Edgar's A4 B7 2.0TFSI BT Build

antwan64og

Registered User
Is that not fuel cut Edgar?

What does the lambda readings look like?
Requested versus actual.

I know you can adjust the LPFP if needed
 

i3oricua

Registered User
Is that not fuel cut Edgar?

What does the lambda readings look like?
Requested versus actual.

I know you can adjust the LPFP if needed
I believe it is but I'm honestly not sure. I can't pinpoint the source at all. I'll post some of the log info later and see if you see something I'm not.

Edgaf

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
 

i3oricua

Registered User
Got my new cam roller conversion on. What a pain, but mainly because of the fuel lines that have to be bent and get in the way. I got everything together the first time and had a huge fuel leak at the banjo bolt. Took it apart, did some things, and got it all back together again. No more leaks that I can tell.

You can see in one of the pics that I repositioned the HPFP sensor to the other side or it would be in the way.

Battery died on me for some reason so I couldn't take it out. Hopefully by the time I'm done writing this the battery will be charged up.

7e0e4fcff51c7d62ece942cd7cdbcc2f.jpg
ff09279d207032fd554e719ba1bf3432.jpg
4bd96ba89c598a91c776d1b9fadbbf29.jpg
aebc7002d73018f1a47e1ab3d9a919f7.jpg
d0891c0559c30191f349e7ebe7f2799e.jpg
cfcc7b57b3cf6118e4ee56921878e0c5.jpg
c431f5f27d615991ce87dd9be1ac8871.jpg
9c92ca54a949da30c46c2fe65ea224ae.jpg
84cbc51dd6f303d852112b6af55c19a6.jpg
 

I'm Just Rob.

Moderating or something,
Staff member
Moderator
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
I have seen that roller mod for other engines but wasn't listed for the B7.
I'm bit confused Edgar, if the fuel pump is the same and the cover is the same how come the fuel lines were so problematic .
 

i3oricua

Registered User
Tapatalk does some weird formating to the pictures when you view the post in the browser.

I have seen that roller mod for other engines but wasn't listed for the B7.
I'm bit confused Edgar, if the fuel pump is the same and the cover is the same how come the fuel lines were so problematic .

It's not shown very well Rob but there is an extension/spacer that is between the housing cover and the fuel pump which pushes the pump a little bit to make room for the new roller. That spacer pushes the pump up and the fuel lines are not in their original location so you have to bend them but the coolant pipe on top of the manifold is in the way.
 

i3oricua

Registered User
Just a portion of my log while trying to do a 3rd gear pull. The full log might be better but I can only post this in pieces. I think its hardware related, the new cam maybe, but I don't know where to start. I've changed the HPFP and rail thrust sensor as well. New LPFP "should" be fine. Maybe it's the new PRV? I don't know. I guess I could put the old one on and see. It's just such a pain to change.

Log Screenshot 1.png
Log Screenshot 2.png
Log Screenshot 3.png
 

I'm Just Rob.

Moderating or something,
Staff member
Moderator
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
Ah right , now I understand, and given how awkward those fuel lines are with the normal fitment , it must have been a right knuckle scrapper.
 

antwan64og

Registered User
Edgar, above 5000rpm requested AFR isn’t being met; ignition angle and boost is being cut as protection.
Hpfp requested versus actual is met though so no idea whats going on there
 

i3oricua

Registered User
Stardate log 348...toilet paper is running low and the crew is getting restless. I'm fearing a mutiny is nearly upon us...

Went through the engine checking hoses and stuff to make sure I was leak free. Found a small tear in a hose, just clipped it off but shouldn't have affected anything.

Took my headlight off and fixed a problem I was having with it.

Since I had the bumper off and some spare carbon fiber vinyl in the garage I decided to try to wrap the cupra lip. Not too bad. If I could offer a piece if advice in anyyine does this in the future. Cut a bigger piece to work with than what will be left in the end. This will allow you to trim what you don't need. Use a razor for trimming. And the heat gun helped a lot. My daughter helped a lot or else it wouldn't have came out good at all.


