1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Android RNS-E

docurley Jul 3, 2015

  1. Inertiauk

    Inertiauk Registered User

    574
    29
    28
    I have so many questions ...

    So the Xtrons will plug and play into my none Bose S3 and utilise the half amplified system with no problems ?

    Its possible to use apple music on android isnt it ?can this easily be used on the Xtron unit ?
    Can you use Waze navigation ? Google equivalent of Siri (hello google or whatever its called)?

    How well will it integrate with my iPhone ? for media streaming and for calls etc ?

    I have a stock RNSE and its very dated. I'm weary of these cheaply made Chinese devices, but also curious, they look quite powerful and look to work ok once fettled.

    Which wireless camera and receiver did you go for motley ?

    Would you be up for making a bit of a demo video of yours running ?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. dp_motley

    dp_motley 2012 A3 1.6 TDI S line 2019 A3 35TFSI S line

    1,270
    495
    83
    I can't reply all your questions because I'm too new to Android head units. Let's wait for more experienced people.

    As to camera. I bought this camera: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/281473118728 because it has a Sony CCD chip and the best effective pixels (818x622) of all cheap Chinese cameras. Also, the diameter of this camera is only 18mm which suits well my demand, I hope. I have a project on my mind to put this camera into a key hole of an Audi A4 license plate lights/boot handle. I bought one used on ebay already. I'm only waiting for a wireless transmitter & receiver to arrive. I bought this one. I hope it all work together.
     
    Inertiauk likes this.
  4. dp_motley

    dp_motley 2012 A3 1.6 TDI S line 2019 A3 35TFSI S line

    1,270
    495
    83
    Do you experience any issues with OBD2/Torque on Xtrons HU? My LG G3 connects to OBD2 easily and everything works flawlessly. But Xtrons has always troubles. It always shows a message that no BT connection, connect your device, etc, despite I see the OBD2 in a list of connected devices (though the "disconnect" icon isn't available, so may be it isn't really connected).
     
  5. Sirideain

    Sirideain Registered User

    2
    0
    1
    Hey, I have one of these Android units and it was performing well for a few months and has now developed a fault. Problem is I can't seem to remove it from the dash using the Audi keys. Does anyone have some advice on how to do this.

    Thanks- Dan
     
  6. leshkin

    leshkin Hold my beer... VCDS Map User

    3,032
    1,887
    113
    Guys, have a read through the earlier pages of this thread... Pretty much all of these questions have been answered already.

    Sent from a mobile device, please forgive typos :)
     
  7. tonydata

    tonydata Registered User

    178
    33
    28
    Hi all, been reading this thread with interest as am going for one of the new Xtrons units in the next couple of weeks...

    I'll mainly be looking to use Spotify (premium) and some MP3's via bluetooth off the phone... I currently use aux in from phone to HU with downloaded Spotify playlists/on board memory on phone...

    I'm assuming I'll be able to add Spotify app to the new HU and then DL the playlists I want to "listen offline" the same as I do on the phone app? Effectively skipping the phone stage?

    Plus obviously plenty of onboard storage on the HU for MP3's via SD card/USB - again, eliminating phone...

    Hoping it all works out the box, phone, MFSW etc but it looks like if rear speakers are a bit low I can overcome that...

    I have upgraded Focal speaker kit in the front (which is where it counts anyway) and it sounds pretty good with stock unit (BNS 5.0) so am hoping this new HU will power them even more as they are un-amped.

    Will I need the extra sound apps you have suggested do you think? I assume the spotify app playback won't be impacted by them anyway? I currently use Rocket Player for MP3's off the phone which sounds a lot better than the stock player...

    I also have BTsport via my phone through the app, assume I'll be able to tether the phone to the HU and then watch that via the BTsport app if I add to the HU?

    Also ordering the DAB+ adaptor too :)

    Any pointers/advice etc of course greatly received, plus I'll update this with thoughts once it's in :salute:

    TD
     
  8. leshkin

    leshkin Hold my beer... VCDS Map User

    3,032
    1,887
    113
    You will need to remove the filter for BT as by default manufacturers put a string to only allow their BT OBD dongles to connect. I think one of the root MTC tools allows this.
     
  9. leshkin

    leshkin Hold my beer... VCDS Map User

    3,032
    1,887
    113
    You can use Spotify/Google Music/ iTunes/ SoundCloud, but controlling it will only likely to work via the screen, not the buttons. It can be done, but requires rooting the Android OS and installing additional tools packages to make this work.

