1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Audi A3 2014 - Android Auto?

tanner_a Sep 8, 2020

  1. tanner_a

    tanner_a Registered User

    13
    2
    3
    Hi,

    Is it possible to get Android Auto on this vehicle? (Audi a3 2014 s-line.)
    if so what kit do I need?
    any reputable services near London?

    Many thanks,
    Tan
     
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. roydonaldson

    roydonaldson Registered User

    77
    8
    8
  4. Marler1337

    Marler1337 Registered User

    28
    3
    3
    I got a kit off eBay and had it fitted by https://www.hazzydayz.com/ and not too far from London. Only thing I will advise the kit I got I had to get a seperate bluetooth adapter as the in car bluetooth was not compatible with the android auto just FYI.
     
  5. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,335
    4,833
    113
    I am also able to fit any of these devices if you are not confident with removing trims etc. I ask £45.00
     
    T-1000 likes this.
  6. roydonaldson

    roydonaldson Registered User

    77
    8
    8
    I'd definately recommend getting @DJAlix to install something like this for you. Having looked at what is involed in putting this in to the car, £45 is a steal for him to do this job for you.

    If I lived closer, I'd have him do this for me as soon as I could get my hands on one.
     
  7. CanadaA3wales

    CanadaA3wales Canadian living in South Wales - Audi A3 8V 150BHP

    483
    112
    43
    Is this a worthwhile upgrade?
    Looks easy to install, does everything work ok?
    I have sat nav ready on my stearing wheel with a basic MMI on a 2014 8v A3
    Sorry to Hijack
     
  8. Dubjam

    Dubjam Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    903
    329
    63
    You can't really argue with £45 to have it done properly..

    He says after fitting a carbon mirror cap today and snapping a lug :scared2:
     
    JohnM100 likes this.
  9. CanadaA3wales

    CanadaA3wales Canadian living in South Wales - Audi A3 8V 150BHP

    483
    112
    43
    I dont live anywhere near any audi retro fitters, im in deep south wales. (Ogmore by Sea-Bridgend)
    Ive had a look online and cant find anyone
    But TBH I probably will get @DJAlix to fit front and rear sensors, he's a good price compared to others. Well rear camera and front sensors, thats worth the drive, but if I follow youtube very closely I should be able to fit this in like 2 hours, says the guy who has never removed any panels before LOL
     
  10. JohnM100

    JohnM100 Registered User Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    1,496
    741
    113
    Nice to see another carbon fibre mirror cap person on the forum.
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2020
    Dubjam likes this.
  11. JohnM100

    JohnM100 Registered User Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    1,496
    741
    113
    Do your research & get all your requested mods done in one trip by visiting someone like @DJAlix so any trim has to come off only once.
     
    CanadaA3wales likes this.
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. CanadaA3wales

    CanadaA3wales Canadian living in South Wales - Audi A3 8V 150BHP

    483
    112
    43
    Thats very true indeed, good thinking John.
    Probably cost nearly a grand, but looking on glasses guide my car will add value to that tune if its written off so its well worth the upgrades.
    Especially 500.00 for the rear camera, hazy days want 700.00 which is a joke. 695.00 I think it was on their website.
     
    JohnM100 likes this.
  14. AlS3BE

    AlS3BE Registered User

    3,273
    1,895
    113
    Hazzydays prices exclude vat on their website last time I looked.
    It’s well worth getting someone like Alex to do it. The amount of cursing and broken/lost clips I’ve had over the years is worth paying him to do it
    Just to keep my blood pressure down. He’s done it enough times to know how and where to pull those pesky clips.
    In the time he installed my rear camera I reckon I would have still be attacking those clips on the boot lid :wink:
     
    JohnM100 and pburv like this.
  15. CanadaA3wales

    CanadaA3wales Canadian living in South Wales - Audi A3 8V 150BHP

    483
    112
    43
    Seems worth the 3 hour drive to north london to get it done.
    Can take the kids into london for the day then, kill 2 birds with 1 stone, or even a couple day trip if alex is willing to give me free parking lol
     
  16. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,335
    4,833
    113
    Have parking available and am 5 mins walk from the Piccadilly line tube, 10mins walk from Alexandra Palace overground. I have people travel from all over Europe to have works done, with most doing the tourist thing :)
     
    tanner_a, RS3 S. and T-1000 like this.
  17. CanadaA3wales

    CanadaA3wales Canadian living in South Wales - Audi A3 8V 150BHP

    483
    112
    43
    Sorry @tanner_a for hijacking was interested in this upgrade as well.
    Thanks @DJAlix will probably get this done just after xmas, will contact you directly to make proper arrangements when I have the cash in a few months, probably just after xmas.
     
  18. tanner_a

    tanner_a Registered User

    13
    2
    3
    I am still a bit confused as to why it's so cheap £45? don't you need to change the head unit or something to get Android Auto?
     
  19. Dubjam

    Dubjam Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    903
    329
    63
    No you don't , its an add on interface box, you purchase it yourself and Alix fits it.

    £45 is an exceptional price to have it wired up professionally, I wouldn't question as to why, Alix sets his own (very fair pricing) , it's not like you are picking up someone off Gumtree who will do it at a low price like those £100 remaps etc, Alix is well regarded and trusted.
     
