1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

EGR Delete Why?

Ianski68 May 31, 2017

1. Ianski68

Ianski68 Active Member Team Mauritius Audi A4 Audi Cabriolet Owner Group TDi S-line owners group Manual

so as a total noob, i see a lot of people saying that the EGR delete is the best basic mod you can do! so three Questions:

1/ WHY?

2/ i have a A4 2.0TDi 140 BPW engine. i am not a boy racer just love cruising the country roads with the top down, would i benefit from doing this?

3/ on my engine what would be involved?

i am sure this is a well versed subject....

2. Avatar

Google AdSense Advertisement

3. DieselJake

DieselJake Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

1. It cloggs up.

2. Yes.

3. EGR delete kit, maybe mapping out too unless you use a small pipe to trick the ECU.

4. Ianski68

Ianski68 Active Member Team Mauritius Audi A4 Audi Cabriolet Owner Group TDi S-line owners group Manual

a dlete kit for my engine, where would i look for one? obviously i imagine that there are many versions. i know on my engine it slides into the top of a manifold and has a rotating valve where as others sits between the manifold and shudder valve etc....

egr.jpg

5. Ianski68

so i have had my car 2 years, never cleaned the EGR. if i clean it does it have a gasket that will need replacing or does it have a re usable type one (copper etc)

i did say i was a total noooooooooooob lol

6. Toblahoe

Toblahoe Active Member Team Phantom Audi A4 Audi Avant Owner Group TDi S-line owners group

Following this thread because I am interested in doing this myself.

7. Ianski68

This is a VW but has the same engine as mine. EGR looks simple to clean, but still would like to know if a delete would be better and info on parts etc..

8. Ianski68

Well if the man in the video can do it I can too.

So I did. This is what I found.
    IMG_8737.JPG

I was so pleased after I had cleaned and polished it I forgot to take o photo! Derrrrr