How did you find your A3?

betnixfx

Reaction score
Hi all,

I try to buy a A3. I'd prefer the 2009 5dr model with low (around 30k) miles. Well, in my area (bournemouth) it is really hard to find one for a reasonable price. My budget is around 12K but the closest car that would match my budget is at least 2-300 miles away from here. I'm running my own business (7 days a week) so i really can't afford to stay away for days just to buy a car. Yes, days because first i'd like to see the car with my own eyes. If i like it i need to book AA or RAC inspection as i'm not an expert... Even if the results are great, i have to go and collect the car. So at least 2 days... But what are the odds for finding the right car the first time?

I saw a few 1.6 petrol within a 20 miles radius but as far as i know this is the one i should avoid as the engine isn't strong enough for the 5dr car. I'm not a racer but i like to move quicker than the average :)

I also saw a 1.8 TFSI with 21k miles in really good condition but they want 15k for it. I just don't think if it is worth 15k. They would let it go for £14250 but i don't think if it is worth more than £12.500.

I tried ebay, Autotrader and local dealers with no luck. After 2-3 weeks of search i saw 1 car. (the 1.8 TFSI)

I'm just wondering if there is any other way (probably online) to find a A3? Would you prefer to buy it privately or from a dealer? Independent dealers, from Audi, or Car supermarkets? What about car supermarkets? I read some horror stories. Have you ever bought a great Audi from a car supermarket?

Any advice would be appreciated.

£12k is not a lot of budget for a 2009 car... The 1.8T sounds reasonable at £14250 with 21k miles on it.

I bought my car from my parents, they bought it new.

If your looking for piece of mind and haven't got the time to go searching for a car then Audi dealer is the way forward really... As said Poole Audi have a good selection...

For example: Poole Audi Dorset - Approved Used Cars