1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Aftermarket stereo to replace rnse and keep bose

donovan2123 Feb 26, 2019

  1. donovan2123

    donovan2123 Member VCDS Map User

    155
    19
    18
    As above can anyone advise what I need to fit a aftermarket double din in place of the rnse? What adaptors etc do I need? Already have factors GPS antenna etc

    Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
     
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. xkieron99x

    xkieron99x Registered User

    124
    25
    28
    you looking for an android unit or a universal head unit, from my knowledge audi a3 specific andorid units are plug in and play.
     
  4. donovan2123

    donovan2123 Member VCDS Map User

    155
    19
    18
    Kenwood, pioneer etc. To many horror stories and issues I have read about the Chinese no name units.

    I want something that will just work with no messing about with firmwares etc

    Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
     
  5. xkieron99x

    xkieron99x Registered User

    124
    25
    28
  6. abmat

    abmat Active Member VCDS Map User

    681
    139
    43
    I’ve got a alpine ilx 700. CarPlay unit so I don’t need a gps antenna as I have unlimited data.

    You’ll need a Bose harness adapter, facial adapter, probably a antenna booster for the radio and I had to get a cage as the alpine didn’t come with one.
    Fitting an aftermarket may induce groundloop, which is quite common with Bose so you’ll have to run a ground from the amp to the headunit.
    There are others out there with more bells and whistles but I’m a fan of alpine and liked the look.

    How much are you looking to spend?

    Get the fascia etc of amazon. Way cheaper than Halfords or anywhere else.
     
  7. donovan2123

    donovan2123 Member VCDS Map User

    155
    19
    18
    Looking to spend around £400-500 all in. I was looking at the fitting kits, I will also needs GPS fakra to smb adaptor, and double fakra to aerial adaptor.

    Is ground loop definitely an issue or is it just an issue with cheaper harnesses?

    Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
     
  8. abmat

    abmat Active Member VCDS Map User

    681
    139
    43
    Can be an issue as a aftermarket can draw more power than std one plus the alternators aren’t filtered hence you can get the annoying whine.
     
  9. Daveyonthemove

    Daveyonthemove Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    1,732
    577
    113
    I have an Erinis (think thats the correct name) Android unit.
    No interference from the alternator, rear speakers work perfectly fine with the Bose system, and no wiring harness' needed. Plug and play.
    The GPS on the car won't fit the head unit, but they come with one which works fine mounted under the dash on top of the glove box.
    FM radio worked fine, DAB is an option but the aerials that stick on the window's aren't that great.
     
  10. donovan2123

    donovan2123 Member VCDS Map User

    155
    19
    18
    I have purchased a Kenwood DMX7018DABs and the relevant bits to go with it. Will hopefully have installed over the weekend

    Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
     
  11. ch1z64

    ch1z64 C'mon you's bhoy's in Green Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    4,087
    874
    113
    If you want no problems with your head unit I advise getting someone who does this for a full-time job fitting them
     
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. donovan2123

    donovan2123 Member VCDS Map User

    155
    19
    18
    Explain? You had issues? Tbf I am fairly handy so should be okay. Also went for the connects 2 module which is like £60 and means you don't have to mess around with rca cables etc



    Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
     
  14. ch1z64

    ch1z64 C'mon you's bhoy's in Green Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    4,087
    874
    113
    I have never had any problems with my head unit as I like the OEM Rns-e ( does what I need it for ) but over time I have seen so many posts about lads who have fitted Units off all sorts and then they come back asking why this isn't working ie front speakers, crackling noises, problems with Bose etc . That's why I say when it's electrical get the guys that know there way around a cars cause it can work out more costly in the long run .
    I do wish you all the best and happy to hear you fit with no problems as it would be horrible to see another post about my head unit not working
     
    donovan2123 likes this.
  15. donovan2123

    donovan2123 Member VCDS Map User

    155
    19
    18
    Most of which are Chinese branded or they have used the cheap adaptors which are known to cause issue. If it don't work as it should it will be going back and I will be jumping on the branded Chinese rnse lookalike as above.

    Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
     
  16. donovan2123

    donovan2123 Member VCDS Map User

    155
    19
    18
    Fitted today. Install was simple with no complications and no messing about.

    Came in around £480 all in, I built the kit myself as the all in one kit didn't have the adaptor I wanted or the FASCIA. I have bose.

    DAB antenna is tucked below screen between screen and dash. Bluetooth mic is in the spare hole in light fitting.

    All works as it should.


    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

    Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
     
    ch1z64 and Daveyonthemove like this.
  17. abmat

    abmat Active Member VCDS Map User

    681
    139
    43
    What fascia is that? Is your screen size 7”?
     
