1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Android RNS-E

docurley Jul 3, 2015

  1. docurley

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    4,084
    94
    48
    That part is plug and play, its when you have Bose and none Bose that things can get tricky because the rear speakers in none Bose tend not to work but there are ways round that and some units are not geared up for Bose but there are ways round that too.
     
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. tonydata

    tonydata Registered User

    178
    33
    28
    Yep, no rears working, not a huge issue, I sit in the front and have some nice components in... Would be good to have them though... @docurley do you happen to know the work around?

    Also, do you know what that blue plug is? Similar connection inside as the aerial...

    Also downloaded the Spotify app without problems, but its only giving me the option of logging in with Facebook or sign up, not sign in... Wonder if that's a marshmallow and Spotify thing though...

    Not had time to do much else, but the UI is nice and the steering wheel works, as does wifi, Bluetooth, radio, phone... It is promising I would say...
     
  4. tonydata

    tonydata Registered User

    178
    33
    28
    Sorted Spotify!!! Just downloading to listen to playlists offline!!! Whoop, main reason I bought it...

    Now for the rear speakers issue...
     
  5. tonydata

    tonydata Registered User

    178
    33
    28
    Getting volume and move tunes forward and back through the steering wheel @leshkin !
     
  6. dp_motley

    dp_motley 2012 A3 1.6 TDI S line 2019 A3 35TFSI S line

    1,255
    490
    83
    I don't have a blue wire in my 2012 A3. Could that be an OE GPS antenna?
     
  7. tonydata

    tonydata Registered User

    178
    33
    28
    No idea @docurley ! Any advice on rear speaker fix???
     
  8. dp_motley

    dp_motley 2012 A3 1.6 TDI S line 2019 A3 35TFSI S line

    1,255
    490
    83
    An update on a reverse camera installation. I finally installed it and got rid of alternator noise by choosing better ground connection (used another bolt). There is still some cosmetic work required though. Also, I think I need a filter because I have lines flickering on the screen.
     
  9. dp_motley

    dp_motley 2012 A3 1.6 TDI S line 2019 A3 35TFSI S line

    1,255
    490
    83
    PAC SNI-35 as mentioned earlier.
     
  10. tonydata

    tonydata Registered User

    178
    33
    28
    I did see that and did a search but seems to be a few options... If you don't have a link, no worries, I shall continue to search!
     
  11. docurley

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    4,084
    94
    48
    Intake it you are none Bose so you will need one PAC to run off the speaker output signal to run the rears. Amazon tends to be the cheapest place to buy them.

    The systems are now setup to run Bose and Bose use a low output signal which in a none Bose system the signal will not be strong enough to activate the amp in the rear.
     
    tonydata likes this.
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. Suggsy1814

    Suggsy1814 Registered User

    16
    7
    3
    @tonydata how was the install.. ?

    There another thread titled "android headunit rear speaker fix. No extra parts needed" worth having a look seems to say you can adjust settings in some stereos to get rears to work.. Worth a try..
     
    tonydata likes this.
  14. dp_motley

    dp_motley 2012 A3 1.6 TDI S line 2019 A3 35TFSI S line

    1,255
    490
    83
    I have none Bose and all the speakers work without any PAC. The rears didn't work though when I plugged everything first time. I unplugged and plugged all connections again and the rear speakers started working. They work as loud as the front speakers.
     
    tonydata likes this.
  15. docurley

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    4,084
    94
    48
    Yeah some systems are setup for Bose some the other way round.
     
    tonydata likes this.
  16. tonydata

    tonydata Registered User

    178
    33
    28
    Nice one, cheers @Suggsy1814, I'll take a look.

    Install, super easy, 1 main plug and the aerial... Still not found out what the blue plug is for though, this is part of the main car wiring, not the stereo, so I have just left it loose. The removal tools for the OEM unit do not fit the new one so I have emailed the seller on this. The actual stereo fit I would say is about 95%, but reckon if I could get it out, I could improve that, it just drops by about 1/1.5mm on the right hand side, it's hardly noticeable tbh though.

    Generally I think it's pretty awesome, although, the fact I can just turn on Spotify app via the screen and access all the music I used to have to plug the phone in to do (the main reason I bought the unit) is the awesome bit! Connected to my WiFi at home from the drive, DL'd the app, DL'd my playlists for listen offline, and that's it, all there to listen to, with MFSW control too.

    I have played around with the onboard EQ a little, works really well. It powers my Focals nicely in the front and sounds great (rear speaker issue to try and sort, have also contacted seller on this). Radio I would say is ok, I didn't go DAB+ as, in all honesty, I don't really like listening to the radio anyway... It tunes, but it misses a few stations, prob just need an aerial booster. It also permanently shows the radio as on/frequency in the DIS too for some reason, even when the radio is not on and I'm listening to a different source, and it randomly retunes itself every now and again (not that I can hear it, I just notice it in the DIS) so will ask seller about that too.

