Dash Cam Installation Discussion

Minion Bob!

Reaction score
Hi Guys

So I bought a Dash Cam at long last, I was set on buying the Blackview DR650 but surprisingly had the DAB issue when I plugged it all in. In the end after looking at some footage of the Lukas 7950 I’ve settled on that, it’s a “bit bigger” than the Blackview but I listen to the radio all the time so couldn’t compromise.

I’ve had a look around on the forum about wiring etc. and I’m a little confused so was hoping I could pick the brains of those on here and have a discussion as I’ve never done anything like this before. Willing to do a full write up with pictures too if any would like to see it once this all goes into the car.

So the Lukas has the power safety device built into the camera so that gets rid of an extra step. The system has three cables.

• Red ACC+ (I’ve gathered this is the one that needs to be connected to something that’s on when the ignition is on)
  • Yellow BAT + (to a constant feed)
  • Black (Ground cable)

My question is there appear to also be fuses attached to these cables already (I’ve had a look too and they don’t say what voltage), I’m thinking of cutting these fuses off and using a fuse tap with a proper fuse or wiring them in directly with these fuses. What would you guys say is the better option? Also if the red cable goes into the fuse tap (correct???) where does the yellow cable go into?

Upload 2015 7 8 11 49 58

Upload 2015 7 8 11 50 59

Edit: My camera is also covering the sensor on the back of the rear view mirror. Now I used it like this in place last night and the anti dazzle seemed fine but am I correct in thinking theres two sensors or something then?

Fuses don't have voltages as such, only current. A fuse rated at 10A@250v will blow at 10A@12v.
The voltage on a fuse is purely to indicate the max safe working voltage (OK, there are special cases and 'fuses' with transient suppressors etc built in.....)

RichT