At last i'm at 8mb

Caesium

My BM is fixed!
VCDS Map User
Joined
May 26, 2004
Messages
4,877
Reaction score
5
Having had to wait about 9 months for my adsl to get up to the 8mb service I'm finally there! Its in its training mode at the moment so i'm getting between 6-8mbs but its a world better than 2mb I had before.... ****** fantastic!
 

joost

Registered User
Joined
Nov 11, 2005
Messages
1,167
Reaction score
0
8meg is quality - I'm with Demon and never seem to have drop outs (that I've noticed anyway). Just watch it screw up now... I think it's fantastic for streaming music and video. There's no way I could go back to 2meg.
 

Mart

Registered User
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
1,223
Reaction score
0
I've put the request in for mine just before Christmas! Waiting for it to happen now!
Looking forward to it though
 

205man

Registered User
Joined
May 28, 2006
Messages
1,068
Reaction score
14
8mb im still on 1.1mb and been told best i could get will around 3mb

alan
 

coupe-se

Registered User
Joined
Oct 31, 2006
Messages
246
Reaction score
1
I'm on an 8Meg connection and due to the quality of the line and distance from the exchange the best download speed I get is 2meg :crying:

I use this site for speed testing: http://www.speedtest.net/

Anyone know any other reliable sites???
 

K7ERG

Registered User
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
371
Reaction score
0
On 8Mb for the 3rd Jan and never noticed a big difference. I think a memory upgrade is on the cards now. 512 at the moment.

It runs at 8.1
 

TDI-line

Uber Post Whore
Joined
Oct 14, 2004
Messages
9,763
Reaction score
1,866
I'm still on dial-up.
 

Caesium

My BM is fixed!
VCDS Map User
Joined
May 26, 2004
Messages
4,877
Reaction score
5
TDI-line said:
I'm still on dial-up.

Hmmmm cutting edge!
hayesmodem.jpg
 

TDI-line

Uber Post Whore
Joined
Oct 14, 2004
Messages
9,763
Reaction score
1,866
That looks fast.
 

Onlyme

Registered User
Joined
Oct 24, 2006
Messages
593
Reaction score
1
A4 did you buy your modem from a bloke up the pub ? have you tried it out yet as i reckon when you plug it in all you will get is " breaker breaker this is a convoy, coming at you on chanel 12, do you copy funky monkey "
 

Caesium

My BM is fixed!
VCDS Map User
Joined
May 26, 2004
Messages
4,877
Reaction score
5
hahaha! Thats not my modem, its the one I sold you, haven't you recieved it yet? Don't worry about the coffee stain on top of it, it makes it work faster.

This is what I use, can't fault it.
We supply these all day long, never had a problem with them, I had a NetGear before, what a pile of ****.
draytek_v2800V.jpg
 

joost

Registered User
Joined
Nov 11, 2005
Messages
1,167
Reaction score
0
A4Quattro said:
I had a NetGear before, what a pile of ****.

Don't tell me that, I bought a NetGear modem router the other day! :sadlike: What problems did you have?
 

Onlyme

Registered User
Joined
Oct 24, 2006
Messages
593
Reaction score
1
mmmmmm vigor :uhm:

Im going orf to the plane conveyor belt thread
 

Onlyme

Registered User
Joined
Oct 24, 2006
Messages
593
Reaction score
1
joost said:
Don't tell me that, I bought a NetGear modem router the other day! :sadlike: What problems did you have?



It didnt have a coffee stain on the top of it
 

Caesium

My BM is fixed!
VCDS Map User
Joined
May 26, 2004
Messages
4,877
Reaction score
5
joost said:
Don't tell me that, I bought a NetGear modem router the other day! :sadlike: What problems did you have?

Restarting it once a day, often couldn't get onto the config page, it seemed to overheat, in the end I binned the ******* thing. only 9 months old.
 

joost

Registered User
Joined
Nov 11, 2005
Messages
1,167
Reaction score
0
Oh great! I'll just see how it goes for the time being. If it goes tits up, someone may be getting a NetGear shaped suppository.
 

Caesium

My BM is fixed!
VCDS Map User
Joined
May 26, 2004
Messages
4,877
Reaction score
5
I'd never buy another, I spec this sort of equipment all day long, and we've had commercial premises with the netgear units in, its shocking. Some people get on with them okay, but my cousin had a netgear and apparently a lightning strike killed it...hmmmm.

If it stops working then return it and get a draytek, they don't sound very good but they're the best router this side of a cisco and a cisco router will set you back about a grand at the very least.
 

joost

Registered User
Joined
Nov 11, 2005
Messages
1,167
Reaction score
0
Cheers Chris, I'll keep that in mind. Knowing my luck the ****** thing'll be timebombed to stop working 1 minute after the warranty expires!
 

madvw

Registered User
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
2,489
Reaction score
3
no problems with netgear here. I've had about 3 taken out by lightning, but i wouldnt expect it to survive after that.

one thing that is rubbish though is netgears support. Can't understand a ****** word, and you have to jump through hoops (i.e. reset it and keep resetting it, and get asked about your virus protection) for 30 minutes before you can RMA it.

one rule of thumb of netgear kit is to never buy one of their new models until it has at least one new firmware released. All of my netgear routers have been unusable till the first firmware release fixed the problems. All of them then have stayed up 24/7 till i have replaced them.

overall, netgear are good. They were a consumer side to bay networks who were very good, and then got taken over by nortel networks, who are still very good.

Netgear routers were also chosen by sky as the supplier of their sky broadband routers. Sign up to them and you'll get one free, or at least you used to.
 

Caesium

My BM is fixed!
VCDS Map User
Joined
May 26, 2004
Messages
4,877
Reaction score
5
madvw said:
no problems with netgear here. I've had about 3 taken out by lightning, but i wouldnt expect it to survive after that.

Netgear routers were also chosen by sky as the supplier of their sky broadband routers. Sign up to them and you'll get one free, or at least you used to.
My cousin's router was taken out abd there isn't a telegraph pole in sight of his flat, he lives in a town centre!

And I wouldn't say that SKY selection was an endorsement, they supply Amstrad equipment
 

madvw

Registered User
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
2,489
Reaction score
3
A4Quattro said:
And I wouldn't say that SKY selection was an endorsement, they supply Amstrad equipment

hahaha, thats too true!!
 
Top