3e181931da3c0c0722ddeb7b1d0f2be9.jpg
8edf14898d85f6e33b26856d50f14a73.jpg
a4438036ad8d6aedf562fab4f931a372.jpg
e2dad09e2111f7c75049d6f8659d1026.jpg
c19b7eb5f24a4ebe61a6ae9f7db77009.jpg
263450f0b344d5753b3d070ee1b86324.jpg
 

Stuart Bennett

Registered User
Spent the last few days working on my grill. Did some cutting. Some hacking. Some priming. Some painting. Went to the store and asked them for the ugliest black they had and so they gave me the can below so I could use it on my grill. Just got a few finishing touches I need to do to it but it’s coming along. In the meantime the weather is nice so I’ve been riding my bike.

6d212316653532134202505432a9ea24.jpg
a8758df375f122daab249d5422b166bc.jpg
a9419aa66e3e725f39f5f09d2dca8f3a.jpg
eb6d9033fe94af37b143905acb4cdf17.jpg
388d51e3e8329894d0ab20f77503707e.jpg
f52e870662bf05f2d5bce6d16ca19cd7.jpg
3fb4816e0bc55d0616b04d53ea68f3ba.jpg
d10ad58911558741393c29cb612d6818.jpg
fd7b030c34547e12c128f03f0cd3d4d5.jpg
b4ecfeeb1f181e68539b3e1e4c02178d.jpg



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I’m just about to start this mod I have a spare s line grill so going to cut it out like you did, where did you get the mesh was it from a RS6 grill you purchased as I can’t find just the mesh anywhere?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

i3oricua

Registered User
I’m just about to start this mod I have a spare s line grill so going to cut it out like you did, where did you get the mesh was it from a RS6 grill you purchased as I can’t find just the mesh anywhere?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yea. Bought a RS6/C7 grill from Ebay and cut that up. Make sure you cut a little bigger than you need and trim down a little at a time.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
 

i3oricua

Registered User
Wow. Those previous pics turned out crappy. Thanks Tapatalk.

New RS4 injectors arrived today along with the 0.75 meth nozzles. Installed new nozzles onto the manifold and opened up the fuel line by drilling it out slightly. Let's see if that helps any or just makes things worse. Swapped over some the injectors clips and called it a night. Not feeling great and/or motivated to put everything back together.

Also got a new rear timing chain since I plan on seeing if the old one is rubbing against the new roller conversion housing at all. I don't suspect it is but I want to look at everything while the engine is slightly disassembled.

Also got my new oil pressure gauge in. Waiting on my dual gauge vent mount to arrive so I can install it and wire it in. No rush on that but it'll be nice to be able to monitor some of that data.


79dd153b240d965e36c0d4662d52c983.jpg
059ad9185eb1f60dc9d16d34e836339c.jpg
f89224aaf367cdaa389402d71d22c453.jpg
7a7b3a7829a5329ad0050edfed3b1615.jpg
5e56d16d65ecff7f159236660450dcf1.jpg
437e7b717d05c087d1295489a2d22afc.jpg
888fb9f10a5b01e0049ca162474ad402.jpg
51d1f63b6b2e38b62dfeafc83d84afe6.jpg
6b4496fdeff2e2695cb3d0e0815b7900.jpg
 
Last edited:

I'm Just Rob.

Moderating or something,
Staff member
Moderator
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
making progress Edgar, hope you feel better tommorow.:icon thumright:
 

i3oricua

Registered User
Slapped all my logs into a Google Drive folder for those really bored quarantined person. Should only be viewable but you can probably save a copy and click, scroll, and modify data just because. If you have questions about a log just ask and I'll try to remember what was going on during that log.