    IT all tends to work pretty well out of the box, but like I said, you may need to fiddle with the system to make external apps fully integrated.

    I'm driving an upgraded set of front speakers directly from an older Android HU and they are fine, although the EQ on my unit is pretty rubbish, with very little bass and midrange. A DSP is the best solution for this or use a software DSP, but this will not work for CDs or Radio as they bypass the Android OS directly to the sound chip from what I understand.

    You can stream video or audio from the internet as long as you tether your phone to the HU - I have a tasker app on my Android phone that automatically enables wifi hotspot whenever it detects the HU BT connection. You better have a generous data tethering allowance on your phone if you want to do this though. Current Three Advance plans include 30GB of tethering data on 4G, which is more than enough for most people streaming music.

    This and s few other Android HU threads on ASN have quite a bit of info on these units, but XDA forum is the best resource for customisation for these units - https://forum.xda-developers.com/android-auto If you speak Russian, then 4PDA.ru is also a great resource with much more in-depth technical information available - http://4pda.ru/forum/index.php?showforum=636
     
  10. dp_motley

    dp_motley 2012 A3 1.6 TDI S line 2019 A3 35TFSI S line

    1,270
    495
    83
    I've got an Xtrons HU and Xtrons OBDII. Always struggle to connect. Not like I need it every day though. But anyway, my phone connects to Xtrons OBDII easily and that makes me wonder why the phone connects but Xtrons HU doesn't.

    @tonydata, I don't use Spotify, but I tried streaming Kindle audio books to Xtrons via BT. The steering wheel controls worked well. I see no reason why Spotify won't work. I use MTCDTools. Spotify is the first in the list of already tested and working applications.
     
    leshkin likes this.
  11. leshkin

    leshkin Hold my beer... VCDS Map User

    3,032
    1,887
    113
    This is great! My HU is pretty old now, with Android 4.1.1 - nice to see that the tools app doesn't require root privileges anymore.
     
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. dp_motley

    dp_motley 2012 A3 1.6 TDI S line 2019 A3 35TFSI S line

    1,270
    495
    83
    It doesn't, I believe, despite I have root (rooted with Kingoroot and running with Kingo SuperUser for some apps).

    I can't setup the MODE button with MTCDTools though. That sucks :notworking:
     
  14. tonydata

    tonydata Registered User

    178
    33
    28
    Thanks Leshkin, was going to say seems a bit strange that you need to root the thing to get popular apps working... then I read on!

    I wouldn't expect to use anything except the screen to control tbh... other than volume I guess...

    Can you add a new launcher like Nova or something?

    With the data packages available now, 20gb+ for not a lot of money I'm thinking any tethering for soundcloud etc shouldn't munch through that too quick, I'm on WiFi most of the time anyway... plus can get the spotify as listen offline...

    Couple of "small" maintenance bits to get out the way first then going for one of these I reckon... although they haven't responded to any Q's I've sent as yet which is a bit disappointing...

    Cool, cheers :)
     
  15. leshkin

    leshkin Hold my beer... VCDS Map User

    3,032
    1,887
    113
    I actually used Nova launcher in the past and found it to be better than the stock car launcher. Will need to spend some time with my unit to get it cleaned up and switch to it again at some point.

    Sent from a mobile device, please forgive typos :)
     
    tonydata likes this.
  16. dp_motley

    dp_motley 2012 A3 1.6 TDI S line 2019 A3 35TFSI S line

    1,270
    495
    83
    I use Car Launcher Pro. It definitely better than the stock launcher, and it designed specifically for car head units. It has three skins to choose from.

    Here's mine.

    It has a few useful features like tracking your last trip distance, speed, acceleration for a chosen period of time. I also like that taping on the clock activates a screensaver: just black screen with large digital clock. It's good for driving at night as the screen doesn't shine too much in the dark.

