Help with A3 Seats

Morso

Reaction score
Hi - I'm new to this Audi forum, so please accept my apologies if this isn't the correct place to put this request.

I've got a 2005 3 dr A3 2.0TDI Sport, but have unfortunately suffered a back injury and now require a seat with a lumbar support. The original seat is now unbearable.

I've tried ringing round some dealers, but they can't help at all.

Has anyone got any ideas?

Thanks

go aftermarket, you could get them retrimmed but it will depend on how you value your back. I find recaro great and you can get specific subframes for the A3, try googling capital seating.

Hi Steve

Thanks for that - I'll give them a try.

Just had some other thoughts that you may know the answers to:

1. Does an S3 / A3 S-Line seat have a lumbar support and if so will this fit straight in?

2. If it's an electric seat, will the standard wiring loom in my car have the necessary connectors already fitted to enable an electric seat to be fitted?

3. Are the seats from any other Audi likely to fit?

Cheers

The SLine doesn't have the lumbar as standard, i'm not 100% sure but I guess the loom might be there. YOu could try fitting other seats, the A4 Sline has lumbar support and the seats are much comfier, the base is wider so it doesn't cut into your thighs and the back support is a little better, i'm not sure if they are too wide for the car though. I'd still go for the Recaro's they are a much better seat although they don't look oem, saying that the S3 has them as an option. My Recaros in the 1989 XR3 were more comfortable than the A3, I also find leather makes the seats over firm that was part of the reason I got shot of my GOlf.

Lumbar support is an optional extra on all A3/S3 seats minus the S3 Recaros.

I doubt you could fit the lumbar parts to an original seat as it involves a lot of parts and I would imagine the seat itself doesn't come with the fittings just to add the lumbar parts.