1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Google Earth/Satellite Maps

L_G Nov 30, 2020

  1. QuattroPhilG

    QuattroPhilG Registered User

    53
    6
    8
    If your system says Google Earth in the display options the update has not been applied. It should read Satellite Map in the displays options.
     
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. Mivi49

    Mivi49 2017 A4 Avant B9 252 Quattro S-Line

    31
    1
    8
    @Empire. There seems to be some discrepancy between dealers, who is yours? Both York Audi (JCT600) and Audi Digital CS have told me it’s a licensing issue between Google & Audi, and nothing can be done. However @DJAlix on here believes otherwise, and Harrogate Audi (Sytner) tell me there is a FOC upgrade which takes an hour or two. Not sure who to believe but I’ll ask Harrogate to give it a try when the car is serviced next month.
     
  4. Jonfun

    Jonfun 2016 A4 Avant B9 190 Quattro S-Line

    59
    12
    8
    Indeed, exactly the outcome I am hoping for after its trip to the dealership on Tuesday.
     
  5. QuattroPhilG

    QuattroPhilG Registered User

    53
    6
    8
    Keep us posted on that then. Fingers crossed.
     
  6. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,697
    5,120
    113
    Kinda proved my own theory today using a MY16 R8, build date in 2015. If you have the correct MIB system and a valid Audi Connect Licence then you should be good:

    Vehicle Data
    Screenshot 2021-01-23 at 23.40.41.png

    7.jpg 8.jpg
     
    Nightbreed, cuke2u, T-1000 and 2 others like this.
  7. gregpot2000

    gregpot2000 Registered User

    181
    44
    28
    Hi There

    When you say correct, Do you just mean correct gen? e.g mine with Tech pack and VC should be ok?

    or does this mean variation? I've seen references that say the chip set may make a difference, e.g Nvidia is an issue, but the newer one was ok.
     
  8. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,697
    5,120
    113
    Vehicles (other than A6 and A7 4G's) with compatible "equipment" older then the quoted Audi MY17 cut-off threshold, and that have a valid Audi connect subscription work. Have "fixed" both Nvidia and Qualcomm units.
     
  9. QuattroPhilG

    QuattroPhilG Registered User

    53
    6
    8
    That is exactly what the Audi Service Bulletin says:
    The Audi connect service "Google Earth" previously enhanced the map view of the Audi navigation systems with a photo-realistic look. Due to a technical change made by the third-party provider Google, the Audi connect service "Google Earth" will no longer be available from 1 January 2021 for the Audi model series A3, A4, A5, A6, A7, Q2, Q5, Q7, TT and R8 built before the model year 2017. If the model series mentioned were built from model year 2017 onwards, it may be possible to activate the Audi connect successor service "Satellite Map" via a free software update within the warranty and/or guarantee period (licence periods and extensions of the "Google Earth" or "Satellite Map" service remain unaffected). Regardless of the model year, the Audi models A1 and Q3 of the respective first vehicle generation cannot be updated and will no longer support the Audi connect service "Google Earth" from 1 January 2021 onwards.

    However I still have my MY17 S4 in without a clear answer to the outcome of the update. Frustrating.
     
  10. gregpot2000

    gregpot2000 Registered User

    181
    44
    28
    Thanks...mines a little more difficult as well as it was literally one of the first MY17 off the production like in June 2016...so it blurs the lines quite a bit

    Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
     
  11. Empire

    Empire Registered User

    5
    0
    1
    Sorry for the delay in replying. My dealer is Glasgow Audi (Lookers)

    Having had it for over a week now, it’s the exact same as when you use Apple Car play and use Google Maps with the satellite view . It’s really disappointing it’s not as good as before but it’s better than the soulless 3D map. One positive thing is that it now shows the majority of street names on view. The normal version didn’t do that before unless you were close to them.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2021
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. Empire

    Empire Registered User

    5
    0
    1
    2018 Black Edition
     
  14. Empire

    Empire Registered User

    5
    0
    1
    How did it go, mate?
     
  15. QuattroPhilG

    QuattroPhilG Registered User

    53
    6
    8
    Looks good to me.
     
  16. Exx-on

    Exx-on Registered User

    24
    1
    3
    I had my A4 (MY16, with VC & Tech pack) in at Audi Guildford last Monday, asked them to update the car to fix the broken Google Earth view and they said they were not sure if there was a fix available yet, however the issue had been raised by a number of customers.

    I chased them again yesterday for an answer as to whether the older gen MMI units with the NVIDIA GPU’s will have a fix put out for them and, once again they don’t know.

    They’ve apparently escalated it with Audi Germany to see if there is/will be a fix.

