Dashcam cable routing

Zafi

Registered User
I spoke to http://www.carcamerashop.co.uk/ about 0806 but they say they are unstable and wont be selling again until the bugs are sorted, so I bought 8 of the 0805 model. First impressions are very good. Compact, solid feel, good image quality. I turned off the G Force sensor as it ends up filling the card with captured rubbish.
I also bought a load of genuine 32gb capacity micro SD cards from http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/161687737361?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT you need to be careful as lots of ebay seller are flogging factory regects labelled as 32gb but actual useable space is as little as 4gb.
I then bought a load of these http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Mercury-7...846?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item1e90ac21de to hard wire them in easily.
 

scotty76

Registered User
@Keef :D . I parked there as that's the better end of the car park. I was actually off to B&Q opposite but the car park there is a nightmare, I've seen more car park related incidents there than any other local car park. (wow overuse of the word car park).
 

scotty76

Registered User
I found it hard to visualise how people were routing the cables. To help others who might be struggling here's a few photos. Mine goes: up into the headlining, across to the rubber door seal, down the inside edge of the rubber door seal, out again at the join, along the edge of the passenger seat, under the back passenger side floot mat and plugs into the rear 12v socket.

2015-05-10 18.23.11.jpg
2015-05-10 18.23.37.jpg
2015-05-10 18.24.55.jpg
2015-05-10 18.26.02.jpg
2015-05-10 18.26.16.jpg
2015-05-10 18.26.20.jpg
2015-05-10 18.26.24.jpg
2015-05-10 18.26.46.jpg
2015-05-10 18.26.59.jpg
2015-05-10 18.27.07.jpg
 

scotty76

Registered User
And from the driver's side it looks like this.

2015-05-10 18.28.18.jpg



And I tried to get a photo from the outside but the phone camera just refused to focus!

2015-05-10 18.18.17.jpg
 

Zafi

Registered User
Would look neater (and possibly safer) if you ran it under the airbag and trim.
 

scotty76

Registered User
@Zafi I am your standard village idiot. Thus I have a fear of any panels with the word airbag on them. I'm not sure what I have done that is unsafe but if you explain I'll happily fix it to avoid a Darwin award. Many thanks.
 

jdp1962

Grumpy Old Man
This is my Blackvue, fitted in the B7. The cable runs along behind the front end of the headlining, down the screen pillar behind the trim, behind the end of the dash to a concealed 12V socket box, wired to the fuse box on an ignition live.

P1000373_zpsda044cb1.jpg


When I move it over to the S4, I'll be asking NHN to feed it to a permanent live, using a Power Magic Pro, so I can make use of the motion detector function.
 

Zafi

Registered User
@Zafi I am your standard village idiot. Thus I have a fear of any panels with the word airbag on them. I'm not sure what I have done that is unsafe but if you explain I'll happily fix it to avoid a Darwin award. Many thanks.

Instead of crossing in front of the airbag, making the wire get in the way of the airbag deployment, route it underneath the bag. Just pull the trim up a bit and use some stiff wire (like a straightened coat hanger) to gently find a path from door seal to interior light.

You are not alone, I had a roof beacon installed on my Shogun by a full time "professional" auto electrician. First time I fully opened the sunroof the cable feeding the light got snagged by the roof and it appeared diagonally across the drivers door aperture!
 

scotty76

Registered User
Nearly needed it already, look where the white line is. Don't mind me. He was too busy reading his delivery notes.

van.png
 

evilbane

Member
VCDS Map User
Just curious as to why more people haven't hard wired them to the auto dimming mirrors, all the cable would be hidden away nicely this way?
 

scotty76

Registered User
Just curious as to why more people haven't hard wired them to the auto dimming mirrors, all the cable would be hidden away nicely this way?
That's way beyond my abilities. Also, I wouldn't want to hard wire anything until the car's out of warranty. I can do without giving Audi excuses. :) Paranoid? Me?! :)
 

evilbane

Member
VCDS Map User
I'll be getting mine tomorrow and was going to just hard-wire it using a scotch lock, essentially hijacking the 12 volt feed to the auto dimming mirror.
 

scotty76

Registered User
I'll be getting mine tomorrow and was going to just hard-wire it using a scotch lock, essentially hijacking the 12 volt feed to the auto dimming mirror.

