Help with APY to AMK Engine swap

Fizashah

Reaction score
Hello,
i am new to the forum so thanks for having me.
i have a 2001 s3 with an APY engine. The engine is wrecked so need to sort it out. I have found an AMK engine that includes turbo, wiring, ecu, manifold etc. I am a newbie so forgive me but will this fit in my car? If not, what modifications will be required? I have a local mechanic who’s agreed to do the swap for me. Any help is greatly appreciated thanks in advance.

Is your car face lift or prefacelift? not seen a 2001 MY S3 thats an actual APY prefacelift as the first 2001 MY cars were Y reg AMK's....

If your car is a face lift then chances are its had a head or engine swap in the past... if its a genuine 2001 MY APY then congrats as thats makes it quite unusual...

Either way you can treat the doner AMK engine as a bare unit as physically they are the same... as Karl has already mentioned there are a few subtle differences and while fitting an AMK engine itself is not really that difficult, using the rest of the kit (ECU etc) is a little more challenging...

If you don't have the AMK dash cluster then the ECU will need to be immo defeated... if you do have the dash cluster you may also need to use the internal loom or parts of it at least to get it working as the early stuff only used two plugs where AMK/BAM use three plugs for the dash cluster wiring...

Your late APY (assuming it is of course) should have an engine control relay fitted... if not then one will need fitting... the MAF sensor is different between the narrow band APY and wideband AMK/BAM as is the O2 sensor so the AMK/BAM versions will need to be used along with the wiring...

<tuffty/>

Reactions: NHN and desertstorm
2001 apy?

That's new on me.

That car was allot of fun, had it 8 years, it was delivered on back of lorry from Scotland, cost me £21.5k iirc, took for a spin, let an employee drive it, cretin kerbed a wheel, my fault for letting him.