    Still waiting on a call back for an answer - will update here once I have one.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  17. QuattroPhilG

    QuattroPhilG Registered User

    53
    6
    8
    Don’t necessarily believe what your dealer tells you. My dealer said no update was available, however after Audi Digital told me four times it was eligible they have given me an email of proof that has been sent to the dealer. My car was made build week 25-11-16. If you contact Audi digital on 0800 279 2884 and give them your VIN they will hopefully confirm or not. Good luck.
     
  18. gregpot2000

    gregpot2000 Registered User

    181
    44
    28
    Hi Again

    I just had the dreaded call from the dealers to say my unit isn't compatible and to cancel the booking. Presuming in their eyes it comes down to the build date of May 2016 and being Nvidia chip. (although still MY17, one of the first)

    When you say you have worked on both versions, is this doing it the official way a dealer would, or doing it a specialist way that only a retro-fitter could?
    What I am getting at, is should I try a different dealer, and push with Audi UK more? or should I actually be considering a retro-fitter like yourself (if you service Yorkshire!) to get this done?
     
  19. Mivi49

    Mivi49 2017 A4 Avant B9 252 Quattro S-Line

    31
    1
    8
    Just the opposite for me. The car was built 08/2016, though not registered until Mar/17. Both York Audi (JCT600) and Audi Digital CS tell me it cannot be ‘fixed’, yet @DJAlix on here and Harrogate Audi (Sytner) believe otherwise. Car is due a service & MOT next month, so whilst I normally use York, I think I’ll take it to Harrogate & ask them to try the sat fix while they are at it. If it doesn’t work then I guess it’s back to @DJAlix, not as convenient, but if needs must etc.
     
  20. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,697
    5,120
    113
    Guys, in a bid to help the forum members I am now going to offer this update for free at my London and Leicester locations. I will post further information up over the weekend.
     
    cuke2u and biggaz76 like this.
  21. Mivi49

    Mivi49 2017 A4 Avant B9 252 Quattro S-Line

    31
    1
    8
    Wow. That’s terrific. I’m just north of York so Leicester would be fine for me. And would be happy to pay your £45 if you can guarantee a fix. Await further info with interest.
     
  22. gregpot2000

    gregpot2000 Registered User

    181
    44
    28
    Thanks mate, I really appreciate the offer with this....and under normal circumstances I would snap your hands off, but with lockdown etc and the 2 hour drive, it's a bit of risk.
    When you get a minute, Please can you check my question earlier today about whether I should push the dealers more? The dealers are only 10min drive from me so it's a bit easier for me to manage currently.
     
  23. Mivi49

    Mivi49 2017 A4 Avant B9 252 Quattro S-Line

    31
    1
    8
    @gregpot2000
    I feel the same. Leaning towards letting Sytner Harrogate have a first try at service time next month, and then @DJAlix if that fails. A few more days won’t make any difference, and a few posts here have mentioned news from Audi soon.
    Where are you located Gregpot?
     
  24. gregpot2000

    gregpot2000 Registered User

    181
    44
    28
    Exactly the same :) if DJ manages to confirm that the only way it can be updated is with a special retrofitters technique, fair enough I'll probably ask for an appointment and discuss further with him, either taking the risk or leaving until the situation changes.
    If he manages to confirm that he is only using the dealer method and they are simply clueless lol then I will keep the pressure on them and Audi UK to sort my booking out.

    I'm in Huddersfield, funnily enough my dealer (Hudds Audi) are Sytner as well! They are saying it can't be done! I have nothing against them, they have been extremely helpful with me, but if "computer is saying no" to them their hands are tied really, They encouraged me to ring Audi UK and pursue further.
     
  25. Jonfun

    Jonfun 2016 A4 Avant B9 190 Quattro S-Line

    59
    12
    8
    Had to reschedule due to the snow :( .. now booked in for the work to be done 2nd Feb.

    Still trying to decipher all of the messages in this thread to understand whether Audi are correct in the assumption that my year/model (2016 with VC) can actually be updated, as I have not idea what MY####/MIB version my car is running .. i'm just not up on my Audi code knowledge :)
     
  26. Mivi49

    Mivi49 2017 A4 Avant B9 252 Quattro S-Line

    31
    1
    8
    My thoughts entirely. I spoke with a guy called Mac at Harrogate last week who only asked for regno & seemed confident of fixing. He said it was a known problem for which there was a FOC update that would take up to a couple of hours. Seemed to dismiss the Nvidia/QualComm issue & software versions when mentioned.
    He may be completely wrong of course, but as Harrogate is only 30min further than York it’s worth trying - it needs service anyway. Also York are pretty poor. Have made 2 more calls & had an on-line chat since last Friday. They don’t let you speak direct to techies, yet no-one has got back to me as promised. And last Feb they fitted 4 tyres badly (balance weights wrong, sealant not cleaned off) & then wanted £300+ for wheel alignment ‘because of the camera recalibration’. Local tyre specialist said ‘ rubbish’ & charged £40!
     
