HELP!!!!!

DolbyS3

Reaction score
Driving car to a meeting and all of a sudden lost 90% of power and HUUUUGE clouds of white smoke out the back! Stopped the car and it will start with dabs of throttle but sounds like a heap of Sh!@t and idle is increidbly lumpy! I'm asssuming turbo but could anyone shed any light? Its an S3 by the way.

Thanks

Check intake piping hasn't come unseated.

Check intake piping hasn't come unseated.
thanks so much for the reply, I am a complete novice and wouldnt know how to do that, is there an easy way to check?

Check for any big pipes in the bay & under that may have come loose.

I should also mention there was absolutely no smoke from under the bonnet, just out the exhausts.

Check for any big pipes in the bay & under that may have come loose.
Ive just checked and cant see anything but as I say i wouldnt have a clue what I'm looking for anyway. Does it sound turbo related? and if so could it have done further damage, the car was only driven for around 1 mile after it went. There was also no issue before this, it literally just went bang without any prior warning signs.

Don't think I'd trust driving it any further and would get Audi Assist involved.

no definitely petrol. just prayng its a hose not the turbo, I suppose it will be a good test for anyone wondering about TD1's :frown:!

Had a Turbo blow once on a Works Car.
There was a little "pop" sound and then absolute shedloads of white smoke out the back.

All I could do was coast over to the hard shoulder and then it was tow trucked away.
As it was a Works Car I never saw it again, although heard it had been scrapped.

Car was a few years old though and had high miles on it.
Hopefully, yours will be something more straight-forward.

...and is this why you mentioned TD1? How many miles have you done?