GIAC "PUMP" RE-MAP-HELP

S3 DCX

Reaction score
Hi guys and girls,
Compete newbie to this online forum thing, but I've been on the "outside looking in" for some time now and time has come for me to jump in at the deep end. Here goes.....

Currently I am the owner of a clean, if not a little un-inspiring (nowadays anyway A3 2.0TDI Sport. I have just ordered an S3 which should be in my grubby mits by the begining of may. I have obviously test driven the car before signing my life away and found it an absolute pleasure to drive, yet still can't help but want more of something-torque.

Having driven a TDI now for the best part of two years, it's something that I have become accustomed to, and having looked at the figures and driven the car for myself, it's the one thing the S3 really didn't seem to blow my current motor away with. So I am left with a bit of a dilema!:uhm:
The obvious answer is to run the car in and get the car re-mapped, I'm no expert by any means but I believe that claimed torque for the S3 post-map is roughly the same as the RS4, approx. 420NM (GIAC "PUMP"). However, I'm sure that limping in to the dealership and trying to replace a blown turbo under warrenty would be a non starter as soon as they plug in to the car and realise it's been worked.

I suppose the question I'm trying to ask is just how transparent are the re-maps? I've heard about the flash counter not being affected, could somebody please explain? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers:beerchug:

Some repas don't write on the flash counter I believe Superchips doesn't...

But If you are remapping just because of the torque I would not bother... S3 is quite nice to drive and torque is adequate, pulls nicely from any gear, you can even start from 2nd gear without butning too much clutch....

Performance wise a remap makes sense if you want more power... I opted to leavde my S3 standard... is fast enough. I obviously want a faster/torquier car but will get that on my next car...