Help!! New MMI High Navigation Installation / Audi A3 8V

LEON-ANU

Registered User
I am located in the **** and recently purchased a 2015 A3 8V TFSI with the non-MMI nav. So it will come with basic non colour driver information system (instrument cluster part no: 8V0920860).

So i need to upgrade it with colour driver information system which part number called :8V0920870

Please help!! It is much appreciated!

Please excuse my newness to the forum!
 

ErVaLt

Registered User
Update on my retrofit:
I finally managed to get everything to work after fiddling a bit with the mmi headunit coding.
Adress 5f:
Byte 11 Sound Systerm.
- 01 - Sound system with internal amp (Base system & Audi sound system ***)
- 02 - B&O Sound system with external amp
Bytes 04/05 Sound System Channels
- 00 00 - B&O channels are managed by the external amp so they are not coded on the HU
- FF 0A - Channel configuration for the Audi sound system (***)
- FF 00 - Channel configuration for the Base system
Configuring these will already make your sound work but some functions might still be improperly configured
Byte 02 - Type of car (ex limousine/sportback etc..) for displaying open doors on the instrument cluster
Byte 10 - DAB radio (00 disabled - 11 enabled) I personally bought a farkra antenna and it works just fine if well positioned
Byte 18 - Logo when turning on the car (01 for A3 - 02 for S3 - didn't try anything else)
Byte 15/19/24 - Different car equipments/options - I suggest for these to look up your original coding and with a bit of trial and error properly code your new headunit.

Regarding the previous question. Yes the MMI High (Plus) when factory installed comes by default with the high definition instrument cluster but my car has the monocrome display and it seems to handle just fine the new HU including navigation instructions so no need to swap for a new one.

So at the end of the day yes it is possible to upgrade from a standard MMI to a plus(high) MMI provided that the new headunit is properly recoded.
If people are interested I can write up a better guide on the installation and recoding.
I also would like to thank my friend follo on helping me figure out the coding.
 
Last edited:

Pureangel

Registered User
Writing a guide would be much appreciated by many people including me.. :thumbs up:

I have MMI with standard navigation atm.

Also I would like to upgrade my standard sound system to Audi Sound System.
 

LEON-ANU

Registered User
HI Friend,

Really appreciated and happy to hear about this story.. Yes Please write a guide and share with us. Im also have MMI Radio unit and going to upgrade this with new MMI Nav.

Please help what are need to be consider and if I buy main units will that wire harness compatible with old one?

Please share the guide with us. Thank You.
 

Schizophonic

Registered User
Yes please share the write up. I don't have the balls to do this myself and do trail and error. If you can shed any more info then we would appreciate it.
 

rajeevx5

S3
VCDS Map User
i succesfully retrofitted the mmi high but when component protection was removed the naviagtion locks up. Does anyone know how to activate the navigation?
yhank you
 

nlz242

Registered User
Has any of you guys succeed in getting your navigation activated/unlocked? If yes, how so? Did you have to go thru third-party services ? And can you share which third-parties do it ? I'd be interested in this retrofit (i'm in canada) for my S3 that's running "MMI Radio" without nav.
 
N

Nick Sutton

Guest
Hi guys, very interested in this, does it include the touch sensitive scroll wheel with handwriting recognition??
 

lewart_waw

Registered User
hello , I installed the MMI Navigation Plus High 8V0 035 043 C.
Everything today , but I do not have deans :( . Next week I call Audi to disable the CP .
Is disable the CP I lose my map ??
I am now at the stage of coding MMI . How is security access to the MMI ??

Update on my retrofit:
If people are interested I can write up a better guide on the installation and recoding.
Super, would like you to do guide
 

lewart_waw

Registered User
I have a problem. Today I was at Audi. CP disabled. After new encoding navi is still no sound :(
I do not have the option of sub settings
what you can do to recover Sound system ??

My new coding
1e4f2310cad9ad951ebf6e68778ba376.jpg
 
Last edited:

lewart_waw

Registered User
I'm audi sound system .
the problem with the lack of sound parted resolved. It was damaged unit .
Now it's working :)
I have a problem with the control coercing the sub.
 

ErVaLt

Registered User
I have a theory about the sub control not appearing in the mmi. I spoke with a few people who retrofitted a sub to the basic sound system.... and I believe there is no way to add it if it's not there. Furthermore I believe these settings are preloaded via the firmware when the car is still at the factory.
Meaning that if the headunit you retrofitted came from a car with the basic sound system the firmware of that headunit will not have the sub settings inbuilt. My headunit for example came from a car with B&O hence the sub option came up as soon as I coded FF 0A on the channels.
The only way I see is to flash a completely different firmware but that is unknown territory at least for me since if you brick the headunit with the flash I cant phantom explaining to audi what happened.
 

