1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Electro-mechanical power assist 'fault' ?

Badger-a-s Jan 16, 2020

  1. Badger-a-s

    Badger-a-s Registered User

    51
    8
    8
    Hi,
    The electro-mechanical power assist fault indicator on my dash is lit, very faint yellow, ALL the time. It's even still lit when key is out and the car is locked with nobody in it (see pics). For this reason i think it's an electrical issue rather than an actual fault with the power assist. Has anyone ever seen this? We've had heavy rain recently, just wondering if some water may have got in somewhere. Any ideas? Leave it and see what happens??
    It's a 2010 1.8TFSI
    Thanks.

    upload_2020-1-16_17-40-59.png

    upload_2020-1-16_17-41-21.png
     
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. LEE69

    LEE69 07 170 DSG

    2,882
    541
    113
    Normal for white clocks, is a board fault.
     
    Badger-a-s likes this.
  4. Bryant1998

    Bryant1998 Registered User

    894
    390
    63
    I’ve got the same on my S3 but no registered faults
     
    Badger-a-s likes this.
  5. Badger-a-s

    Badger-a-s Registered User

    51
    8
    8
    Really? I've only had the car 4 months and the rear wash-wipe failed then a week later the heater blower and now this.
    My old Golf didn't have a single fault in 6 years!
    Do you suggest I just leave it? I see it every day and it annoys me! :grimacing:
     
  6. Bryant1998

    Bryant1998 Registered User

    894
    390
    63
    I’m not sure to be honest, noticed it a long time ago and didn’t throw a fault, pretty sure it’s always been there. Lee said above it’s a common fault so I’m not gonna worry,
    I didn’t even realise the light was on, I thought it was reflecting another light behind the cluster...

    Faults like yours are just age related, everything has an expiry/usage date, if it’s really annoying you take it to an audi dealership, they should be able to tell you what’s wrong or clear the light etc
    And don’t forget to tell me what happens ;)
     
  7. Badger-a-s

    Badger-a-s Registered User

    51
    8
    8
    QUOTE "I didn’t even realise the light was on, I thought it was reflecting another light behind the cluster..."

    That's exactly the same as me, it's only now that it's so dark that I noticed it!

    I'm going to try and live with it, it's like the first time you dink your alloy, you can't stop looking at it, but after a week or so you get used to it :frowning:
     
  8. Bryant1998

    Bryant1998 Registered User

    894
    390
    63
    Haha yes very true, I’m due a haldex service soon so will mention it to them and see what they say, will keep you posted
     
    Badger-a-s likes this.
  9. Badger-a-s

    Badger-a-s Registered User

    51
    8
    8
    Nice one, thank you :thumbs up:
     
    Bryant1998 likes this.
  10. SootySport

    SootySport Registered User

    4,229
    1,140
    113
    Badger-a-s likes this.
  11. Badger-a-s

    Badger-a-s Registered User

    51
    8
    8

    Seems quite common. I'm going to check the steering rack connections then maybe the cluster PCB then I might pull the fuses one by one and see if it goes out, this might throw some light on it. Pretty sure it's the cluster though. I've seen second hand clusters for reasonable prices but wondered how much someone with VCDS is likely to charge to recode it for mileage and immobiliser etc??
     
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    32,306
    2,510
    113
    It's s cluster PCB fault as advised on some facelifts, nothing to do with the rack, either cluster swap or repair.
     
  14. Badger-a-s

    Badger-a-s Registered User

    51
    8
    8
    Thanks very much. Any idea of cost to recode?
     
  15. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    32,306
    2,510
    113
    Half hour at dealer, if new cluster it's £7-800 odd.

    If used, Audi may not allot it to code as tried before & where they used to, they didn't do one for me as bag seemed to have either blocked it or had an issue with the system.

    So used also needs mileage correction which is between £50 & £150 depending who & where.

    ECU testing are a company to talk to but overall if it works & you're not bothered, then leave it for now.
     
  16. Bryant1998

    Bryant1998 Registered User

    894
    390
    63
    Surely if it’s a fault then audi should be fixing the problem for free?
     
  17. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    32,306
    2,510
    113
    If it can be shown to be a consistent & often faulted component, you could ask vosa or other owners to start a claim with Audi, but most don't want or need the hassle.
     
  18. Badger-a-s

    Badger-a-s Registered User

    51
    8
    8

    Thanks for that, I found a cheap cluster and just assumed it would be straight forward with VCDS. I found ECU Testing with a Google search last night. Might just ask for a quote. Cheers.
     
  19. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    32,306
    2,510
    113
    £120 plus vat & delivery to send both sets & copy mileage & immo data over.
     
    Badger-a-s likes this.
  20. Badger-a-s

    Badger-a-s Registered User

    51
    8
    8
    Thank you.
     

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information