Airbag light after Glovebox change

PJMask

Reaction score
Hi, I replaced a broken glovebox - now I have an airbag light on the dashboard (and also orange light in the ceiling saying passenger airbag not enabled).

From what I've seen in forums I believe this cant be reset with a simple scanner, but that it needs full VCDS. Is there anyone near Bracknell who might be able to help? Obviously happy to pay for time etc, would rather do that thought then go to a car garage

Any thoughts/advice appreciated!! Thanks

3 ohm resistor. Done. I like to use 0603 3 ohm resistors on a clipped header strip. The smallest fix ever!
Or you could check all the yellow connector plugs systematically, but do disconnect the battery and discharge system by trying to crank.

Also check the connector to the baby seat airbag disabling switch is connected.

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

Thanks Leo. I have to admit I'm a newbie and have no idea what the above means. I was under impression that taking glovebox out (I replaced the entire unit with another due to broken hinges) means you have to reset the airbag through VCDS. Obviously safety is my top priority, I need to know that I'm not just turning the light off but that the airbag is actually working...
Re the connector to baby seat airbag - are we talking the same thing here, basically front passenger seat? There's only one connector at the back of the glovebox and that's clicked in, i've used the key to ensure airbag switch is set to "on"...
Any help appreciated, thanks!

Yes you've done what I would have done. Maybe a extra bit of resistance in that circuit now. The way the system checks is it measures the resistance of each airbag/tensioner circuit and flags any which are either too low or high.
The 3 ohm resistor, fools the tests, but is only used as a temporary fix.
I'd try the switch the other way, and see if it changes anything.