with 2 or 3 stops from high speed.

    The calipers on the s4/s5 are the same apart from the fact they are painted gloss black on the S4/S5 . The carriers are what make the difference they space the caliper furter out so you can fit larger discs.
    The carriers are a silly price from Audi so forget about buying them new, second hand calipers and carriers are pretty much always sold together.
    75% of the braking in a car happens at the front. If you are doing the brake upgrade on a budget I would get some S4/S5 calipers and new 345 mm discs with some red stuff pads.

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Audi-S5-F...739?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item3cf9f43c33

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/AUDI-S4-F...939?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item33a3071ae3

    This seller in Germany appers to be selling the carriers seperately for £213 these would fit on your existing front calipers.

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/original-...87?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_77&hash=item3cbf3751ff

    http://www.partsbase.org/audi/audi-...iper-brake-brake-disc-vented/#p-aud-8t0615125

    I bought the 345mm Pagid discs from car parts for less, around £32 each, red stuff pads for the front around £85.

    You could do the rears at some point in the future, The rear calipers tend to be cheaper,

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Audi-s5-s...086?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item235115906e

    So if you bought the 345mm caliper carriers a new set of Pagid discs and some red stuff pads you could probably do that for around £350 , which would sort the front out.

    At some point in the future you could source the rear calipers and do the rears as well.

    Karl.
     
    umbrella and Gaz170 like this.
  39. umbrella

    umbrella Registered User

    10
    3
    3
    THANK YOU Karl..

    That makes a lot of sense! looked on ebay too but didnt come across anything at all. Great that you provided links. Thanks man much easier to fix my brake issues now. Funny must be searching differently to you some how on ebay.

    Looks like Ill do the front first. Most likely get the front S5 calipers and pagid 345mm discs if i can find an option that comes with drilled. Also not sure if i should get drilled and groved OR drilled only OR just plain vented, only vented not my prefered option mainly for looks i think:blink: and i presume that the drilled/groved also come as vented. On the hunt on ebay now.

    Once done thinking I should post some pics. Had the car for over 2 years and done a few things :racer:
     
  40. desertstorm

    desertstorm Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    7,411
    3,704
    113
    I have not come across any cheap drilled or grooved disks. Personally I wouldn't bother with grooved disks anyway, I have had them before and they are noisy as well as make a mess by shaving off the pad surface, which is what they are supposed to do.
    Drilled discs are more prone to crack.All disks will be vented.
     
  41. umbrella

    umbrella Registered User

    10
    3
    3
    yea. looking now and no cheap ones and for that matter hardly any if at all in 345mm.. Guess what I am thinking is if am spending £££ then may as well make sure i tick the looking good box too. most lkely gna stick withyour advice and get the pagid ones. too cheap not to consider.

    Defo gna get the calipers tho. To confirm that no difference in the S4 OR S5 calipers. Both the same and they are same as current ones apart from size of the carriers. just so i dont make the silly mistake of getting the wrong ones he he..
     
  42. desertstorm

    desertstorm Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    7,411
    3,704
    113
    They are the same, the brakes I fitted to my car are off an S5.
    If you want pretty you could stick some of these on :) . £16 delivered.

    [​IMG]
     
    umbrella likes this.
  43. umbrella

    umbrella Registered User

    10
    3
    3
    hey Karl. LOL that sorted me out. nah not after pretty as much as stopping power! pagid it is then with the s5 calipers i think. will post some pics when i am getting it done. again thanks for info and advice appreciated
     

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information