Def code on clocks

boardy1987

Registered User
Hi guys need a bit of help. I disconnected my battery and def came up on my dash. Can any1 tell me how to fix this as it wont let me use my trip computer now.
Cheers
Ryan
 

Attachments

  • uploadfromtaptalk1420210013245.jpg
    uploadfromtaptalk1420210013245.jpg
    800.1 KB · Views: 1,041

boardy1987

Registered User
What do u nean reset the car mate? As in disconnect the battery and leave over night? I ran a scan and its not throwing up anything
 

boardy1987

Registered User
No joy mate im goanna let it sit overnight to see if that does anything. Hopefully that will sort it
 

Broken Byzan

Photographic Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
VCDS Map User
the dash memory is faulty, either new dash time or ignore. You might find a mobile guy that can re flash it if you are lucky
 

S4_dan

Fire up the Quattro!
VCDS Map User
What do u nean reset the car mate? As in disconnect the battery and leave over night? I ran a scan and its not throwing up anything

Did you use vcds and did you check the instruments module?

Using a generic scanner won't be able to read any module other than the ecu.
 

boardy1987

Registered User
I ran a full scan on the car mate using vcds the only thing cane up way the hydraulic engine mount. It was fine then just came up def when i started the car. How would i fix the dash thing or what? Would it be a dear fix?
 

S4_dan

Fire up the Quattro!
VCDS Map User
Did it connect ok to the instruments? I would select the instruments module and do a scan. Rather than do an auto one and double check, You can do output tests too once connected.
 

boardy1987

Registered User
Just done a scan and came up with this. Ross tech says its to do with airbags etc. Is there anything else i can do? It sounds bad like
 

Attachments

  • uploadfromtaptalk1420224116564.jpg
    uploadfromtaptalk1420224116564.jpg
    5.5 MB · Views: 1,235

S4_dan

Fire up the Quattro!
VCDS Map User
That code can sometimes be logged with a poor battery or aftermarket HID's affecting the car's ECU's when initialising.

Get your battery checked first. Can you clear the code?
 

S4_dan

Fire up the Quattro!
VCDS Map User
Ok, scrap my above comment. The code I was referring to is different, but the wording is the same. Happened on my A4,

If the code won't clear then the Air Bag controller Module is faulty and needs replacing. You must replace with same part number and it will need programming in with VCDS.
 

boardy1987

Registered User
It wont let me clear it mate. When i tried that it just came back up. Il try another battery tomorrow aswell and see it that works. What tests can indo on vagcom. I was in adaptions etc but not 100% sure what im looking for but in the mileage/odometer menu chanel 9 its no available. Would that be anything to do with it?
 

boardy1987

Registered User
In my airbags mate theres no fault code how do i get at that module mate? Also how do i find the part num?
 

S4_dan

Fire up the Quattro!
VCDS Map User
Just been doing some googling with the above code.

Low battery can cause this to occur. So it is worth checking. What engine do you have?

However, It is usually a fault due to memory in the eeprom that has become corrupted. Some people say its due to the Air bag Module in the dash or the actual instrument cluster itself.

Some people have had luck using a VAG Tachograph software and reflashing the eeprom.

Part number is on the module. Or you may be able to retrieve it through VCDS.

Dan
 

boardy1987

Registered User
I have the 2.5 tdi mate . Il try a battery tomorrow morning and hopefully that will sort it out. I wouldnt no anything about tachographs or flashing anything. what would u suggest i do if battery doesnt work? Try and het new airbag module or instrument cluster? Cheers for this pal
 

moggie93

Registered User
I have the same problem. My battery is only a few months old.I do have aftermarket hids and an airbag fault.. The fault has been present for 2 months and I've just ignored it..
 
Top