ABS Control Units (Quite thick newbie here)

Flatdog

Reaction score
Hi All
I would appreciate any help here. I have been blundering around looking for information on the ABS Brake Light thing.
I bought my car with these lights on. They went out occasiaonnaly and everything worked as it should, my nephew works in Audi Blackburn and when I was down visiting he got one of the mechanics to plug the car in, he said the brake switch was stuffed.
They had none in stock and I had to return to Scotland that day.
I got a brake light switch and when i was fiddling around to see how to remove it.
I tried switching the ignition on to see if moving it made a difference, lo and behold the lights were off.
So, I thought, definately the switch, so I changed it.
Lights back on? Disconnected battery for a couple of hours.
Lights off, can read computer, great.
Drove 3 miles, lights on.
Disconnected battery overnight, in morning, lights on.
I understand that I will probably at the end have to send ABS Unit for repair. But was wondering because it works sometimes, could it be something else?
I see 2 places that do this.
1. BB Reman where meatychi had his done or
2. Ecu-Testing. Are there any differences in their service? Who would most recommend?
Being Scotttish I opted for an EBay VAG-Com (apologies to any Ross-Tech folk, I didnt know any better) I cant really get it to work as I am sure the real thing does, but I managed to get the following fault.

Address 01: Engine
Controller: 4B0 907 401 S
Component: 2.5l/4VTEDC G400SG D66
Coding: 01002
Shop #: WSC 02325
1 Fault Found:
18259 - Powertrain Data Bus: Missing Message from ABS Controller
P1851 - 35-10 - - - Intermittent
Readiness: N/A

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Address 08: Auto HVAC
Controller: ö 4B0 820
Note: Excessive Comm Errors
Is this definately the ABS Unit?
Sorry to ramble so much, but any help would be great
Thanks