Hold Assist via VCDS

Kalashnikov

Registered User
hey i have an 8v PFL.

is there anyway to program the hold assist permanently on. I don't have the switch or option currently. I sorely miss this option from my A4.

any mods or VCDS gurus outthere ! with the know how!
 

DJAlix

VAG Car Coding™ Limited
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
VAG Can Professional
ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)
You will need VCDS 16.8.1 for this:
  • 03 - ABS Brakes
  • Adaptations
  • IDE05263-AUTO HOLD functionality = Activated
  • MAS01180-AUTO HOLD functional status = Always Active
Cannot remember the actual wording of the options for functional status but it's something close to what I have posted above.

Security Access Code? No idea, but it will be one of the following:
  • 10815
  • 11122
  • 11966
  • 14108
  • 14451
  • 15081
  • 24435
  • 24990
  • 25004
  • 25377
  • 25757
  • 31857
  • 32304
  • 33776
  • 33777
  • 37201
  • 37202
  • 37203
  • 37483
  • 40168
  • 40304
  • 74999
  • 75201
  • 75202
If you manage to get this activated could you please update this thread with the code used please. Thanks! :)

*all of the above codes are genuine and sourced from a PFL 8V ABS module. Many of the adaptation channels within this module require their own security access code.
*will merge this with the main VCDS thread once results are posted.
 

Kalashnikov

Registered User
djAlix thanks for the prompt reply.

i dont have vcds. Anyone in the essex or leicestershire area ?? about this weekend to turn this on ?

PLEASEEEE
 

DJAlix

VAG Car Coding™ Limited
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
VAG Can Professional
ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)
djAlix thanks for the prompt reply.

i dont have vcds. Anyone in the essex or leicestershire area ?? about this weekend to turn this on ?

PLEASEEEE
Welcome:)

Am based in North London if you cannot find anyone closer...
 
You will need VCDS 16.8.1 for this:
  • 03 - ABS Brakes
  • Adaptations
  • IDE05263-AUTO HOLD functionality = Activated
  • MAS01180-AUTO HOLD functional status = Always Active

Will try on my US Spec car to see if this works and let you know which code used (I think its the 401...)
 
Enabled without a code needed. However, code 15081 is for the tire pressure display system.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
 

DJAlix

VAG Car Coding™ Limited
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
VAG Can Professional
ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)
Enabled without a code needed. However, code 15081 is for the tire pressure display system.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Was "Auto Hold" the first change you have ever made within the ABS module, and TPMS the 2nd ever? Reason for asking is I remember activating TPMS without needing to enter a code but anything after I needed to.

It would seem that the first "change" is free but thereafter it costs you a code, and when the question was asked today I actually popped out to my car to check the adaptation channel and when I tried to change it to Always Active I was asked for a code.
 
Was "Auto Hold" the first change you have ever made within the ABS module, and TPMS the 2nd ever? Reason for asking is I remember activating TPMS without needing to enter a code but anything after I needed to.

It would seem that the first "change" is free but thereafter it costs you a code, and when the question was asked today I actually popped out to my car to check the adaptation channel and when I tried to change it to Always Active I was asked for a code.

It was the first change for today, but I've made changes prior.

Changed without access code (other was already set):
  • MAS01180-AUTO HOLD functional status = Always Active

Don't think it does anything for the US cars as I didn't see a difference. When I let go of the brake on a hill, it still crept forward after about a second or two of letting go of the pedal - how it acted previously.
 

DJAlix

VAG Car Coding™ Limited
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
VAG Can Professional
ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)
It was the first change for today, but I've made changes prior.

Changed without access code (other was already set):
  • MAS01180-AUTO HOLD functional status = Always Active

Don't think it does anything for the US cars as I didn't see a difference. When I let go of the brake on a hill, it still crept forward after about a second or two of letting go of the pedal - how it acted previously.
Mind posing up your ABS module data?
 
@DJAlix this?

03 Brakes 1

System description: ESC
Software number: 5Q0907379AA
Software version: 0457
Hardware number: 5Q0907379G
Hardware version: H31
Serial number: 6331300000036A
ODX name: EV_Brake1UDSContiMK100IPB
ODX version: 033001
Long coding: 13FF6A9234200A6D017B030081C629C8562C5080C08194B4024100588608

Trouble codes:
No trouble codes found
 

DJAlix

VAG Car Coding™ Limited
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
VAG Can Professional
ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)
Same hardware and firmware as the module within my current car. The change should have worked but am guessing from the format of the above that you are using ODBeleven, which could be a reason for it not working.
 
I think its because none of the other hardware is present on the car. Similar to the start/stop not being able to be coded into the car, or getting the efficiency mode to actually function like cars from ROW.

