Cut roof- what's the best option?

Danieljwright

Reaction score
May have posted this twice, my bad, I am a newbie Hello, I have always wanted a A4 B6 cabriolet, finally got one, I bought it cheap with a cut roof, I am after opinions on weather to replace the whole roof from eBay or replace the canvas?
Where to buy?
Is it a DIY job?

Thanks

Personally, I would replace the entire roof.

I owned a 2004 B6 S4 Cabriolet, with a ripped hood. It was easier for me to replace the roof complete. I purchased a roof off eBay, fitted it myself, and had it professionally cleaned.

It's not a super easy job, but as long as you're methodical in your approach, it's not too bad. I'd replaced 2 B6 Cabriolet roofs in the past, working at an Audi dealership, so I suppose that helped.

Reactions: DrStrange
Thanks for that, would be good to find a step by step guide, I have done a lot with engines but nothing with electric soft top. I suppose it's worth a go just for the £300-£400 saving.

I owned a 2004 B6 S4 Cabriolet, with a ripped hood. It was easier for me to replace the roof complete. I purchased a roof off eBay, fitted it myself, and had it professionally cleaned.

It's not a super easy job, but as long as you're methodical in your approach, it's not too bad. I'd replaced 2 B6 Cabriolet roofs in the past, working at an Audi dealership, so I suppose that helped.
Do you have any tips on replacing it, do you have to mark positions or does the roof have to be in a certain place to take off? Thanks

probably best to watch a you tube tutorial, then you can visualise it
I have looked but I can't seem to find one, I would of thought there must be a how to guide on it, somewhere surely. Thanks.

When I did mine, I pretty much re-learnt as I went along. The 2 I'd replaced at Audi had been done over 6 years ago at this point, so I couldn't really remember all I'd done at this point.