I'll try to get some Torqbyte controller logs in the folder too so you can view the LPFP data but you have to use their software to scroll through and look at it. VCDS is not accurate when viewing the Torqbyte controller data.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1_bXB3uNFx3lK6kWe7oLqL0oIGYZhH3Ub
 

i3oricua

Registered User
Rando thing I did this weekend because I had time and the name of science. Nothing crazy but I have an old broken HPFP and wanted to know what it looked inside so I took it apart using basic tools and the pictures below show you what I discovered. Nothing crazy, the top valve can be taken apart without causing damage to anything. Nothing is really interconnected, they all have their separate chambers so in theory if you had one bad pump and are getting the N275 code then you could just swap it over from another bad pump if it didn't have the same problem. Just a thought.

461002ec734f5f3923c96c6b4fb63531.jpg
87177c2e71b658ff95f5a30c70ba8628.jpg
404886a68ff1c3e959add01a3f428700.jpg
0486123b23ce83d1ab9a597ee4ff6f46.jpg
d84a724a3c8a9fb62e5adb4ff3e86863.jpg
30f0c8e78affc78bafea15b4b43a5cc7.jpg
b4b41ed1f083384a9ee94be86ac05cce.jpg


Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
 

I'm Just Rob.

Moderating or something,
Staff member
Moderator
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
That's handy to know Edgar.
 

i3oricua

Registered User
Installed my new head unit. One of the Xtrons. Huge upgrade over my S100. Don't get me wrong, the S100 was great but this is so much quicker and has so many more functions.

c4f0656245d23e8b0daf721c0d901c0e.jpg


Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
 

i3oricua

Registered User
Not performance related at all because I'm waiting on my new spark plugs and coils and mail delivery is slow right now. I understand though.

Freshened up and repainted the caliper.

Also replaced the bezels on my headlight switch. Cool.

fa02fea301f8720c46014dacc0d0a397.jpg
30dd6c3f77ca8ee5fd7abe1df0954eed.jpg
ed895160306a09ba11d0936079c77c0a.jpg


Edgar


Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
 

Pie-eyedpiper

Registered User
Where did you get your bezel replacement from? My paint is coming off.
 

i3oricua

Registered User
Where did you get your bezel replacement from? My paint is coming off.
Got it off of eBay. Pretty cheap and fairly easy to install. You have to cut the old knob off but not a big deal. There's a two minute video on YouTube that explains it all. Beauty is I get to keep my stock light switch.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
 

Pie-eyedpiper

Registered User
I was watching a Chinese one on Fleabay, but wasn't sure of the quality. If you reckon they're ok it's good enough for me.
 

i3oricua

Registered User
I was watching a Chinese one on Fleabay, but wasn't sure of the quality. If you reckon they're ok it's good enough for me.
Yea i think it's fine. It's just the bezels and they're fairly cheap. The stock ones looked bad so really can't lose for the price.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
 

Ricky Burrows

Registered User
Installed my new head unit. One of the Xtrons. Huge upgrade over my S100. Don't get me wrong, the S100 was great but this is so much quicker and has so many more functions.

c4f0656245d23e8b0daf721c0d901c0e.jpg


Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
Looks really nice mate I love the clean look minimal buttons (the opposite to the b7 centre console) lol, I used to have an xtrons flip out dvd cd player about 5 years ago when I started driving they wasn't very known then and I thought it was slow and sound actually got worse over the stock stereo so as a result so I've been put off xtrons ever since but if you have seen an improvement that's good as they seem to tick all the boxes and by sounds of it they have improved massively over the years so Ill look into getting one now :) do you have a link for the one you used?
 

