Bhp and whp

Cambaines

Reaction score
Proper car question!

My car has been on the dyno at unicorn and is putting out 285whp, the dyno is top notch and is pretty new so I'm trusting the figures! I've just used a whp-bhp calculator and I'm confused it's come out at 328bhp... I understand this is at the crank and not usable! When Audi quote 200bhp, am I right in saying this is wheel horsepower?

8946e46af0a0ad1a69acb9c9668e19d7.jpg

So power at the crank? This has proper blagged my head to be honest with you, is the RR figure converted to bhp then? Well confused

Car manufacturers always quote power at the crank, or what you're calling BHP.

Your car has gone from 220BHP standard to 280BHP. That's BHP not WHP.

A K03 won't make 328BHP unless it's had the K04 swap.

So say my car is 170BHP, I'm probably getting 130/140 at the wheels, the rest being lost through transmission losses etc.

I'm no expert but that's my understanding.

Reactions: Cambaines
That's cleared it for me, It through me about the through the wheels part, and then I thought well a RR measures bhp through the wheels... It's crank measurement that is tested never really come across this in my time!

That's cleared it for me, It through me about the through the wheels part, and then I thought well a RR measures bhp through the wheels... It's crank measurement that is tested never really come across this in my time!

The only truly accurate way of determining bhp at the crank is on an engine dyno,which most of us are unlikely ever to use.
RRs measure at the wheels and infer crank horsepower,but will not be as accurate as a properly calibrated engine dyno.

Love it, I was confused at how a RR would measure crank power, didn't realise there was some maths to it! cheers guys

As has been said, the only true way to measure engine horsepower is with the engine out on a engine dyno.