Let us know how you get on. I started this thread to get ideas on this topic so would appreciate hearing how you get on, if not for me than for other more competent forum members.
 

Dainiaks

Registered User
Im thinking to get GoPro Hero4 and use it as dashcam. Would u guys recomend it, or better to get something else.
 

andyam

Registered User
Go pro probably would probably have a higher chance of getting nicked IMO...
 

StuBill

Supercharged Mofo
Just curious as to why more people haven't hard wired them to the auto dimming mirrors, all the cable would be hidden away nicely this way?

Probably OK, but bear in mind you are adding potentially another 3amps to the dimming mirror circuit.Not knowing what the circuit/wiring is rated at I would always favour a dedicated supply from the fuse box. Also, the switch mode power supplies with a lot of these cameras, to drop 12V to 5V are notoriously noisy. You could find your DAB and/or FM reception suffers big time if you splice it in to an existing circuit of the car. I have hard wired to a dedicated supply in the fuse box, but have still put ferrite chokes on both ends of the power line to keep it as quiet as possible and minimise the crap the camera power supply is spewing into the car electronics. I am not saying it is true of all dash cams, but remember that The CE marking in a lot of cases actually stands for 'China Export' ;)
 

ADi Nuff Valves

Registered User
Looking at getting one of these. Like the look of the 0806 but am put off by the reports of quality issues. Does anyone know if these have been resolved? Also are there any alternatives to the Power Magic Pro which seems a tad expensive for what it is?
 

Bristle Hound

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Looking at getting one of these. Like the look of the 0806 but am put off by the reports of quality issues. Does anyone know if these have been resolved? Also are there any alternatives to the Power Magic Pro which seems a tad expensive for what it is?
@ADi Nuff Valves - I'm going down the Mini 0805 as opposed to the 0806 route just to be on the safe side> Altho' I understand the 0806 probs have now been sorted

Best price I've found so far for a 0805 -
http://www.gearbest.com/car-dvr/pp_113549.html
 

Zafi

Registered User
Im thinking to get GoPro Hero4 and use it as dashcam. Would u guys recomend it, or better to get something else.

Can a GoPro do loop recording where is keeps overwriting the oldest file? If not, you can guarantee the card will be full in no time and you will not be recording anything
 

andyam

Registered User
I've just wired mine up...goes to the left of the mirror...up the headlining down the pillar all the way down to the floor comes out under the Matt, under the chair up the side of the passenger chair into the arm rest socket nice and concealed
 

scotty76

Registered User
I've just wired mine up...goes to the left of the mirror...up the headlining down the pillar all the way down to the floor comes out under the Matt, under the chair up the side of the passenger chair into the arm rest socket nice and concealed
Did you route it behind the pillar? If so how hard was that?
 

andyam

Registered User
The front pilar and easy didn't take anything off on the pillar
 

corgiepup

Registered User
Hi I got a dash cam just before xmas got the wires and all concealed and up and going but am having problems if I dont remember to disconnect it it runs my battery down has done it twice now and had to get jump starts , any help would be great , fitted to A6 c6 3.0 tdi le mans 07
762e1251e7f685e9005bf0514cef3873.jpg


Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk
 

corgiepup

Registered User
Hi I got a dash cam just before xmas got the wires and all concealed and up and going but am having problems if I dont remember to disconnect it it runs my battery down has done it twice now and had to get jump starts , any help would be great , fitted to A6 c6 3.0 tdi le mans 07
762e1251e7f685e9005bf0514cef3873.jpg


Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk
And its plugging into my front 12v power out let.

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk
 

Tiger-G

Registered User
Hi :subdued:,

What sort of dash cam is it ??

It would be best if you can get a hard wire kit for it, and run it off switched live fuse.
 

Tiger-G

Registered User
As mentioned, I would buy a hard wire kit for it and put it on a fuse that is only live when the ignition is on. That way you won't flatten the battery.
 

corgiepup

Registered User
Thanks for that just found hard wiring kit for it so I'll do it that way cheers for the information.

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk
 
Top