Ricky Burrows

Registered User
Installed my new head unit. One of the Xtrons. Huge upgrade over my S100. Don't get me wrong, the S100 was great but this is so much quicker and has so many more functions.

c4f0656245d23e8b0daf721c0d901c0e.jpg


Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
I used to have an xtrons flip out dvd cd player about 5 years ago when I started driving they wasn't very known then and I thought it was slow and sound actually got worse over the stock stereo so as a result so I've been put off xtrons ever since but if you have seen an improvement that's good as they seem to tick all the boxes and by sounds of it they have improved massively over the years so Ill look into getting one now :) do you have a link for the one you used?
 

i3oricua

Registered User
I used to have an xtrons flip out dvd cd player about 5 years ago when I started driving they wasn't very known then and I thought it was slow and sound actually got worse over the stock stereo so as a result so I've been put off xtrons ever since but if you have seen an improvement that's good as they seem to tick all the boxes and by sounds of it they have improved massively over the years so Ill look into getting one now :) do you have a link for the one you used?
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/254388630288

This is the one I bought. There is one version up that looks exactly the same but has a slightly different change to it which let's you modify the firmware and load custom OS if you're into that. I would have bought that one had I known a little more before. It's not much more and a slight upgrade.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
 

i3oricua

Registered User
Installed my oil pressure gauge and got it working. Man I made this install hard on myself since I insisted on doing it all from the top. Came out fine. Luckily I ran all the wiring last week when I did some other stuff so it was easy from that standpoint.

On another note, after some reflection, I think my intake manifold probably has a vacuum leak. I'm going to do a vacuum leak test and probably just change the whole thing out. Reason I believe this is because the manifold that is there is one that had a bad leak before but I couldn't figure out from where.

Either way, I found a smoking deal an the Integrated Engineering intake manifold so it will be here in a short amount of time. I'll just ride out the suspected leak until it arrives and install the new stuff (new to me).

cbad3395c6e31b36353d96b1ab6ce410.jpg


Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
 

i3oricua

Registered User
Got my new (to me) intake manifold in today. Cleaned it up and started figuring out how things go together. It came a little grimy but it cleaned up fine.

I need to figure out how the bottom coal and N80 lines get hooked up. Doesn't make any sense to me at all without eliminating it all together.

Had to shave the edges of the fuel rail to get it to fit. Nothing a Dremel couldn't take care of.

Last thing is figuring out the gasket, particularly the one at the throttle body. Doesn't seem to fit perfectly in the groove. And the gaskets on the head side are kept in place with some gasket maker or silicone by the previous owner. He said they would fall out and couldn't get them to stay in long enough to get the manifold on but didn't effect performance.

Not going to install until we get the fueling figured out. Don't want to introduce something new right now when we still have kinks to work out.
e3003c483728076fb7ce6ddd75178cc4.jpg
9632181615670e4329f2a0043e9d3b16.jpg
38f50a6d3306dee5c064465788f1a7cc.jpg
35fb4c392a26a059ff6b478cbfe842fb.jpg
fac11c39e6e8d2007f366a7de257ad6f.jpg
8de2e6b5544df873ca911387bfa3fed1.jpg
181435e48e5bc5aa38117f4b50d941f4.jpg


Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
 

Ricky Burrows

Registered User
Got my new (to me) intake manifold in today. Cleaned it up and started figuring out how things go together. It came a little grimy but it cleaned up fine.

I need to figure out how the bottom coal and N80 lines get hooked up. Doesn't make any sense to me at all without eliminating it all together.

Had to shave the edges of the fuel rail to get it to fit. Nothing a Dremel couldn't take care of.

Last thing is figuring out the gasket, particularly the one at the throttle body. Doesn't seem to fit perfectly in the groove. And the gaskets on the head side are kept in place with some gasket maker or silicone by the previous owner. He said they would fall out and couldn't get them to stay in long enough to get the manifold on but didn't effect performance.

