Bye bye M3, Hello S3!

Smiffi

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm a newbie to this forum but as I've recently bought an S3 I thought I'd say hello. As the title states, I have just traded my E46 M3 in for a 3 door Glacier White Metallic S3 S-tronic Black Edition....and I love it. I've wanted a S3 for ages, well before I bought the M3 and even before the Mkv Gti I had before that. Once I seen this car in the showroom I couldn't resist any longer (plus the missus fell in love with it which helped).

Anyway, the car only has a few miles on the clock and as I've never been the first owner of a car I'm trying to decided my running in tactics. I plan on warming her up easy then when hot, driving as normal with spirited acceleration but not revving past 3.5k for the first 1000 miles. After that I will increase the revs to about 4.5k for about 500 miles. It's going to be difficult to restrain myself though haha.

Does this sound like a reasonable way to run it in? I'm interested in the way the members who have owned their cars from new went about it? Also, is changing the oil at around 1.5 - 2k miles a good idea?

I have a Bluefin hand held device from when I owned the Gti but I might wait a year before I get the S3 map for that.

Any advice or comments would be appreciated guys. I will try and post up some pics over the weekend.

Reactions: RedDejavu
keep it easy for the first 1k miles and then drive normally.

As above, just drive it.... Audi engines are ran up when they are built so its been red lined already! just let the brakes etc bed in but drive it and enjoy it. It's what the warranty is for!

And welcome to the forum :thumbsup:

and dont forget, for the first 12,000 miles drive everywhere in 2nd :thumbsup:

Reactions: I oOEddOo I and tyrrelll
And make sure that all four tyres are no higher than 10 psi for the first 500 miles :)