C39KER

Audi TT MK2 With MSS Street Kit
Hi peoples going to install my one next week just wanted to know if everything is still working? Also have you manage to get the sim card bit to work?
 

C39KER

Audi TT MK2 With MSS Street Kit
10d0f90bf3d95af453e004a66b2b9437.jpg


Hi everything's works apart from the navigation....after a active it drive down the road and it acts out and display what on the picture.
Can anyone help with this?

Do I need to get it hacked or is they something I have missed
 

C39KER

Audi TT MK2 With MSS Street Kit
Hello, I am from Germany and also tried to do this to my car originally fitted with the standard 5.8" MMI. Unfortunately no luck for me.
The parts purchased where:
8V0857273C = 7" Screen
8V0919614D = Center console
8V0035020 = MMI High headunit

After fitting everything (GPS antenna already present), all worked (navigation,touch,bt pairing) but the sound. Everything related to the sound was grey and trying to change volume would bring up the message "currently unavailable". I did not have any component protection warning wich usually is why the sound is muted but i visisted the garage anyway and asked for it to be removed.
Removing CP did not enable the sound and a quick vcds scan revealed plenty of infotainment errors, some irrelevant such as the missing dab antenna, and others regarding the software level of the headunit and the fact that it was not properly coded into the gateway of the car. After two more trips (and more $$ for diagnostic) to two different audi garages I was told there was no way that the headunit could be coded in my car.
The car at this point also started to act up a bit - the fuel gauge stopped working - and i was told to refit everything back to avoid losing warranty.

After putting the old mmi back everything started working again. (fuel and sound)
I dont know if this is a problem of the headunit being the wrong model - maybe too old (are there even different mmi high headunit apart from the one with and without sim???) or the fact that maybe in europe garages have different rules. Anyway if somebody has an idea it would be great otherwise I might have to sell all the parts.

Cheers

This is the post mate
 

DJAlix

VAG Car Coding™ Limited
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
VAG Can Professional
ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)
10d0f90bf3d95af453e004a66b2b9437.jpg


Hi everything's works apart from the navigation....after a active it drive down the road and it acts out and display what on the picture.
Can anyone help with this?

Do I need to get it hacked or is they something I have missed
Would not recommend getting it "hacked" unless you want to continue hacking it every time your car comes back from service / warranty works. You need the NAV activating and licensing via the Audi Online Network.
 
Last edited:

C39KER

Audi TT MK2 With MSS Street Kit
Would not recommend getting it "hacked" unless you want to continue hacking it every time your car comes back from service / warranty works. You need the NAV activating and licensing via the Audi Online Network.

I agree do you know where I can go to get that done?
 

DJAlix

VAG Car Coding™ Limited
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
VAG Can Professional
ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)
An Audi authorised workshop or dealer with access / subscription to the online system.
 

C39KER

Audi TT MK2 With MSS Street Kit
Update guys...everything is now working maps work great speech system works.

will be sorting out the Google maps next just needs activation...happy days
 

nlz242

Registered User
Update guys...everything is now working maps work great speech system works.

will be sorting out the Google maps next just needs activation...happy days

Working maps... did you get the dealer to activate them or what ? When i looked at this project, the reason i decided against doing it is that i had to send the headunit to Australia (from Canada) to get it hacked... so that was not an acceptable option for me.
 

joejacksonuk

Registered User
Hi, Guys

Can someone be so kind to tell me what parts I need and where to get the upgraded 7" screen into my A3 2013 8v , I would like the bigger screen with the nav but unsure as to what part numbers I need to do this and abut confused with people saying different things.

Also someone who would be able to install this close as possible to Nottingham.

Thanks
 

Schizophonic

Registered User
Hi, Guys

Can someone be so kind to tell me what parts I need and where to get the upgraded 7" screen into my A3 2013 8v , I would like the bigger screen with the nav but unsure as to what part numbers I need to do this and abut confused with people saying different things.

Also someone who would be able to install this close as possible to Nottingham.

Thanks

If you wish to upgrade the screen you need to also change the mmi console and the centre console too to the high end.
 

joejacksonuk

Registered User
If you wish to upgrade the screen you need to also change the mmi console and the centre console too to the high end.

