How do you drive a Quattro?

funguf

Sunday Driver
Reaction score
I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to fast cars and Quattro, coming from a 1.6 8V Astra I would appreciate any tips you guys might have for country roads/wet/gravel/over taking tips and what gears to use that sort of thing.

I did snakes pass the other day in the wet, that was kinda scary...but fun!

Thanks!

No special techniques required for road use.

Don't forget you still have the same number of brakes as everybody else, so if you go too quick into a corner quattro will not help.

So you want slow in, fast out. You'll find you can put your foot down far earlier than a 2WD and remain controlled and accelerating. Especially for rough back roads.

Generally 4WD also understeers as FWD does but a bit more of a four wheel drift. If you get this on the road I'd say you're pushing way too hard.

Spot on Southpaw66.

Certainly on my previous S3, like most Audi's, it understeered first, to let you know you were approaching the limit. I've had a little taster that my new S3 does the same, but not pushed to far yet. Personally, I have never had the bottle to try the rumoured 4wd technique of "powering through the understeer", i.e. keep your foot-in or give more throttle, power should be sent rearwards and thus cancel out the understeer. But on public roads, it would be stupid to try. Airfield or track would be the ideal place.

AL

AL_B said:
Personally, I have never had the bottle to try the rumoured 4wd technique of "powering through the understeer", i.e. keep your foot-in or give more throttle, power should be sent rearwards and thus cancel out the understeer.
AL

I heard that comment been made also on the WRC Rally.

Would love to try it......but not enough bottle!!!!!

AL_B said:
Personally, I have never had the bottle to try the rumoured 4wd technique of "powering through the understeer", i.e. keep your foot-in or give more throttle, power should be sent rearwards and thus cancel out the understeer.