COILOVERS ON A BUDGET???

matty18T

Reaction score
hi there just wondered what coilovers are best to have when i have a budget of around £300 i am new to looking at them and when i look on ebay there are that many different makes its mind boggling lol just want some sound advice if u can help:uhm:

Speak to Damian at DPM who can guide you through the mire of cheap pogo sticks on offer (forum sponsoron here, and very helpful bloke).

You may not get good customer service from eBay if you have issues so keep that in mind.

get a decent set of shocks and lowering springs
cheap coilovers are like second hand condoms....

It depends if you want to improve the cars handling, or just dump it on its ****, scrape around everywhere, and have it drive like a bucket of dung.

If you want to improve the cars handling, then fit some proper springs and shocks as jcb says. My car has an Eibach Pro-kit, with Eibach Pro-system dampers, and it rides better than stock, but handles much better and has a perfect ride height that looks good but doesnt scrape on anything. You could even start by fitting just the springs, then saving up to replace the dampers later.

If you want to dump it on its **** and have it drive like poop, then nail on some £200 coilovers.

But for £300 its going to be hard to get that set up you have for instance...Springs alone are what? £170? (without looking) Shocks are £70+ each?

My FK coilovers ride great, dont bounce much, arent rock solid, handling was hugely improved and were £225.

Yeh, which is why i said save up.

I got lucky, my eibach dampers were £120 for the set of four (clearance stock on ebay!), and the springs were ~£150.

Also different folk have different ideas of what constitutes a comfortable ride, and whats appropriate for their use.