Detailing question

Ian_tdi

Reaction score
As many of you seem to be keen or pro detailers I have a quick question. I have some swirl marks on my car from previous owner obviously loving a £5 hand carwash special but I was wondering if I can remove these swirl marks without visiting a pro detailer as I cant afford that or by buying a da and risk screwing up my paint work!

Any tips on technique/products that will help me achieve this by hand?

Thanks

you wont do it by hand mate you can buy a da for under £150 with a menzerna pack and that will do the trick as i nothing else will go near vag paint as its so hard try i4detailing or elite car care for the kits

Polished bliss have some very good guidelines in the detailing section mate. Where abouts are you from. Someone near you may be able to lend a da polisher.

To be honest it's as much the chance of messing up my paint as i have never used a da before either. I'm from Hampshire btw.

Hi, mine was a right mess with swirl marks everywhere (check out post 3889 in the pics of yours thread). Detailing is not cheap but will bring your cars paint back to life. I don't think it's something I would mess with myself as you could easily cause more harm by taking off too much lacquer at a feature line or corner. Go to a reputable detailer who's on here they will have pint depth gauges and all the equipment to do a top notch job.

if you mess it up your really stupid just do it slow and keep the da moving on the panel you can not mess it up with a da

As said its not like a rotary, da are quite easy to use on a lot less likely to do any damage. I'm mids btw.

Ok will think about saving for a da, will the polish in that kit get me started and help with removing the swirls? I have seen a da for £99 so could get that plus suitable polishes that would perhaps be easier/better to use?