    I need to route out the USB/Wifi/4g leads to the glove box, they just plug in to the back of the stereo. Pretty sure there is micro SD on the front as well as being able to add more storage via the usb lead too.

    Nav seems to work fine, it found my location perfectly well, and I added a destination and clicked route and it showed on the map, so this seems to work too. GPS receiver is just behind the stereo in the bulk head.

    Torque works via OBD absolutely fine, not messed around with that too much yet either, but it all works and was already on the unit when I switched on... comes in via BT obvs.

    DVD works great, there is a switch to turn on/off play video whilst driving.

    It cuts out whatever you are listening to when you put it in reverse, a little warning triangle appears on the screen, assume the rear camera would if I had one!

    The launcher/UI is pretty good, typical android really, like a tablet... I need to mess around customising this, plus, you can also DL alternative launchers as well, like Nova, I think just need to spend some time setting it up how I want it.

    Look and feel, pretty OEM I would say, I think the font on the buttons could be reduced a little to fit with the other labels on the dash, but at night, it looks pretty much factory.

    All in, I would definitely recommend the stereo.
     
  17. RS4K

    RS4K Registered User

    198
    50
    28
    Hi, Sorry i have been reading a bit wanted to ask if someone could sum up what android unit is being used by most, Xtrons any good? Also for a Bose setup what additional parts would i need to buy just PAC SNI-35 x 2?

    thanks if someone could point me back to the right post perhaps sorry if this is repeated.
     
  18. docurley

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    4,084
    94
    48
    You may not need anything for Bose it's just sometime you get engine noise in the system so you need to suppress it out.

    For satnav try Waze its a great gps app.

    Torque is a great app and you can scan the car for faults and have like a GTR dials setup reading different parts of the engine.
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2017
  19. tonydata

    tonydata Registered User

    178
    33
    28
    Just for info, Waze app can't be used with Marshmallow... I went to app store to DL and it said will not run on this version.
     
  20. Suggsy1814

    Suggsy1814 Registered User

    16
    7
    3
    Well i can say im impressed, i order mine on sunday (from Ebay) arrived yesterday, and to my relief was not as hard to connect or install as i had thought..

    Install main iso lead and aerial.. mine fits ok once you arrange the wires behind the unit (not much space back there) but i can not get mine to lock into place it just sits there, and you can pull it out without any keys.. So im hoping that when i move some of the cables into the glove box and have a proper sort out back there it will lock into place.. (Weekend job)

    I played around with the fade & EQ and all my speakers work.. no difference to stock unit.. no extra parts required for me.. :welcoming:

    I did have a problem connecting bluetooth, first time was ok, downloaded contacts made a call, all great.. when i turn the unit off it would not reconnect, phone couldn't find unit, and unit couldn't find phone.. I disconnected the main ISO lead and reconnected i suppose like a reboot, and now phone connects each time without any problems.. ??

    Sat Nav works, i have set up a mobile network with phone so when i need to use this, i will just use phone data.. depending on how much i need this i will look at getting a 4G dongle.. works well, i used the stock google maps and seems ok...

    It cuts out whatever you are listening to when you put it in reverse, a little warning triangle appears on the screen, going to look at @dp_motley
    [This camera: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/281473118728
    Can't post a link to the transmitter/receiver for unknown reason. Search Amazon for SODIAL(R) 2.4GHZ RCA Wireless Transmitter & Receiver for Car Rear Reversing Camera and Monitors.] another weekend job..!!

    Only question i have is where did people put the GPS Antenna i just stuck mine behind unit.. wondering if theres a better place??

    All other bits seem to work as you would expect.. Happy i took the plunge.. will try and get some pictures up once i have sorted cables properly.. Would like to say thankyou to everyone in this post, as without your comments i doubt i would have tried this..

    Only been a member of audi sport 2 weeks, like two posts spent ££.. not reading anymore post.. :blackrs4:
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2017
    tonydata likes this.
  21. dp_motley

    dp_motley 2012 A3 1.6 TDI S line 2019 A3 35TFSI S line

    1,255
    490
    83
    @Suggsy1814, I'm glad to hear that you like the unit. Let me share a few tips.

    1. You can disable or make the cut out while reverse less by adjusting attenuation level in the Settings. I don't remember where exactly (Driving settings?), but I can look later. I set the attenuation to -3. It doesn't cut out but lower the sound volume.