  27. Mivi49

    Mivi49 2017 A4 Avant B9 252 Quattro S-Line

    31
    1
    8
    Hi.
    Build date should be on inside page of Service\Warranty booklet with VIN & all PR option codes. Mine is 08/16, but I’m told it’s MY2017

    To get software versions go to:

    MENU/SETTINGS/Factory server Settings/System Maintenance/Version Info

    To get MMI data, simultaneously press:

    NAV/MAP=Up
    MEDIA=Down

    Hope this helps.

    Curious to hear what @Exx-on gets back from Audi Guildford (Lookers).
     
  28. gregpot2000

    gregpot2000 Registered User

    181
    44
    28
    Just to add re-build dates, the cut over is generally June/July I believe, this is the same for all Audi's.

    The build date changes to the following year at this time, there might be hardly any changes, just minor revisions or changes of equipment etc.

    For example

    My17 started June 16
    My18 started June 17 etc

    Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
     
  29. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,697
    5,120
    113
    Erm there is no special “retrofitter” technique. I apply the update the official way using the genuine dealership tool.
     
  30. Exx-on

    Exx-on Registered User

    24
    1
    3
    Grabbed a snap of the media driver version this afternoon, which seems to be missing the ‘Q’ that I believe shows whether it is a Qualcomm version MMI unit, so I assume I have the older style NVIDIA GPU as I expected.

    I’ll be chasing Audi Guildford again over the next day or so to see if they have answer

    I still also need to ring Audi Digital too!

    [​IMG]



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  31. gregpot2000

    gregpot2000 Registered User

    181
    44
    28
    Thank you! will give Audi UK a call tomorrow

    Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
     
  32. gregpot2000

    gregpot2000 Registered User

    181
    44
    28
    Not really getting anywhere! Audi customer services again checked the detail and apparently it shouldn't be possible.....the cut off is apparently build date June 11th 2016....which will be when MY17 officially started, but mine is a model year 17! just one of the very first, so I'm stuck in this "computer says no" state!

    Incidentally, even the C.S rep said, yeah I've heard people with much older cars than yours getting it done without issues as well, but I can't really do anything when the system is saying what it is. He told me to try a different dealers - I will probably try Oldham.....had a lot of issues with them in the past, but needs must I guess.

    edit: Just tried to make a booking with Oldham....again, same message, the system says it's not available, they will do some more checks and ring me back....ugh! I may just end up taking up DJ on his kind offer if he is sure it can be done, I'm getting sick of this back and forth getting nowhere!
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2021
  33. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  34. QuattroPhilG

    QuattroPhilG Registered User

    53
    6
    8
    As you say Looks like the best option will be getting DJ to have a look at it. I cannot see that there would be any change in hardware within the first few months of a new model variant. Let’s hope you get it sorted.
     
  35. cuke2u

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    13,060
    5,281
    113
    Hi DJAlix, can this be performed remotely? I'd happily contribute towards any costs...
     
  36. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,697
    5,120
    113
    Technically yes but you would need a VAS interface I can use to connect to your car to perform the official guided update, which might make this uneconomic.
     
    cuke2u likes this.
  37. Exx-on

    Exx-on Registered User

    24
    1
    3
    Same goes for me if DJ thinks it’s possible (remotely or not)


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  38. Mivi49

    Mivi49 2017 A4 Avant B9 252 Quattro S-Line

    31
    1
    8
    Me slso
     
  39. gregpot2000

    gregpot2000 Registered User

    181
    44
    28
    I've still not heard from the dealers....please include me dj. A little journey will give me an opportunity to fit and test the new speakers I purchased on advice from the other thread!

    Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
     
  40. Exx-on

    Exx-on Registered User

    24
    1
    3
    Just spoke to the Audi digital/connect team and apparently my vehicle is not on the ‘supported list’ for the update/fix.

    I also asked if there was a fix to at least have to SatNav (without Google overlay) side of things fixes/patched so I can actually use it but apparently there is nothing for that either....

    I then said to the rep that I essentially now have no functioning SatNav in my car with it without the Google overlay and you will not be fixing that? And the answer was once again, no.

    Great customer service Audi


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  41. QuattroPhilG

    QuattroPhilG Registered User

    53
    6
    8
    What. OMG are they sure, I am thought the sat nav should work isn't it just the overlay that is not present. My Sat Nav is fine but just does not have the Earth overlay. It is still being looked at however by the garage even after having confirmation from Audi Digital that it is compliant.
     
  42. A4 SJC

    A4 SJC Registered User

    138
    37
    28
    Just use Google Maps via CarPlay
     
  43. Exx-on

    Exx-on Registered User

    24
    1
    3
    Apparently so, they checked my VIN in their system.

    My normal SatNav (without overlay) works until GoogleMaps finishes trying to load, then it takes over both the VC and MMI screen with just an “Initialising” display , like when your first start the car from cold and it’s loading Nav/maps etc.

    Very annoying!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information