Not going to install until we get the fueling figured out. Don't want to introduce something new right now when we still have kinks to work out.
e3003c483728076fb7ce6ddd75178cc4.jpg
9632181615670e4329f2a0043e9d3b16.jpg
38f50a6d3306dee5c064465788f1a7cc.jpg
35fb4c392a26a059ff6b478cbfe842fb.jpg
fac11c39e6e8d2007f366a7de257ad6f.jpg
8de2e6b5544df873ca911387bfa3fed1.jpg
181435e48e5bc5aa38117f4b50d941f4.jpg


Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
Hopefully you get the issued ironed out, intake manifolds are defiantly a great performance upgrade a lot of people over look especially in the b7 as there un heard of, how much hp do you think your gain from it? Going back to my type r days it was always a top mod to get done and easily seen 15hp gains peak after mapping
 

i3oricua

Registered User
Hopefully you get the issued ironed out, intake manifolds are defiantly a great performance upgrade a lot of people over look especially in the b7 as there un heard of, how much hp do you think your gain from it? Going back to my type r days it was always a top mod to get done and easily seen 15hp gains peak after mapping
On their site they say around 20-30 something hp or more. We'll see. I'll likely never really know because by the time I get it on a dyno it will be fully tuned so I'll never see the progression of mod increases.

I normally wouldn't have bought this but it was a deal I couldn't refuse.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
 

Ricky Burrows

Registered User
On their site they say around 20-30 something hp or more. We'll see. I'll likely never really know because by the time I get it on a dyno it will be fully tuned so I'll never see the progression of mod increases.

I normally wouldn't have bought this but it was a deal I couldn't refuse.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
Defiantly a worth while upgrade either way :icon thumright:
 

i3oricua

Registered User
Long time no post. Still having my misfire problem. Tried a few things troubleshooting wise. Cleaned up the MAF, swapped the thrust sensor with a spare I had. Ordered a installed the sensor in the HPFP. Tried it doing those one at a time and no improvement. Even swapped the APR HPFP piston over to a spare HPFP and still no juice.

Tuner says the MAF readings look off so we did a lot with the MAF disconnected and it points to the MAF. New one in the mail a d expect it any day now.

Ordered some new water meth nozzles for my IE intake manifold. It'll take a few weeks as they're built on request I guess.

Fingers crossed the MAF fixes all my problems and we can move forward tuning.

29ea4abdf753fa5881c3b932046b1004.jpg
c0709fbf20a46c3431e13f4b5af0c722.jpg
70834b240cc169ddc5d2f4792a2dbf2a.jpg


Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
 

i3oricua

Registered User
Installed poly bushings in the lower control arms today. Took me a few times to figure it all out, particularly how to push them out since I didn't have all the right sized tools. Got one of them wrong the first time but managed to fix it and get it pushed in correct. Haven't driven the car yet so no comment if it's a better feel or not.

Been chasing some sort of power or fuel cut at WOT. Always happens around 6600rpm. No idea why. Going to try some different spark plugs and see if that helps. Haven't found any leaks anywhere so I'm at a complete loss. My limiter is set to 8000rpm but I can't get to it.
2f485ebd5e547c154f11bc45f241543d.jpg
7bfa2c60c50998a11479540d70c53cd8.jpg
61da2e039544274629509d4cabf632b1.jpg
a797c2c16363aa8caf0bb581f4497ced.jpg
e0c50acd3aa839fbf010075fdc7af4df.jpg
d59289d1d8b12d8f3a7837e41ecd6525.jpg


Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
 

I'm Just Rob.

Moderating or something,
Staff member
Moderator
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
making progress Edgar.:icon thumright:
 

Pie-eyedpiper

Registered User
How do you push those bushes in? With a press?
 

I'm Just Rob.

Moderating or something,
Staff member
Moderator
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
That is one way if you have a press, or use the thread rod with a socket and washer method, a bit longer but still does the job.
 

i3oricua

Registered User

norad97

Registered User
I get that using polly bushes is better, but I have found it's the ball joints and rubbers that wear out,
so is there a replacement for these?
 

i3oricua

Registered User
I get that using polly bushes is better, but I have found it's the ball joints and rubbers that wear out,
so is there a replacement for these?
I don't know. I've never looked. It would be nice if they made some replacement ball joints. I'll have to like around now and see.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
 

I'm Just Rob.

Moderating or something,
Staff member
Moderator
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
I don't think the ball joints themselves are a user replacement part, the bushes are but otherwise its a complete assembly .
 
Top