    Sandra and tanner_a like this.
  20. tanner_a

    tanner_a Registered User

    13
    2
    3
    Sorry, I worded that poorly, I am not questioning his authenticity at all. I don't know much about cars, so I didn't understand why it was 45 lol but now I understand you're saying I need to buy the parts myself. :icon thumright:

    Alix, is it ok if I private message you? I would like to know what to buy etc so I can arrange a time to come down and get it all done etc.
     
  21. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,335
    4,833
    113
    Am fighting with messages and emails etc. I am reading and replying but it’s really exploded since getting back to the uk. 07950 737 899 would be best for enquiries at the moment.
     
  22. tanner_a

    tanner_a Registered User

    13
    2
    3
    is anyone able to advise me what to buy? any reputable websites like amazon would be good
     
  23. CanadaA3wales

    CanadaA3wales Canadian living in South Wales - Audi A3 8V 150BHP

    483
    112
    43
    Yeah I dont like Aliexpress either, if you have a faulty unit or need to replace it, it usually needs to go back to china or very expensive postage and long waits, or even if they give you a new one and dont mess you around.

    I would like to know if there are any UK suppliers as well, or which one is the best to buy apart from Aliexpress
     
  24. CanadaA3wales

    CanadaA3wales Canadian living in South Wales - Audi A3 8V 150BHP

    483
    112
    43
    I seen your reply on email alex, you must have removed it for some reason LOL
    Anyway, thanks for the reply, seems Aliexpress is the only option unless we want to pay +500.00 in the UK which comes from Aliexpress anyway
     
  25. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,335
    4,833
    113
    Thats the long and short of it.
     
    CanadaA3wales likes this.
  26. Craig_s85

    Craig_s85 Registered User

    26
    7
    3
  27. roydonaldson

    roydonaldson Registered User

    77
    8
    8
  28. Liam Morris

    Liam Morris Registered User

    82
    38
    18
    Does anyone know if the Wireless Android Auto works with Samsung s10+ ? The AliExpress one doesn't list it however the Ebay linked one which looks identical does, Wired is no good for me so of anyone has an S10 + working wirelessly can you point me in the direction of what to buy please :icon thumright:
     
  29. d3vilstarz

    d3vilstarz Registered User

    61
    4
    8
    Yes it does work but still not really stable


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Liam Morris likes this.
  30. CanadaA3wales

    CanadaA3wales Canadian living in South Wales - Audi A3 8V 150BHP

    483
    112
    43
    Do these headsets work perfect though, bluetooth sound everything you need?
    I dont want to spend all this money if some features dont work or they cut out all the time.
    Anyone know?
     
  31. Liam Morris

    Liam Morris Registered User

    82
    38
    18
    That's a shame, maybe i'll have to bite the bullet and find a suitable way use it wired then, thank's for the answer :icon thumright:
     
  32. d3vilstarz

    d3vilstarz Registered User

    61
    4
    8
    For this module
    For Apple - option you can use
    Wired connection which is very direct connect to the given USB port
    Wireless connection - Bluetooth and wifi will need to connect to the module wifi

    Android auto
    Wired - for older phone just need to install android auto

    Newer phone plug in and accept the agreement and you are good to go

    Android wireless
    Under the main menu of the module , enable your android Bluetooth and wifi

    Under your phone connect to the module Bluetooth and it should pop up an connection on the menu , just click on it and wireless is good to go

    Cons -
    AUX port is an Must and they are leveraging on aux port

    You will need to hold and press media to go into the module unlike original carplay

    You will need to forget your car mmi Bluetooth on your phone else when phone call ring you might have problem speaking or others parties hearing you

    Pros - wireless connection for iPhone is stable / original carplay does not have any wireless for A3

    Screen mirroring features

    USB playback function - mp3 / mp4

    Hope this information will help you


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  33. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  34. d3vilstarz

    d3vilstarz Registered User

    61
    4
    8
    Wired is definitely stable , well comparing to an mib2 retrofit , it depend on your Budget and your objective , if your objective is to have an android auto which you don’t wish to spent a bomb , this is the right choice


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  35. Wibbly

    Wibbly Registered User

    406
    200
    43
    I thought about using one of these products to Android Auto'ify the MMI, but looking at the issues Google are having with built-in Android Auto implementations (let alone what may happen with 3rd party add-ons) I decided to stick with the phone version of Android Auto with my phone on a Clearmount. It also offers the flexibility of running other apps like TomTom's Amigo to warn of speed cameras as an overlay over, say, Google Maps
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2020
  36. Flowrider99

    Flowrider99 Registered User

    376
    162
    43
    With Android 10 you can no longer launch Android Auto like an app. Android Auto is built into Android 10 and only launches when a compatible head unit is detected. There is no longer an app icon.
     
  37. Wibbly

    Wibbly Registered User

    406
    200
    43
    I have been using it on my phone with Android 10 forever, and it's still working on Android 11. No Android Auto head unit in sight.
     
    Flowrider99 likes this.
  38. Flowrider99

    Flowrider99 Registered User

    376
    162
    43
    My mistake, I have Android 10 on my smartphone and Android Auto installed but there is no app icon but I have just spotted there is a version on Google Play that will run on the phone,
     
    Wibbly likes this.

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information