1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Car Dealerships closing down / redundancy

Audi Bairn Jun 4, 2020

1. Audi Bairn

Audi Bairn Moderator Staff Member Moderator Gold Supporter

V6_Man likes this.
  2. Avatar

snack-media
    Advertisement

3. V6_Man

V6_Man Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

Oh dear! Let's hope it is not the beginning of the next cycle of redundancies like we had in 2008/09 financial crisis.

Audi Bairn likes this.
  4. Adam14

Adam14 Well-Known Member

Unfortunately, I work in the finance industry and for a lot of businesses it is bleak, I fear this will only be the start of losses in some sectors. However there have definitely been winners and losers, some clients have experienced extraordinary growth over this period.

V6_Man, Audi Bairn and X3man like this.
  5. Audi Bairn

Audi Bairn Moderator Staff Member Moderator Gold Supporter

Personally I think it’s going to be a lot worse than 08/09 but hoping not.
    Drops in sales of 97% and 89% The last two months will have a massive effect sadly.
    I would fully expect a raft of car deals as they try to boost sales but that won’t help any poor folk that have already lost their jobs.

V6_Man likes this.
  6. voorhees

voorhees Moderator Staff Member Moderator

Its bleak times and even the surge in sales when they open will not ever make it up, all for a virus that isn't the Black Death.
    I wonder how many die as a result of the side affects of this.

V6_Man and Audi Bairn like this.
  7. Bristle Hound

Bristle Hound Moderator Staff Member Moderator

@Audi Bairn - I saw this too mate
    We have a quite a few Lookers dealers near us & they are talking about shutting branches down

Near to us we have already lost a major Ford main dealer, a big JLR dealership & this was before Covid19

Audi Bairn and V6_Man like this.
  8. Retroman

Retroman Audi A3 2010 Sportback 2.0 TDI 170 (CBBB engine)