Any battery experts?

stu_m

VCDS Map User
Reaction score
So over the past few months I have been getting the brake warning on start up and as we all know it suggests battery is on the way out so checked it and sure enough its only getting up to roughly 75% charged

anyway I went and picked up a new bosch battery today from euro car parts got home and the first thing I did was check the charge state!

to my horror its showing 10.6 volts!!!

Am I right in thinking batteries should come already charged and must be kept charged and if the voltage drops below 12.3 then it needs to be charged otherwise permanent damage can be caused and the life expectancy reduced?

I have searched online and found nothing about if they should be supplied fully charged etc

Any advice welcome

I'm not an expert but I had one sat in my garage which was fully charged but ended up flat as can be reading 10v after about 6 months, my mate stuck it on charge overnight, put it in his car and it has been fine ever since.

When I got this fault the same on my car I changed the battery (it was about 75% chargeable according to a garage who tested it) This never cured it, I needed a new fluid reservoir to cure it.
This is the battery mentioned above, I kept my new one and sold the old one to a mate.

Sounds like an alternator/drain issue to me.
Batteries do come charged, I would expect a new battery to show above 12/13v even after 5 minutes charge.

put a voltmeter across the battery to see if its chargeing whilst the engine is running? and check voltage when cracking see what it dropes down to? if not i would say you've got problem poss alternator or wireing fault check connection and earth points on loom to alternator

Err think you need to re read!

My old battery is only taking 75% charge so I have got a new one

The new one has come straight from the shop with no charge and showing 10 volts! The new one has not been on the car