I ran out of talent!!

Andy... big pat on the back for being honest and having the cohunas to say yep my fault etc etc. Hope the rebuild isn't too expensive and that it drives ok after being fixed.

Andy, you're a lucky guy, all things considered. As warrencox says above, you can never have enough driver training, or honing these at track days. And even then, there's always the unexpected -- the debris, the kangeroos (oh, you don't have them :sly: ) or, as may have been the case here, some oil/diesel spilt on the roundabout. The latter is not unexpected, in my experience, so I treat roundabouts with great care...they're not the same as a constant radius corner that you find on a track :noway:

This isn't meant to sound contentious, so please don't take it as such.

I used to think I was a pretty good driver until one day I had a front end tyre blow out on me hitting debris in the middle of a dual carriageway at night. Totally straight piece of road, no other cars in sight. Was I going too fast....yes. It looked like half a broken brick in the road but I never went back to check. I stupidly stamped on the brakes when I heard the front tyre go, car nearly 720'd round up the carriageway and at one point the car tipped up slightly so I did start to wonder if it was going to roll. When all came to a standstill I got out wondering what state the car would be in (an old Mk2 Jetta GTi 16v). 4 kerbed alloys and that was it. The kerbs seemed to keep me in check and saved me for heading off in another direction as I bounced between them. Now I love driving, you can't keep me out of a car, but for a week I just couldn't drive.