When I did an output test, the lights on my dash (the TPMS and ABS) kept quickly flickering, other than that nada. Just assumed another module is needed.
 

DJAlix

VAG Car Coding™ Limited
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
VAG Can Professional
ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)
I think its because none of the other hardware is present on the car. Similar to the start/stop not being able to be coded into the car, or getting the efficiency mode to actually function like cars from ROW.

When I did an output test, the lights on my dash (the TPMS and ABS) kept quickly flickering, other than that nada. Just assumed another module is needed.
Can't see any additional hardware being needed in order for this to work. The button maybe, but the functional status adaptation should bypass this. This is a £75 option in the UK. I have not looked at the workshop diagrams etc but going buy price, £75 only just gets you a set of matts from Audi, I really cannot see an additional module being involved.
 
@DJAlix, ya I thought nothing else is needed, but no one in the US has been able to get this to work otherwise. I'll look at the diagrams in a few to see if I can figure it out. Wonder if this could be a SWAP situation?
 

DJAlix

VAG Car Coding™ Limited
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
VAG Can Professional
ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)
@DJAlix, ya I thought nothing else is needed, but no one in the US has been able to get this to work otherwise. I'll look at the diagrams in a few to see if I can figure it out. Wonder if this could be a SWAP situation?
Maybe. Have just thought of something I can check, but with Vag Can Professional within the firmware of the module. Will check in the morning, well in a few hours lol
 

Kalashnikov

Registered User
Hi tried

Initially accepted any of those security codes. But after going into adaptations and making the change. And hitting do it .

It refuses to accepted. Stating the security code is incorrect /error.

Need a pukka security code for this. Like someone said the first time I tried the abs and traction control lights blinkered a few times.

As the car has epb don't think any additional hardware is required.

Lets get this one cracked !!!!

Ps I have enabled tpms previously.
 

Kalashnikov

Registered User
Don't think it does anything for the US cars as I didn't see a difference. When I let go of the brake on a hill, it still crept forward after about a second or two of letting go of the pedal - how it acted previously.

If it did work , the parking break symbol in the dash would go Green. And this world happen when you hit the brake and stop the car to stationary.

Red means hand brake on
Green means auto hold on
 

DJAlix

VAG Car Coding™ Limited
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
VAG Can Professional
ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)
Hi tried

Initially accepted any of those security codes. But after going into adaptations and making the change. And hitting do it .

It refuses to accepted. Stating the security code is incorrect /error.

Need a pukka security code for this. Like someone said the first time I tried the abs and traction control lights blinkered a few times.

As the car has epb don't think any additional hardware is required.

Lets get this one cracked !!!!

Ps I have enabled tpms previously.
I extracted all of the above codes from my own ABS module, and with the help of the forum they were all tested and found to be valid / accepted. Problem is they have yet to be mapped to their related adaptation channels. Never had one of these codes rejected myself.

Here is my ABS module data:

Address 03: ABS Brakes (J104) Labels: 5Q0-907-379-IPB-V1.clb
Part No SW: 5Q0 907 379 AA HW: 5Q0 907 379 G
Component: ESC H31 0457
Revision: 00000000 Serial number: 62683000000594
 

mikemod

Registered User
Might be interested in trying this, my ABS module from the FL below looks different.

Address 03: ABS Brakes (J104) Labels: None
Part No SW: 8V0 907 379 B HW: 8V0 907 379 B
Component: ESC H25 0610
Revision: 00000000 Serial number: 61916000000325
Coding: 309C938D549B1BAC89970B674192690CC92AD891D082967602410074820812
Shop #: WSC 06314 790 00021
ASAM Dataset: EV_Brake1UDSContiMK100IPB 070001
ROD: EV_Brake1UDSContiMK100IPB_AU37.rod
VCID: 438EF4B7CAC29D5AF5-8016
 

DJAlix

VAG Car Coding™ Limited
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
VAG Can Professional
ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)
What does all this mean for the joe like me. Who wants to enable hold assist.
Different module versions have the potential to have different security access codes and even adaptation channels.
 

DJAlix

VAG Car Coding™ Limited
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
VAG Can Professional
ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)
Might be interested in trying this, my ABS module from the FL below looks different.

Address 03: ABS Brakes (J104) Labels: None
Part No SW: 8V0 907 379 B HW: 8V0 907 379 B
Component: ESC H25 0610
Revision: 00000000 Serial number: 61916000000325
Coding: 309C938D549B1BAC89970B674192690CC92AD891D082967602410074820812
Shop #: WSC 06314 790 00021
ASAM Dataset: EV_Brake1UDSContiMK100IPB 070001
ROD: EV_Brake1UDSContiMK100IPB_AU37.rod
VCID: 438EF4B7CAC29D5AF5-8016
FL Cars are a bit of an unknown at the moment due to the lack of labelling and VCDS core support which generates request out of range errors.
 

thegingerone

Registered User
Can I hijack the thread slightly and ask anyone who has enabled tpms with obd-eleven pm how to do this? Many thanks.
 

