1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Carista App Now Avaliable For the 8V A3/S3 - PFL & FL Covered

Bristle Hound Dec 12, 2016

  1. DanSheldon92

    DanSheldon92 Registered User

    16
    1
    3
    Has anyone in the Beta programme managed to disable exhaust flaps on FL?

    I've got the option but whenever I try It gets to 25% then gives a communication error.
     
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. Ormesome

    Ormesome Registered User

    1,950
    1,150
    113
    Not strictly an A3 but Carista related. My Q2 is the 1st Edition, 2.0 tdi Quattro 190bhp version. Recently I was struggling to get over 40mpg no matter what kind of trip I did in her, even long motorway trips. So, I got Carista set up and saw some fault codes, I cleared them and now I am getting around 55mpg when on a long trip. Same roads, same fuel! Unfortunately, I didn't make a note of the fault codes but I would love to hear of anyone who has done this or for anyone who might know a reason why this would happen.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. r2113

    r2113 Registered User

    44
    21
    8
    Carissa obd2 on amazon for £11.99. Using cod CARISTA38 as discount code
     
    JimmyMcGee likes this.
  5. Scotty75

    Scotty75 Well-Known Member Silver Supporter

    1,499
    2,260
    113
    Just went to buy the Carista single in Amazon but says it doesn't fit my 2013 2.0 TDI 8v.

    Am I right in thinking that an Bluetooth elm 327 dongle is fine with Carista ?

    Sent from my Nokia 8 using Tapatalk
     
  6. Scotty75

    Scotty75 Well-Known Member Silver Supporter

    1,499
    2,260
    113
    Picked up a Torque dongle £13 with delivery . It's ELM327 v1.5 so should work just fine . Going to enablea couple of things. It's the Electronic Parking Brake release feature that I'm hoping works . Very handy with an upcoming brake service needed

    Sent from my Nokia 8 using Tapatalk
     
  7. Ormesome

    Ormesome Registered User

    1,950
    1,150
    113
    Pretty sure that if you dont buy the official Carista dongle then you dont get the free 1 month trial. Not sure how that works out financially though.
     
  8. Scotty75

    Scotty75 Well-Known Member Silver Supporter

    1,499
    2,260
    113
    Yeah i know but the Carista dongle doesn't fit my A3 so the Torque pro was the suggested alternative . I'll just pay for a week pass, £9.99.

    Bummer though

    Sent from my Nokia 8 using Tapatalk
     
    Ormesome likes this.
  9. Ormesome

    Ormesome Registered User

    1,950
    1,150
    113
    Weird, Carista fit my A3 8V 2014 just fine. Didn't know OBD ports where different.
     
  10. Scotty75

    Scotty75 Well-Known Member Silver Supporter

    1,499
    2,260
    113
    I think it's the pin arrangements. I followed the link from the app and it took me to a page on Amazon to buy the dongle. Asked for vehicle reg , then said it didn't fit mine and the best alternative was the Torque Pro.

    Just curious what's the correct process when making changes with Carista , ie ignition off etc ?

    Sent from my Nokia 8 using Tapatalk
     
  11. Ormesome

    Ormesome Registered User

    1,950
    1,150
    113
    Ok cool. Ignition on, engine not started. then click the option you want on the app on your phone. super simple.
     
    NevMan and Scotty75 like this.
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. HertS3

    HertS3 Registered User

    1,160
    372
    83
    Don't trust the Amazon tool, check on the Carista site. Unless your car is really old, A3 should be fine.
     
    Scotty75 and Phutters like this.
  14. Scotty75

    Scotty75 Well-Known Member Silver Supporter

    1,499
    2,260
    113
    You were right about the Amazon tool. Carista have an error saying that the Torque dongle was defective .

    Waste of money and the item isn't eligible for return . We'll see about that . Going to dispute it with Amazon.

    After looking into it more , I've ordered the Carista official dongle now ...... Pi##ed off

    Sent from my Nokia 8 using Tapatalk
     
    Mikeso51 and HertS3 like this.
  15. r2113

    r2113 Registered User

    44
    21
    8
    Well it fits mine mines a a3sline 2000tdi 2014 euro 6 and all works on mine ??
     
  16. Ormesome

    Ormesome Registered User

    1,950
    1,150
    113
    Your 2014 2.0tdi is a Euro6 engine? sure about this? my 2014 1.6tdi was a Euro5. different engine i know but i thought Euro6 was from 2015? might be wrong though!
     
  17. Scotty75

    Scotty75 Well-Known Member Silver Supporter

    1,499
    2,260
    113
    Carista dongle arrived today , worked without any problems at all . Spent the afternoon detailing the interior so only had time to enable needle sweep and oil temp . Also cleared some old fault codes .

    Sent from my Nokia 8 using Tapatalk
     
    HertS3 and Ormesome like this.
  18. r2113

    r2113 Registered User

    44
    21
    8
     

    Attached Files:

    Ormesome likes this.
  19. r2113

    r2113 Registered User

    44
    21
    8
    Euro 6 no add blue
     
    Ormesome likes this.
  20. eyescream

    eyescream Registered User

    20
    14
    3
    hello, does anyone know if carista can program coming home lights with just the DRL only ? right now its DRL + headlamps...

    any idea?
     