  18. donovan2123

    donovan2123 Member VCDS Map User

    155
    19
    18
  19. abmat

    abmat Active Member VCDS Map User

    681
    139
    43
    Cheers. As I have cage etc I’ve ordered just the fascia. Cheers for the link I’ve been looking for this one for ages.
     
    donovan2123 likes this.
  20. Kevinp1992

    Kevinp1992 Registered User

    20
    3
    3
    Hi guys sorry to just jump in on this but I'm looking to put a android one in my car. How easy is it to put one in as i just have the audi concert in at the moment i have the audi a3 8p 2004. Any help and suggestions welcome
     
    donovan2123 likes this.
  21. donovan2123

    donovan2123 Member VCDS Map User

    155
    19
    18
    Mine was super easy. The hardest part was routing the cables(poking/pushing behind trim with plastic trim tools) which again was easy with glovebox removed.

    Do you have bose? Maybe remove your stereo to confirm what connections you have at the back.

    If you go for a non cd drive like my Kenwood headunit then they are not as deep so plenty of space behind.

    Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
     
  22. Kevinp1992

    Kevinp1992 Registered User

    20
    3
    3
    Can i buy a kit to remove the cd player? Then i can get it removed will have a better idea what exactly i have. Yes i dont really care about having a non cd unit as I'd rather connect my mobile and radio anyway.
     
    donovan2123 likes this.
  23. donovan2123

    donovan2123 Member VCDS Map User

    155
    19
    18
    Ye you just need removal keys. Either get them online or go to Halfords and buy. Literally push keys in into each slot then pull stereo out

    Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
     
  24. Daveyonthemove

    Daveyonthemove Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    1,732
    577
    113
    Is the Concert unit a single DIN, or Double DIN?
     
  25. Kevinp1992

    Kevinp1992 Registered User

    20
    3
    3
    Ok will pick some up tomorrow then cheers. It a single DIN that why i was not too sure about having a screen put in. If it was possible or how difficult it would be.
     
  26. xkieron99x

    xkieron99x Registered User

    124
    25
    28
    you’re going to need to get a double din conversion kit
     
  27. xkieron99x

    xkieron99x Registered User

    124
    25
    28
  28. Kevinp1992

    Kevinp1992 Registered User

    20
    3
    3
    Ok cheers will look to get it done in the next couple of weeks thanks
     
  29. donovan2123

    donovan2123 Member VCDS Map User

    155
    19
    18
    Okay, I need some advise the kit I got sent was the Connects2 CTSAD006.2 which was a doodle to fit however I am having issues with white noise/static noise, I have turned down the pots on the canbus module but by doing so it turns down the overall volume and just sounds rubbish.

    So the question is has anyone else faced this issue? If so, do you try the Connects2 CTSAD002.2 instead?
     
  30. Daveyonthemove

    Daveyonthemove Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    1,732
    577
    113
    Sorry, never had that issue with mine.
    Worked perfectly out of the box.
     
  31. donovan2123

    donovan2123 Member VCDS Map User

    155
    19
    18
    Which cable did you use 6.3 or 2.2

    Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
     
  32. Eren S3

    Eren S3 Pretending to know what I'm doing. Silver Supporter

    194
    78
    28
    I had a Pioneer DA230DAB installed by a company near me who specialise in radio installations and it was a plug and play basically. They wired everything to the Bose system and steering wheels as has been mentioned above. If I remember, I paid around £500 all in to have it supplied and installed.

    Is that what that is??! I've noticed I had a whine that seems to match the revs up and down (if that makes sense) and it's only after having a Pioneer DA230DAB installed.
     
  33. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  34. Daveyonthemove

    Daveyonthemove Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    1,732
    577
    113
    Couldn't tell you, I didn't need any thing extra. The loom that was in the car attached to the rear of the stereo and everything was running fine from the start.
    People bad mouth the chinese Android Head units, but I can't fault mine. Having ODB Eleven installed also makes it a great scan tool built into the car.
     
  35. donovan2123

    donovan2123 Member VCDS Map User

    155
    19
    18
    Which unit do you have?

    Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
     
  36. Daveyonthemove

    Daveyonthemove Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    1,732
    577
    113
  37. donovan2123

    donovan2123 Member VCDS Map User

    155
    19
    18
    Okay I purchased the connects2 2.2 lead and I now have no white noise or any noises for that matter.

    I have bought some ground loop isolators in case I had engine noise but I don't so they will be going back.

    Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
     
    Daveyonthemove likes this.

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information