    Xtrons Head Unit Audi A3.jpg
     
    tonydata likes this.
  17. ab1702

    ab1702 Registered User

    855
    260
    63
    If you're getting an android unit soon then make sure you get an android 6 unit which has recently been released. Now runs off an octo core and has 2gb rather than 1gb built in.
    Only downside for me at the moment is I can't find any like the design in the post above which i prefer which looks similar to rnse, the ones I've seen look like concert/symphony hu's.
     
    leshkin likes this.
  18. dp_motley

    dp_motley 2012 A3 1.6 TDI S line 2019 A3 35TFSI S line

    1,270
    495
    83
    I know a guy who bought an Android 6 2GB Xtrons. It looks like Concert/Symphony. A RNS-E-like design has a drawback. As most of ASN members are from UK, you may not notice it because you ride the RHD cars, unlike the drivers like myself who ride a LHD vehicle. When the screen is moved toward the left hand side of the RNS-E style HU, you block the left side of it from view by your right hand holding a steering wheel at 3 and 9 o'clock.

    The navigation apps I use - Google Maps and Sygic - show an arrow/directional information about your next turn on the upper left corner of the screen and I have to tilt my head to the right to see it. With a Concert/Symphony style of a HU the screen is located in the middle and the part of the HU that you block from your view are the hard buttons.

    On a plus side of the RNS-E like Xtrons is that it has a Home and a Back hard buttons on the front panel. I prefer using them instead of taping on screen buttons. The Concert/Symphony like HU doesn't have those buttons unless the Menu button works or can be re-assigned to work as a Home or Back button.
     
    tonydata likes this.
  19. tonydata

    tonydata Registered User

    178
    33
    28
    I use Nova on my Galaxy Alpha, and my S5 before that... would definitely look to use it on the HU :)
     
  20. leshkin

    leshkin Hold my beer... VCDS Map User

    3,032
    1,887
    113
    This is the exact reason I haven't upgraded my unit yet. Will do as soon as they come out.
     
  21. dp_motley

    dp_motley 2012 A3 1.6 TDI S line 2019 A3 35TFSI S line

    1,270
    495
    83
    I need your help, guys.

    I bought a rear view camera and a wireless transmitter & receiver to avoid tracking wires from boot to dash. The receiver has to connect to Xtrons and there's a connector that fits the Xtrons' camera in connector. But there are two extra wires that I have to connect to +12V and the ground. They power the receiver. What is the easiest way to connect them?

    I can connect the ground wire to any metal part of the head unit and hope that there's the ground. But where do I get 12V from? Should I track the wires to a fuse box? Too much hassle I think. Isn't it possible to find 12V at one of the HU connectors?

    I attached a diagram that shows all the Xtrons connectors. I look at the main connector, K. There are two GND pins that I can use, can I? The pin #16 reads B+. Is it the 12V I'm looking for?

    Is there another way to get power to the receiver? I didn't really want to cut the Xtrons wires, but I would if it was unavoidable.

    Xtrons pin diagram.jpg
     
  22. leshkin

    leshkin Hold my beer... VCDS Map User

    3,032
    1,887
    113
    I would get an accessory live feed from the fuse box - you can tap into a fuse location that is only live when the ignition is switched-on, so no need to cut any looms up.
     
  23. dp_motley

    dp_motley 2012 A3 1.6 TDI S line 2019 A3 35TFSI S line

    1,270
    495
    83
    Thanks @leshkin. I bought a piggyback fuse connector today. What fuse would you recommend to piggyback? Does it matter at all?
     
  24. leshkin

    leshkin Hold my beer... VCDS Map User

    3,032
    1,887
    113
    I think you'd want the receiver to always be switched on when the car is running, so makes sense to use a fuse that does that... I wired a feed for my permanent dash cam to a fuse a few months ago and will need to check which one I used... Will try to see tonight and let you know.

    Sent from a mobile device, please forgive typos :)
     
  25. leshkin

    leshkin Hold my beer... VCDS Map User

    3,032
    1,887
    113
    Fuse 41, rear window wiper

    Sent from a mobile device, please forgive typos :)
     
  26. dp_motley

    dp_motley 2012 A3 1.6 TDI S line 2019 A3 35TFSI S line

    1,270
    495
    83
  27. dp_motley

    dp_motley 2012 A3 1.6 TDI S line 2019 A3 35TFSI S line

    1,270
    495
    83
    I stripped out the hatch door and was going to connect a rear view camera and a wireless transmitter. Both need +12V that should be taken from the reverse light. Please look at the picture. Is the black connector the one that powers the reverse light? What wire of the four is the reverse light? The brown one is oftest used as the ground. Am I right? So we have three wires back. Does anyone retrofitted a rear view camera? Do you know what wire to use? I have a multimeter at work but at the time when I can use it, it's going to be dark, so I hope you can just tell me.