  21. Scotty75

    Scotty75 Well-Known Member Silver Supporter

    1,499
    2,260
    113
    Couple of fault codes came back this morning when I plugged Carista in again . Anyone have any ideas on then ?
    No idea what the instrument setting one is about. Could the fuel tank flap release just be a fuse that needs replacing ?[​IMG]

    Sent from my Nokia 8 using Tapatalk
     
  22. DanZ

    DanZ Registered User

    112
    31
    28
    Took my car to the dealers to have a service and to activate the sat nav (I know I've massively overpaid for it but it was bugging me). Despite asking the guy which dealt with me twice not to update any software I've noticed now that all my mods apart from one disappeared. I had mods done with carista and OBD11. Anyways, do you think that the tech which activated the sat-nav had to update everything in which case I can't comment too much or my mods should have been 'untouched' by the process? I'm frustrated that now I have to pay for more Carista subscription and to buy an OBD11 as I had it done by someone else before which had sold the car with the dongle included :( .

    Thanks,

    Dan
     
  23. Ormesome

    Ormesome Registered User

    1,950
    1,150
    113
    I had my sat nav activated last summer and my mods were wiped too. I had carista at that point so it didn't bother me. If you have the dongle then why not just subscribe for 9.99 for a week i think it is?
     
  24. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,709
    5,130
    113
    Totally normal. Part of the activation process is to return the coding to stock in order to make sure there is nothing which will interfere with the activation procedure. Only mods related to the MMI / 5F would have been affected.
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2019
    DanZ likes this.
  25. DanZ

    DanZ Registered User

    112
    31
    28
    Thx @DJAlix,

    It makes sense now as the only mod which still is there is the rear parking sensors shown in the screen while backing up... ah well...
     
  26. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,709
    5,130
    113
    ...and that mod is made within the 10 - park assist module which they would not have touched.

    Where are you located?
     
    DanZ likes this.
  27. TonkS3

    TonkS3 Registered User

    62
    37
    18
    I've been having a look at getting carista to change bleep on lock, throttle input and start stop disable. £15 to do all of those seems a no brainer.

    Came across this chart on another forum comparing carista and obd11 features. Thought it might be of use to someone here if they are trying to decide between carista/obd11:
    33CED1DC-D713-497F-943D-4E5E86E72436.jpeg
     
    josul likes this.
  28. DanZ

    DanZ Registered User

    112
    31
    28
    I'm in lovely Norfolk mate :)
     
  29. Phutters

    Phutters .

    358
    409
    63
    Carista does a bit more since that chart was produced - you can reset both the oil and inspection service as well as wind the pistons back in to change the rear pads.

    .
     
    TonkS3 likes this.
  30. TonkS3

    TonkS3 Registered User

    62
    37
    18
    Is that in the beta as I can't see the rear brake service on there?
     
  31. AlS3BE

    AlS3BE Registered User

    3,422
    2,041
    113
    That chart really only applies to obd11 apps. Obd11 pro allows you to manually code pretty much everything on the list like you can with vcds.
     
  32. quattrorally

    quattrorally Registered User

    260
    105
    43
    what can carista do with throttle input?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  33. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  34. IgorFB

    IgorFB Registered User

    73
    50
    18
    You can change it from the default to a more linear input I believe.



    Still waiting for exhaust flap support :frown new: . The option is now back in the beta but it still does not work =/
     
  35. quattrorally

    quattrorally Registered User

    260
    105
    43
    what does this mean in layman's terms?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  36. IgorFB

    IgorFB Registered User

    73
    50
    18
    The default mode in the car has an inherent delayed throttle response, the power delivery is incremental and time based, basically it gradually increases the power delivery when you give it gas. This is for comfort and I believe fuel economy.

    The alternative is a more linear, direct response. You push the pedal down past a certain threshold and the power delivery is proportional to the throttle modulation.

    Someone please correct me if I’m wrong.
     
  37. Scotty75

    Scotty75 Well-Known Member Silver Supporter

    1,499
    2,260
    113
    Fur anyone that's interested , Carista updated on Android today.

    Sent from my Nokia 8 using Tapatalk
     
  38. S3KEY

    S3KEY Registered User

    74
    37
    18
    Exactly this? Anyone done it?
     
  39. IgorFB

    IgorFB Registered User

    73
    50
    18
    Not working
     
  40. S3KEY

    S3KEY Registered User

    74
    37
    18
    Bummer!! If I pulled the plugs on the exhausts and nocked the code off with Carista will it keep flashing up as an error everytime I’m in the car?
     
  41. oli356

    oli356 Registered User

    1,715
    1,471
    113
    What kind of error are you on about

    Theres no dash error if you mean that..i had mine unplugged for a couple of months, only error is in vcds, carista etc
     
  42. S3KEY

    S3KEY Registered User

    74
    37
    18
    I’ve read up about unplugging and pretty much every post says it throws up an error code? So it doesn’t show any code on trip computer etc whilst driving? I just didnt want to pull them and then everytime I went to drive my car it flashed up about it.
     
  43. oli356

    oli356 Registered User

    1,715
    1,471
    113
    Nothing came up on the trip computer no. Yes there are errors when you do a scan though unless you get something like this https://vwpartsinternational.com/sh...oval-fault-code-off-wire-connector-new-parts/
     

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information