HELP INFO -Mid Res delete 2.0tfsi quattro special edition

Steve s

Reaction score
Hi there new to audis . I have a 2007 b7 red audi 2.0tfsi quattro special edition estate. Look at doing a mid res delete . I have the pipe work for it just straight pipe as coded welder by trade . Hope someone here has done it And sound ok . In two minds due to being my family car . Went from impreza sti running 380bhp to this . Want it to be a bit off fun for myself .plus family friendly . Hope I can get some help with this . Thanks steve

Reactions: Charlie Farley
IMG 20200626 WA0003

Welcome to Audi's and also to the forum.
Very nice choice of variant and colour if I may say so.:icon thumright:, estate bodies are "Avants " by the way, and also the best choice.:yes:

First off , you may find a straight through a bit too much in a B7, well depends on personal choice really but many do it then change back to a resonated system.

probably best not to be comparing the B7 with an STI as they are worlds apart and having come from a 2006 legacy estate 3.0spec B myself the difference is noticible , for me it was nice but for some its a disappointment, well in standard spec .

B7 has shed loads of potential but it comes at a premium price so beware of hole in the wallet syndrome....:whistle2:

The only problem really with this car is the mid res has seen its day . And was looking into res delete. Like I said have the pipe work and welder experience. As it's a standard system if I delete the res . Will it sound tinny and raspy. Try not to compare to the sti . And that wins hands down . But need a family car now . I have done the rs4 headlight conversion .

Also what potential has these cars got ? In the tuning world

The res is the catalyst I presume?
If so you will need to remap it to delete the o2 sensors.
The car has great potential, with the right hardware, remap and a fat wallet you can reach the 300hp mark. But as Rob (he is btw the most experienced) said "do not compare it to an STi".