Error Free DRL kit for the 8P2 and B7 bi xenons.

t8ups

Site Sponsor
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Hi All.

Some may know for the last 10 months I have been working on a Bulb which replaces the Halogen DRL that is fitted to the Audi A3 8P2 bixenon headlights and the Audi B7 Bi xenon headlights, I set out to do this as the only way to get them working error free is to wire in a resistor or use the canceller boxes which still get hot.

On the 8P2 you can recode the car but a lot of my customers don't have access to VCDS so I started doing the testing with different circuits from my supplier to 1st allow the DRL to work error free and then also combine the sidelight function in too.

So what I have come up with is a Fully plug and play bulb, I have paid for the base of the bulb along with to be exactly the same as the OEM plastic bulb holder so it fits perfect, no modding or nothing, then you plug the 1156 end into the existing DRL holder and a 501 end to the sidelight holder so both are powered when operated.

DRL mode = 100% brightness.
Sidelight mode = 40% brightness.

no coding or any additional wiring is required for this bulb.

The Price is £64.99 posted to the UK for a pair.

Some previews of this bulb:



 

Dani_B19

Audi-sports own special child.
So will this remove the need for a sidelight bulb to be fitted?
 

Rob C

Audi Owner
How does this new bulb differ from the LED DRL / Sidelight bulb I bought from you a while ago? Other than it doesn't need coding?

So currently my sidelight bulb is LED which acts as a sidelight and DRL with the original halogen DRL removed and cable tied in the light cluster.

Does this new LED bulb still require the old halogen bulb to be remove and cable tied behind the light cluster?

Sorry for the questions, just I'm a little confused on how this new bulb works.
 

t8ups

Site Sponsor
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
How does this new bulb differ from the LED DRL / Sidelight bulb I bought from you a while ago? Other than it doesn't need coding?

So currently my sidelight bulb is LED which acts as a sidelight and DRL with the original halogen DRL removed and cable tied in the light cluster.

Does this new LED bulb still require the old halogen bulb to be remove and cable tied behind the light cluster?

Sorry for the questions, just I'm a little confused on how this new bulb works.

Hi Rob.

No halogen bulb or led sidelight requires been connected to the system, just the drl in the middle.

The main benefit of this is for the guys that don't have access to vcds, another benefit is brightness. This system has 4 Cree led's on them, they perform the same brightness as a led bulb with 12 Cree chips on them, as the driver is mounted away from the bulb we have used a better driver to drive the led's as well as putting in the sidelight dim function.

The heat sink is larger and it also has a small fan on it too which will cool the heat sink meaning a longer life.

As a result of this a 2yr warranty to the original purchaser of the bulb will be given for component break down, so let's say a driver goes I will replace the driver as I have done it so it can all be swapped without fuss.

The setup you have is still good, as the Cree bulbs I supply are to the highest spec they can be using the best components out there with around 2% fail rate, but going to this will be an upgrade for you.

Trups
 

Rob C

Audi Owner
If you're going to be at AITP on Sunday I will try and catch up with you to discuss them further.
 

Carlos85

Registered User
Hi Bud.

happy to let you order but yours wont ship in the 1st batch, it will be more 3rd week of OCT as the 1st batch is 40 sets which are all sold.

Trups

Cool, how would I go about paying as the link is dead??


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Carlos85

Registered User
The £45 still bud. I think il leave it as your the last one at this price as I want to get 1st batch out, then when the 2nd is on the way il take more orders.

PM me and il give payment details.

Trups

Ok pm sent


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Squattro4

Registered User
Very interested mate, so these would simply be a case of replacing the current B7 Audi A4 (Sline) DRL bulb with this new one? I'm completely useless with all this so please forgive me! I'm getting confused by this: "1156 end into the existing DRL holder and a 501 end to the sidelight holder so both are powered when operated."
 

t8ups

Site Sponsor
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Still waiting on mine, hopefully turn up soon, if you get them fitted be good to see some pics :)

They are going out in batches of 10 everyday, all pre orders be out by Tuesday.

I have to test and check each bulb 1 by 1, repack and then stand at the post office so it's easier to do them in 10's.

Not long to wait now
 

Jamesh87

Registered User
They are going out in batches of 10 everyday, all pre orders be out by Tuesday.

I have to test and check each bulb 1 by 1, repack and then stand at the post office so it's easier to do them in 10's.

