CANT GET INTO BOOT PLEASE HELP!!

sornio

Reaction score
OK THIS IS MY FIRST TIME ON ONE OF THESE FORUMS. I RECENTLY BOUGHT A 2001 A4 1.9TDI 130BHP AND HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS, BUT THIS IS THE PROBLEM THAT IM HAVING TROUBLE WITH AT THE MINUTE.

SO WHEN THE COLD WEATHER WAS HERE I TRIED TO OPEN MT BOOT AND IT WAS FROZE. SO I THINK I YANKED IT TOO HARD AND SUMTHING BROKE. WAS ON OTHER THREADS AND FOUND IT TO BE THE ACTUATOR WAS STUCK IN THE OPEN POSITION WHICH MENT THE BOOT LID WAS ALWAYS OPEN.

SO TRIED TO FIX IT MYSELF AND TOOK THE ACTUATOR OFF AND FREE'D IT UP BUT STUPIDLY CLOSED THE BOOT LID AND NOW ITS LOCKED ***.

THERE IS NO POWER GOING TO THE LOCKING MECHANISM AND OBVIOUSLY THE REAR SEATS DONT FOLD DOWN TO ACCESS FROM INSIDE.

I HAVE READ SOME THREADS THAT THE ONLY WAY IN IS TO TAKE BACK SEATS OUT AND CUT A HOLE IN THE METAL BEHIND THE BACK SEATS, BUT I DONT REALLY WANA DO THIS CUZ THE BOOT TRIM IS INSIDE AND WOOD BE A NIGHTMARE TO GET TO THE LOCKING MECHANISM.

THE OTHER WAY SOMEONE SAID WAS TO DRILL A HOLE SOMEWHERE BEHIND THE NUMBER PLATE TO SOMEHOW UNLOCK IT THERE, BUT WHO WANTS TO DRILL A HOLE IN YOUR CAR:(

PLEASE SOMEONE TELL ME AN EASIER, LESS VIOLENT WAY OF GETTING MY BOOT OPEN.

CAN I ACCESS BOOT IF I TAKE THE "PARCEL SHELF OR SUB OUT OR SUMTHING?

IS THE KEY LOCK SUPPOSED TO MANUALLY OPEN IT BECAUSE MINE DOESNT.

PLEASEEEEEEE HELP, ITS GONA GIVE ME A SLEEPLESS NYT:(
THANKS

You should be able to open it manually with the key

Manual says that left/anticlockwise should spring it open, "vertical" links it to the rest of the car's central locking and to the right (clockwise) should set it to independant, so it only works off the remote "boot release" button.
Try some wd40 in the lock

thanks for reply, i did try the key in the lock and turned it both ways. it turns as freely to the left as it does to the right and also if u turn it to the left or right you cant take the key out.