    2. I wasn't impressed with the camera I linked to. I put it inside a keyhole of an Audi A4 license plate lights boot panel that I bought specifically for the keyhole that A3s don't have. I stuck the camera there, but the keyhole has a wrong angle and the camera is pointed down too much and shows a license plate and a rear bumper on the 1/3 of the screen. Also, there is a lot of noise on the screen. I need a noise suppressor or ground loop isolator to sort it out. Also, I'm considering to change the camera.

    3. To arrange the cables behind the HU, you need to hold it in one hand ready to put in place, than use another hand to guide all the cables down below the din. There's plenty of place there :)

    4. I BIG TIP to all Chinese head unit users who want it to sit in the din secure and FLUSH. It takes just minutes to do but the result is great (based on countless measurements and experiments).

    a. All Chinese head units have the back holders, those that were made to hold the rear part of the HU on the din rails, on wrong places. This makes the HU's rear to sit lower and changes the angle of the facia. In result, you have hard times to push the lower part of the facia on place. How to fix it? EASY. Unscrew the holders and move them back. Now you can only use two of the screws, but your HU will sit in place better.

    Xtrons back holders.jpg

    b. All OE Audi head units have rubber packings at the top and sides of the facia. No Chinese HU has them. This is the reason to why the Chinese HUs sit 1-2 mm lower than needed. Look the the dash part where you fit your HU. What do you see? It is conical, narrower at the bottom. THE SOLUTION: take the rubber packings off your OE Audi HU and add them to your Chinese HU. The rubber will make the facia frame thicker and will hold it higher due the conical shape of the dash. It's harder to put them on the Chinese HU facia, but doable. I've done it and now my HU sits totally flush (see one of my images earlier in this tread). I even don't need any locking brackets because the rubber holds the HU in the dash very tight.

    Xtrons back holders.jpg Audi Concert vs Eonon.jpg

    Hope it helps.
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2017
    samuelh_888 and tonydata like this.
  22. tonydata

    tonydata Registered User

    178
    33
    28
    Sorted rear speakers on mine, needed to plug them in!!!!! Duuuuuh... Sounds great now though!!!!!

    All the same for me above @Suggsy1814 although the fit is good enough not to worry about the lack of click into place... I will look at @dp_motley tips at the weekend though... Will run usb cable through glove box at the weekend too.

    Just using wifi hotspot on my phone for nav at the mo, same as using it on the phone I guess, just going to get a bigger data package on renewal... Google maps, OK I suppose...

    The offline streaming through Spotify/soundcoud for me though is such a winner...

    Using rocket player through Bluetooth for mp3s, ordered a 4gb micro sd card to get off the phone completely, other than actual calls... Bought a mini usb charge cable for the glovebox to plug phone in and leave well alone, new laws and all that!

    Overall, it's ****** good, and highly recommended
     
  23. Suggsy1814

    Suggsy1814 Registered User

    16
    7
    3
    Well, I have had a play and move some cables about and unit fits a lot better, thank you @dp_motley..
    IMG_20170311_1246591-600x800.jpg


    Also managed to get 4g cable and USB cable into the glove box aswell.

    IMG_20170311_1246320-600x800.jpg

    Now stereo sorted.. What to do next ?
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2017
    tonydata and dp_motley like this.
  24. dp_motley

    dp_motley 2012 A3 1.6 TDI S line 2019 A3 35TFSI S line

    1,255
    490
    83
    It was my pleasure :) What to do next?
    Are you satisfied with a stock music player? Just asking... I agree with people who say that Poweramp is way better ;)
    Do you like the looks of a stock launcher? It's much better in Android 6.0. But did you try Car Launcher Pro?
     
    Suggsy1814 likes this.
  25. Matt17606

    Matt17606 Registered User

    5
    2
    3
    How is the quality of the plastic on these? I'm keen to get something new to replace the RNSE. Got a couple of mates looking for something like this too.
     
  26. dp_motley

    dp_motley 2012 A3 1.6 TDI S line 2019 A3 35TFSI S line

    1,255
    490
    83
    Black plastic. It's darker and more shiny than the OE head unit. It doesn't look too cheap, but I'd like it to match the stock color more.
     
  27. ab1702

    ab1702 Registered User

    850
    260
    63
    Just got a question for you, I'm looking at buying this exact same unit as an android 6 and I've found one for sale made by Erisin, it does everything I want but it doesn't say if it displays the radio station etc in the DIS dash display like the oem units do. Does yours do this and is yours android 5?

    Thanks
     
  28. dp_motley

    dp_motley 2012 A3 1.6 TDI S line 2019 A3 35TFSI S line

    1,255
    490
    83
    I doubt it does. I don't listen to radio, but it doesn't show any music information in the DIS display when I use Poweramp.
     