Not long to wait now
Got mine this morning :) must say trups the quality of these looks excellent!
 

dg-1984

Registered User
Before:
tmp_17731-IMG_20161015_150044-857165422.jpg



After:
tmp_17731-IMG_20161015_151545864897614.jpg
 

Jamesh87

Registered User
Look good :) i still get a bulb error on mine so will have to look into that but happy with how they look!
 

dg-1984

Registered User
I'm the same, getting left and right parking light errors, just removed them and put originals back in just now and contacted trups so see what he says.
 

berisen

Registered User
Looks awesome!

Still waiting for mine, Will post images when they are installed.

I assume that I will get error codes on my S3 8p aswell so keep us posted with updates on that :)
 

Jamesh87

Registered User
I'm the same, getting left and right parking light errors, just removed them and put originals back in just now and contacted trups so see what he says.
My error disapeared with the old drls plugged in and everything else left as it was... ive managed to clear the light with vcds for now but i think there is a problem with the drl cancelers have emailed trups who has been very helpful i must add and hopefully can sort a solution
 

Attachments

  • IMG_3185.JPG
    IMG_3185.JPG
    1.1 MB · Views: 109

berisen

Registered User
My error disapeared with the old drls plugged in and everything else left as it was... ive managed to clear the light with vcds for now but i think there is a problem with the drl cancelers have emailed trups who has been very helpful i must add and hopefully can sort a solution
Sounds good, would be great if you could keep us posted. Feels unnecessary to bother trups if you already asked him :) Got a message that my kit is delivered at post office so i will pick it up today but wait with installing until i know how things work out with the light errors.
 

t8ups

Site Sponsor
Site Sponsor
VCDS Map User
Guys.

Seems the small black boxes that have come in this batch are not helping clear the DRL error on some cars.

So to those that I have posted to:
if you are getting an error then there is no panic as I have some beefed up ones coming, you can leave the LEDs in place if you can live with the error, I will send out the new cancellers to those that are getting the error and its just a case of unplugging the ones you have on the DRL side and putting the new ones on, easy fix and sorry. These should be with me by the end of this week fingers cross.

Just PM me full name and address and let me know your getting the error once you have tried and a set of beefed up ones will come in the post for you.

Thanks
 

berisen

Registered User
Guys.

Seems the small black boxes that have come in this batch are not helping clear the DRL error on some cars.

So to those that I have posted to:
if you are getting an error then there is no panic as I have some beefed up ones coming, you can leave the LEDs in place if you can live with the error, I will send out the new cancellers to those that are getting the error and its just a case of unplugging the ones you have on the DRL side and putting the new ones on, easy fix and sorry. These should be with me by the end of this week fingers cross.

Just PM me full name and address and let me know your getting the error once you have tried and a set of beefed up ones will come in the post for you.

Thanks
Is there any way to modify this black box on my own or is it wiser to just wait for the new updated box? I assume that it requires some larger resistors with more resistance to fool the error protection? What is the current ohm-rating on the one thats there and what's needed to make it to work? :)
 

dg-1984

Registered User
Ok I was getting the same issues and have fitted them the error didn't come up with the old drl bulb in.
I fitted them anyway and then noticed the drl switch was set to 0, I turned this to 1 and then switched ignition on and no errors.
Tried again with it set to 0 and the error came back.
 

berisen

Registered User
Look good :) i still get a bulb error on mine so will have to look into that but happy with how they look!

I'm the same, getting left and right parking light errors, just removed them and put originals back in just now and contacted trups so see what he says.
What model year do you guys have on your A3/S3's? I have not tried them on my 2008 S3 yet but will try later today hopefully, just to know what to expect.
 

Jamesh87

Registered User
What model year do you guys have on your A3/S3's? I have not tried them on my 2008 S3 yet but will try later today hopefully, just to know what to expect.
2006 a3 with bi xenons and auto lights... trups has emailed me and believes he has a solution he said it has been fine on some cars and others not, and is going to try more "beefy" cancelers on the drl side of things, best thing to do is try yours and see but of not email him and he will sort it out im sure
 

dg-1984

Registered User
2006 a3 with bi xenons and auto lights... trups has emailed me and believes he has a solution he said it has been fine on some cars and others not, and is going to try more "beefy" cancelers on the drl side of things, best thing to do is try yours and see but of not email him and he will sort it out im sure

Your DRL switch set to on? Mine was off and getting the errors, turned them on and no errors.
 
Top