Audi Q3 climate control

Ironborn

English...not so good
VCDS Map User
Come a cross this video, looks tasty. If it's not 100 % compatible, how badly could it mess up my heating?

 
Last edited by a moderator:

Ironborn

English...not so good
VCDS Map User
lol this guy, not sure if your trolling me or not lol. How can a Audi Q3 climate control, come standard on a A3
 

LEE69

07 170 DSG
My climate control is identical to the one you have posted the video off, only difference is i don't have heated seats, so don't have them buttons.
 

JohnE

2005 A3 Sport 1.6 FSI
My climate control is identical to the one you have posted the video off, only difference is i don't have heated seats, so don't have them buttons.

It isn't though. The knobs are different - no chrome on yours, the buttons are marked differently (yours says econ, the Q3 one says AC) I suspect the colour of the temp display's different too.

OP - I think later A3s (2010/11) may have this panel - maybe someone can confirm?
 

Ash187

Registered User
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter

Ironborn

English...not so good
VCDS Map User
Ok cool cheers, I liked the white display it would match the white dis perfectly.
 

dark_adek

Registered User
I've done this and it's working almost perfect except one foult code:
It can not be cleared :(

Address 08: Auto HVAC Labels: None
Control Module Part Number: 8U0 820 043 B HW: 8U0 820 043 B
Component and/or Version: E87 Klimavoll 0050
Software Coding:
Work Shop Code: WSC 00000 000 00000
VCID: 306B14F3D8E3
Fault Codes have been Erased
1 Fault Found:
00457 - Control Module for Network (J519)
004 - No Signal/Communication
Freeze Frame:
Fault Status: 01100100
Fault Priority: 3
Fault Frequency: 1
Reset counter: 194
Mileage: 256394 km
Time Indication: 0
Date: 2014.12.21
Time: 10:37:39
Freeze Frame:
ON
 

Ash187

Registered User
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
I've done this and it's working almost perfect except one foult code:
It can not be cleared :(

Address 08: Auto HVAC Labels: None
Control Module Part Number: 8U0 820 043 B HW: 8U0 820 043 B
Component and/or Version: E87 Klimavoll 0050
Software Coding:
Work Shop Code: WSC 00000 000 00000
VCID: 306B14F3D8E3
Fault Codes have been Erased
1 Fault Found:
00457 - Control Module for Network (J519)
004 - No Signal/Communication
Freeze Frame:
Fault Status: 01100100
Fault Priority: 3
Fault Frequency: 1
Reset counter: 194
Mileage: 256394 km
Time Indication: 0
Date: 2014.12.21
Time: 10:37:39
Freeze Frame:
ON

what year is your car?
 

dark_adek

Registered User
My car is MY2010 2.0TDI CR CFFB

Before it looked like this:
Address 08: Auto HVAC Labels: 8P0-820-043.lbl
Part No SW: 8P0 820 043 BM HW: 8P0 820 043 BM
Component: KlimavollautomatH09 0150
Revision: 000064 Serial number: 8P0820043BM
Shop #: WSC 00000 000 00000
VCID: 78FBECD37013
No fault code found.
 
Last edited:

Darren92

Registered User
How about your central electronics, part number, sw, hw, etc.?
Maybe mine doesn’t recognize newer climate control unit from Q3?

My central electrics control module is pre-BCM but in a MY2009 8P3.

Code:
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Address 09: Cent. Elect.  Labels: 8P0-907-279-30-H.lbl
  Part No SW: 8P0 907 279 N  HW: 8P0 907 279 N
  Component: Bordnetz-SG  H54 2801 
  Revision: 00H54000  Serial number: 00000009360286
  Coding: 95A823A1B4141380EF00001C0000000000094C056401800B006800000000
  Shop #: WSC 00899 210 89553
  VCID: 489B20EE3B73D761E7B-801D

  Subsystem 1 - Part No: 8P2 955 119 F  Labels: 1KX-955-119.CLB
  Component: Wischer AU350  H10 0040 
  Coding: 00056595
  Shop #: WSC 00899 

No fault code found.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Climate info

Code:
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Address 08: Auto HVAC  Labels: 8P0-820-043.lbl
  Part No SW: 8U0 820 043 B  HW: 8U0 820 043 B
  Component: E87  Klimavoll  0050 
  Revision: 00H03000  Serial number: 8U0820043B  
  Shop #: WSC 00000 000 00000
  VCID: 306B680EA3E37FA1DFB-8065

No fault code found.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

dark_adek

Registered User
I did same screenshots of measuring blocks, and everything seems to be right. Maybe there is an adaptation or basic settings that can be adjusted. What do you think?
1.JPG 2.JPG 3.JPG 4.JPG 5.JPG 6.JPG 7.JPG 8.JPG
 

hollows wife

Registered User
would be easier to just replace the leds to white .
 

Ash187

Registered User
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
would be easier to just replace the leds to white .
Its just the screen thats white, I thought that has a filter on the screen that would also need to be changed but isn't as easy as just changing the LEDs
 

dark_adek

Registered User
I replaced leds from red to white and put also white filter in it. But after that LCD has white text with blue backlight. Looks like this images.jpg

LCD in Audi A3 has dark blue colour while Q3 has dark brown (almost black).
 

Ash187

Registered User
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
i like the way the Q3 one looks. if only i could do that to a standard heater matrix
 

landrover1

Registered User
I've done this and it's working almost perfect except one foult code:
It can not be cleared :(

Address 08: Auto HVAC Labels: None
Control Module Part Number: 8U0 820 043 B HW: 8U0 820 043 B
Component and/or Version: E87 Klimavoll 0050
Software Coding:
Work Shop Code: WSC 00000 000 00000
VCID: 306B14F3D8E3
Fault Codes have been Erased
1 Fault Found:
00457 - Control Module for Network (J519)
004 - No Signal/Communication
Freeze Frame:
Fault Status: 01100100
Fault Priority: 3
Fault Frequency: 1
Reset counter: 194
Mileage: 256394 km
Time Indication: 0
Date: 2014.12.21
Time: 10:37:39
Freeze Frame:
ON

Hi, sorry to bring this thread up again but was wondering if you ever found a fix for this fault code. I have fitted a Q3 climate and seem to get the exact same fault code but no way of clearing it with VCDS. Other than that it functions perfectly.
 

Ash187

Registered User
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
that error is saying that it cannot talk to the main central electrics module. Its not a VCDS coding thing, its a wiring thing.
In order to resolve the error i would guess that you need to wire in a pin from the back of the climate control to the CEM but which pin i haven't a clue as if it was an A3 requirement then it would already have the pin there.
Seems to be something that the Q3 needs and so its asking for it. As you said its working perfectly, i would just ignore it.
 

dark_adek

Registered User
Hi, sorry to bring this thread up again but was wondering if you ever found a fix for this fault code. I have fitted a Q3 climate and seem to get the exact same fault code but no way of clearing it with VCDS. Other than that it functions perfectly.

Unfortunately not, there is no fix for that. I checked wiring in ELSA and it seems to have exact the same pin connection on both A3 and Q3. I think that’s CEM issue, and firmware itself which doesn’t have codding for newer CCM comes from Q3.
 
Top