1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Faulty fuel level sensor ?

niedzial1983 Sep 30, 2016

  1. niedzial1983

    niedzial1983 Registered User

    337
    136
    43
    Guys need advise on potential cause of fuel level gauge showing 0 . Drove the car an hour ago and had half of tank left but now its showing 0
    [​IMG]

    2006 Audi A6 3.0TDI quattro sline le mans | Daytona Grey Pearl
     
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. Bibbym

    Bibbym Coffee for life

    64
    24
    8
    Funny as my audi is in the garage right now with this fault.
    The computer says its a fault with the sensor. One minute the fuel level says low and another its says empty. Audi walton have left me a boice mail to say its a big job. Lucky its happened under my warranty.
     
  4. bredhurststeve

    bredhurststeve Registered User

    146
    28
    28
    Happens to my A6 and have seen Lots of posts about it, it is to do with the pumps in the tank under the rear seat.
     
  5. niedzial1983

    niedzial1983 Registered User

    337
    136
    43
    Audi Walton is where i was gonna go to fix it . Unfortunately my warranty finished long time ago

    2006 Audi A6 3.0TDI quattro sline le mans | Daytona Grey Pearl
     
  6. niedzial1983

    niedzial1983 Registered User

    337
    136
    43
    And here it is [​IMG]

    2006 Audi A6 3.0TDI quattro sline le mans | Daytona Grey Pearl
     
  7. Darren92

    Darren92 Registered User

    2,469
    649
    113
    Lots of post on a fix and applicable part numbers if you google. Common issue.
     
  8. niedzial1983

    niedzial1983 Registered User

    337
    136
    43
    Happy to say i have fixed the issue .

    Disconnected the battery
    Took the bench out
    Took the bkack covers off .
    Sensor 2 came out and i have cleaned the connectors pins.( passenger side )
    Sensor 1 didnt came out. Only cleaned the connector that goes on the top without removing

    [​IMG]


    2006 Audi A6 3.0TDI quattro sline le mans | Daytona Grey Pearl
     
  9. Bibbym

    Bibbym Coffee for life

    64
    24
    8
    Audi walton have had my car for about 10 days now.

    The repair they say involves taking the fuel tank out etc.

    Ive had the pleasure of driving a new a6 around. Do
     
  10. AndyT306

    AndyT306 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    1,009
    489
    83
    Had this on mine but never fixed it, Audi told me there is a tsb for the fuel tank loom which they have a fix kit for, the kit is cheap the labour isn't
     
  11. viio

    viio Registered User

    56
    13
    8
    I fixed mine a couple of weeks back. There's an audi fix involving crimp connectors on the pumps instead of the faulty plastic plugs. Instead I soldered the joins for a longer lasting repair.
     
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. wayne n

    wayne n Registered User

    49
    2
    8
    I've had same issue with mine, found heavy breaking on an empty road jolted it back to life.
     
  14. NiceblokeniceNfat

    NiceblokeniceNfat Registered User

    48
    8
    8
    Reviving a bit of an old thread... I had this happen a year ago but didn't fix it. Checking my service history it's had 3 or 4 fuel level sensors since new 2008! Would renew but they're pretty expensive... hadn't considered this kit your talking of, any more info on that?
    Also....did you guys find that it plays around with your mpg readout on the dash?
     
  15. bredhurststeve

    bredhurststeve Registered User

    146
    28
    28
    Mine does play up regularly but I took the seat out and had a look at the pump and decided that it was too much far to deal with, I would hate to break something
     
  16. Omy193

    Omy193 Registered User

    479
    115
    43
    An interesting video:

     

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information