  29. ab1702

    ab1702 Registered User

    850
    260
    63
    No it will not do it with poweramp it would just be with the radio stations
     
  30. ab1702

    ab1702 Registered User

    850
    260
    63
    How about with your new unit, as I've asked on the post above does the new unit work with your cars DIS dash display to show what radio station you're listening to etc? I know it's only a little thing but if I get one and it doesn't work it will annoy the life out of me.

    Is yours android 6?
     
  31. Dani_B19

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    9,675
    456
    83
    Evening chaps.

    I want to add DAB to my 4.4 xtrons HU. I know this isn't originally setup for DAB which is a pain, but from what I've read, am I right in thinking I can add it?

    Would the following be needed:

    IMG_3063.PNG IMG_3064.PNG

    Then would it be a simple case of downloading:

    Wavesink

    Will this work straight off? Will I need to root my HU or do anything else?
    Thanks.
     
  32. Suggsy1814

    Suggsy1814 Registered User

    16
    7
    3
    @ab1702 sorry for the delay..

    im just using the standard setup on my Android 6 version.. Seems ok for now (as it new) might look into @dp_motley suggestions above later..

    On mine it shows the radio frequency, so 98.80mhz rather then a radio name.. Also when playing music off the SD Card it shows time song is playing at 01:30:27 for example, Shows volume level when adjusted.. cant comment on CD or DVD as i havent used either yet..

    Hope this helps, could not recommend these units enough compare to my old concert.. 100times better..

    I might consider looking into the DAB above.. @dp_motley would the above setup be better or the same as the Xtrons adapter ? obviously quite a bit difference in price £20 above i think xtrons is about £50..
     
  33. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  34. Dani_B19

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    9,675
    456
    83
    Suggsy because yours is the 6 version the xtrons usb would be a better solution for you.

    For me it isnt compatible with mine been the 4.4 version hence the above components.
     
    Suggsy1814 likes this.
  35. ab1702

    ab1702 Registered User

    850
    260
    63
    Thanks for replying.
    I had dab on my previous android unit that I had in my previous a3 which was using android 4.4 and it was spot on id definately recommend it, it's just a case of threading the cable for the glass mount antenna round the back of the glovebox and upto the windscreen.
     
    Suggsy1814 likes this.
  36. Dani_B19

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    9,675
    456
    83
    Ab1702 what adaptor and app did you use?
     
  37. ab1702

    ab1702 Registered User

    850
    260
    63
    It was one of these https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/321919375729
    With a glass mount antenna that you stick in the windscreen.
    When I bought my android 4.4 I ordered it with dab though so they enabled the unit for it when I ordered it. If I remember right if you don't order dab with the android 4.4 then it doesn't work if you try adding it afterwards but I suppose it's worth a try.
    The app was built into the head unit.
     
  38. Dani_B19

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    9,675
    456
    83
    I didn't get the option for DAB or I would have pal.

    That's why I'm looking to add it now with the above items I've listed!
     
  39. Dani_B19

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    9,675
    456
    83
    Anyone?
     
  40. ab1702

    ab1702 Registered User

    850
    260
    63
    So.. I've had an android unit in an a3 before but I didn't have Bose. I now have another a3 that has Bose and I'm going to get an android 6 unit. The problem I have is that if this causes noise interference with a Bose system as I have read on here then I need the above noise filter/suppressor but they don't do them anymore and don't seem to be getting anymore in stock as I've messaged them.. is there anything else I could use instead to get rid of the noise/interference?

    Thanks
     
  41. docurley

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    4,084
    94
    48
    If you buy a decent make like Joying I don't think this will be an issue otherwise you will have to go the speaker output to RCA route which will get rid of the engine noise.
     
  42. ab1702

    ab1702 Registered User

    850
    260
    63
    I were going to get either an xtrons unit that looks like symphony/chorus units or I've found an erisin one which is like the rnse design but I've not decided which yet.
    Anyhow I've just had another look this morning though before I order the unit and i have now found those specific Audi/Bose filter suppressors on a website here. http://www.auto-electronics.com/index.php/rca-noise-suppressors.html
    So I should be sorted now if I need it.
     
  43. fakker

    fakker Registered User

    39
    9
    8
    I've got the PB76AA3AP unit... I'm on a non-Bose but amped car, I got the rear speakers working, mainly because I didn't plug the blue+green connectors to power them in the first place...

    Anyway! I've noticed my unit has a really quickboot, to the point it's more of a restore of the system state, rather than actually booting up, is this normal? Just worried in case it kills my battery.
     

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information