    A3 tail light connectors.jpg
     
  28. dp_motley

    dp_motley 2012 A3 1.6 TDI S line 2019 A3 35TFSI S line

    1,270
    495
    83
    Well, I got a multimeter and found out that the wire I needed was the blue-red, the last one to the right on the image above.

    I connected the wireless transmitter to it. Also, I powered the wireless receiver from one of the fuses. The camera turns on when car is switched to the back gear and shows a picture. However, there's an issue: a loud alternator whine comes through the speakers ( I hear it from the nearest one) which I've never had before. It disappears as soon as I disconnect the wireless receiver from the camera connector at the back side of the Xtrons harness.

    What causes that noise? The wireless receiver? The wireless transmitter (it's connected to the LED reverse light)? Other LEDs?
     
  29. Dani_B19

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    9,675
    456
    83
    What camera and wireless reciever and transmitter did you buy if you don't mind me asking?
     
  30. dp_motley

    dp_motley 2012 A3 1.6 TDI S line 2019 A3 35TFSI S line

    1,270
    495
    83
    This camera: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/281473118728
    Can't post a link to the transmitter/receiver for unknown reason. Search Amazon for SODIAL(R) 2.4GHZ RCA Wireless Transmitter & Receiver for Car Rear Reversing Camera and Monitors.
     
    Dani_B19 likes this.
  31. tonydata

    tonydata Registered User

    178
    33
    28
    I'm about to pull the trigger on the Android 6.0 unit... I've got a BNS 5.0 HU, assume this is classed as DD so should be a straight swap?

    [​IMG]

    Cheers :)
     
  32. dp_motley

    dp_motley 2012 A3 1.6 TDI S line 2019 A3 35TFSI S line

    1,270
    495
    83
    It should.
     
    tonydata likes this.
  33. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  34. tonydata

    tonydata Registered User

    178
    33
    28
    Ta :) Will I need 4 keys to get it out? Or will two be ok?
     
  35. dp_motley

    dp_motley 2012 A3 1.6 TDI S line 2019 A3 35TFSI S line

    1,270
    495
    83
    You need 4 keys.
     
    tonydata likes this.
  36. tonydata

    tonydata Registered User

    178
    33
    28
    Cool, thanks, thought so :)
     
  37. docurley

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    4,080
    95
    48
    Quick hunt around and I found this: Link

    [​IMG]
     
  38. tonydata

    tonydata Registered User

    178
    33
    28
    cool vid on the Xtrons I've ordered...

     
    Suggsy1814 likes this.
  39. docurley

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    4,080
    95
    48
    It will be interesting to see his it works but that WiFi aerial connected at the back ain't going to allow a flush fit in a b7
     
  40. tonydata

    tonydata Registered User

    178
    33
    28
    Think this one is A3 8P specific... But I did think the same when I saw that aerial!!!
     
  41. tonydata

    tonydata Registered User

    178
    33
    28
    Quick question if anyone can help... Seem to have three leads/connections coming out of the car... main stereo iso, aerial and a third blue socket... see pic.

    upload_2017-3-4_9-59-23.png

    What's the blue one for? The DIS?

    Cheers :)
     
  42. Suggsy1814

    Suggsy1814 Registered User

    16
    7
    3
    @tonydata this is the one I'm interested in, just a bit concerned how easy it will be to install (as not very good with stereos) and have been quoted hundreds to fit... was hoping they would be plug and play.. Please can you let me know how you get on... and where did you buy yours from eBay on xtrons direct ?

    Bit worried now as looking at picture above I could only find main iso and aerial at the back of mine!! I don't have the blue one and no where to plug in the back of my stereo.. ??
     
  43. tonydata

    tonydata Registered User

    178
    33
    28
    I'm pretty sure it's plug and play... I *think* the blue one can be left... I'm just checking here as most people know more than me about stereo fitting!!! I have a bluetooth Parrot that came in the car, ****** hell that thing has got some wiring! So not 100% sure if the blue plug maybe something to do with that.... whatever, the Parrot is coming out once I know the stereo is all working phone wise...

    Got it here - Can't fault the service so far, came in a couple of days, the actual stereo itself seems great, will report more once it's in.
     

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information