I've just purchased the 7" high display, I noticed that all the mmi units have different part numbers, so I'm guessing what ever one I purchase as long as it says high then it will work with any high 7" screen ??. Because some gave different letters at the end ?
 

joejacksonuk

Registered User
Tell me about it not many people forth coming on here to help and still no guide with pics of install either all talk :gun2:.
As soon as I figure it out, I will post for all of you who want to do the same:readit: with contacts too :rock:

I'm on it !!......
 

DJAlix

VAG Car Coding™ Limited
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
VAG Can Professional
ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)
Standard MMI to TechPack is a very involved retrofit which can be costly. It needs involvement from 3rd parties and or dealerships to complete. It's not just a case of source the parts, install and code with VCDS as SWaP/SVM and component protection are involved.

Writing up a complete guide for the end to end process would not be an easy task and will have holes, but if you are going to try the retrofit then you will need to:

  • Source your chosen MMI unit type (revision, with or without connect) for your country
  • Source a new screen
  • Source the controls
  • Source new AMI socket (if you also want USB)
  • Source all the connecting cables / harness
  • Source a copy of ElsaWin to help with pulling your car apart and then putting it back together + wiring diagrams
  • Source VCDS or VCP to complete the needed coding and adaptations
  • Source the Coding and Adaptations
  • Find a dealer or independent garage that can / is willing to remove component protection
  • Find a dealer who is willing to licence and activate the HDD based navigation
  • Find a dealer who is willing to add your new install to SVM so as to avoid servicing issues
 
N

Nick Sutton

Guest
Is this something the site sponsers might look to get involved with?

I respond to emergency calls for the ambulance service, both at work and in my own time as a first responder, and inputting a postcode into the MMI with the wheel is just too damn slow. Input is the worst part of what is quite a good system.

I'm left handed so the touch input is an attractive option to me. The voice recognition is pants for postal codes.
Any suggestions how this can be achieved? Has anyone got a blue tooth keyboard or similar working??
 

iondarie

Registered User
Hello,

A few days ago my friend wanted to make an upgrade from the 5" navigation to the 7" so he purchased all the required parts from ebay and we started the upgrade.

1. Autoscan the car before modifying anything
2. Taking photos from the Long Coding window of the 5F so we dont lose the initial settings
3. Installed the new parts
4. Removed component protection at the dealership
5. Recode the old settings to the new unit

After all the coding when accessing the 5F module all the speakers make a high pitched cracking sound, the sound is rubbish and the subwoofer volume control does not work (you can adjut the volume but the sound does not change).

Also after removing CP at the dealership the maps are now locked.

At this point i don't know what else to try to make the new unit work properly.

Any help would be greatly apreciated.
Thank you
 

DJAlix

VAG Car Coding™ Limited
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
VAG Can Professional
ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)
Hello,

A few days ago my friend wanted to make an upgrade from the 5" navigation to the 7" so he purchased all the required parts from ebay and we started the upgrade.

1. Autoscan the car before modifying anything
2. Taking photos from the Long Coding window of the 5F so we dont lose the initial settings
3. Installed the new parts
4. Removed component protection at the dealership
5. Recode the old settings to the new unit

After all the coding when accessing the 5F module all the speakers make a high pitched cracking sound, the sound is rubbish and the subwoofer volume control does not work (you can adjut the volume but the sound does not change).

Also after removing CP at the dealership the maps are now locked.

At this point i don't know what else to try to make the new unit work properly.

Any help would be greatly apreciated.
Thank you
Based on the above you will have the following issues:
  • Coding and Adaptations will need adjusting as it will not be totally the same as your 5" system
  • Navigation Data will need to be re-licenced / re-activating via a dealership or authorised third party. Expect an approx £500 cost for this.
  • Bluetooth has now been lost as it cannot be re-licenced.
If you can fire me over an email on hello@vagcarcoding.com I might be able to provide a solution for you.
 

wester

Registered User
Hi Guys,

I have a question I am preparing for retrofit process of navigation in my a3.
I woul like to know how to remove center console, I need to replace that smaller panel with el. handbrake, but I would like to do it safe.

I hope You can help :)
 

Vanja

Registered User
Hi Guys

i successfully retrofitted mi mmi 3g to mmi 3g plus. Everything working except my sound - i need to Disable the MOST output for external amp and enable the internal amp - did it with VCDS.

My dealer removed the component protection on the unit and after that Navigation is locked - what is the best solution to unlock this? I would also like to have Audi Connect. What is the procedure for that? Currently it says - service unavailable. Internet is working perfectly on the unit.
 
Top