Aoon_M

Registered User
Found this? For hold assist:

Coding:
#03 - brakes electronics
-> Login with pin 20103 (attention from mj16 amended access codes)
-> Long coding open and in the following bytes the aforementioned bits activate:
Regions + gear = byte 27, bits 3 (enable)
Regions + Dsg / S-Tronic = byte 27, bits 3 + byte 28 byte 2 (enable)
 

DJAlix

VAG Car Coding™ Limited
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
VAG Can Professional
ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)
Getting this thread back on topic, the idea I had / need to check via VCP was a blowout. If you have activated this and found it to be not working, or you are not sure then I would monitor the related measuring blocks while testing in order to see what's going on. This is a screenshot of VCP but VCDS is capable of this also.

IMG_4402.JPG
 

H17YD L

Registered User
Getting this thread back on topic, the idea I had / need to check via VCP was a blowout. If you have activated this and found it to be not working, or you are not sure then I would monitor the related measuring blocks while testing in order to see what's going on. This is a screenshot of VCP but VCDS is capable of this also.

View attachment 108620

I have just tried activating it the way you mentioned earlier in the thread. I set it to active and then always on. It accepted but didn't do anything
Code I used was 24990
 

DJAlix

VAG Car Coding™ Limited
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
VAG Can Professional
ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)
Was this tested with or without your seatbelt on? In order to work all the following conditions must be met:
  • Seatbelt on
  • Drivers door closed
  • Engine running
 

H17YD L

Registered User
Yes all conditions met. Still nothing, drove round the car park an still nothing. Thought it would work this time as VCDS's update allowed me to see the setting for always active, which I never had before
 

DJAlix

VAG Car Coding™ Limited
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
VAG Can Professional
ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)
Yes all conditions met. Still nothing, drove round the car park an still nothing. Thought it would work this time as VCDS's update allowed me to see the setting for always active, which I never had before
Try live monitoring with VCDS via the Measuring Blocks in order to see whats going on.
 

DJAlix

VAG Car Coding™ Limited
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
VAG Can Professional
ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)
Its the first one... There is something else missing, some module, that looks to be needed. Are you in a US spec car @H17YD L?

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Have just checked through all possible ABS control units (MY14 cars for now) and none are PR code specific for Auto Hold, so this is not hardware limited.

Further investigation would suggest that coding needs to be made in addition to adaptation channel changes. The long coding is yet to be labeled in VCDS but it would seem that changes need to be made within 03 as follows:
  • Byte 08 = 03
  • Byte 19 = C0
  • Byte 23 = F7
  • Byte 25 = 41 (Auto transmission) or 43 (manual transmission)
But... given the above it could be that this feature may well be firmware limited. I would need to see data from a few cars with Auto Hold enabled from the factory in order to investigate further but it might be possible to "upgrade" firmware to enable this feature. Example, these are the available official Audi firmware files for the ABS module 5Q0907379:

Screen Shot 2016-10-30 at 20.19.46.png
 

H17YD L

Registered User
Have just checked through all possible ABS control units (MY14 cars for now) and none are PR code specific for Auto Hold, so this is not hardware limited.

Further investigation would suggest that coding needs to be made in addition to adaptation channel changes. The long coding is yet to be labeled in VCDS but it would seem that changes need to be made within 03 as follows:
  • Byte 08 = 03
  • Byte 19 = C0
  • Byte 23 = F7
  • Byte 25 = 41 (Auto transmission) or 43 (manual transmission)
But... given the above it could be that this feature may well be firmware limited. I would need to see data from a few cars with Auto Hold enabled from the factory in order to investigate further but it might be possible to "upgrade" firmware to enable this feature. Example, these are the available official Audi firmware files for the ABS module 5Q0907379:

View attachment 108679

Do you want me to have a go at changing the coding? Or could that cause problems? Can be a bit dodgy changing the coding if your not sure, especially with no labels!
 

DJAlix

VAG Car Coding™ Limited
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
VAG Can Professional
ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)
Do you want me to have a go at changing the coding? Or could that cause problems? Can be a bit dodgy changing the coding if your not sure, especially with no labels!
Personally I would hold off. The ABS module is largely unknown at the moment and as its safety related I would not mess with it.
 

Wibbly

Registered User
Personally I would hold off. The ABS module is largely unknown at the moment and as its safety related I would not mess with it.

Indeed! Not sure I'd want to be on a road with another car on the same road that had ABS related settings being "fiddled" with and tested with all the rigor of a quick drive around a car park :-(
 
Top